Sager/Clevo Users' Lounge

kanchelsis

gaming laptop = value for $$ since price already so high

i dun see any point if u gaming, den ish sure want big screen gd performance rite? means sure heavy rite? den sure wun move ard sit in cafe everyday haolian ard rite?
den why still want flashy flashy? show off 2 who sia

as for local reseller

if u can get Mucro to reply to u on phone or email for any discount, den i think Mucro cheaper abit, thing is Mucro's phone 4ever no 1 pick up, email is 3-5 days den reply

Cubehub response v fast in email, call got ppl answer, more assured :s13:

If you asking why I looked at AW at all, well itz coz their marketing very good mah, so I compare compare loh. Compared to Sager who dun do any marketing. I only found out about Sager here in Singapore only after googling something like "Alienware competitor" then I discovered this gem :D

Gaming laptops are monsters loh. Other than going for LAN party orgy at some friend's place, only the super big-ego/haolian will bring out to use man, like @ some starbucks. I only saw once before, super turn off siah. Give us a bad name.

Seems like got quite a bit of feedback around about Mucro's slow/non-existent response. I did an apple-to-apple comparison from both websites for the model that I'm eyeing, seems like they are cheaper about 100+ only. But not even worth it if their response like that.

kanchelsis

One more question - is the dead pixel warranty worth it? In other words, is Sager that prone to that problem?

junclot

actualli dead pixel quite rare n heng sui 1

my lappy so far (4 from my uni till now) all never tio before

junclot

If you asking why I looked at AW at all, well itz coz their marketing very good mah, so I compare compare loh. Compared to Sager who dun do any marketing. I only found out about Sager here in Singapore only after googling something like "Alienware competitor" then I discovered this gem :D

Gaming laptops are monsters loh. Other than going for LAN party orgy at some friend's place, only the super big-ego/haolian will bring out to use man, like @ some starbucks. I only saw once before, super turn off siah. Give us a bad name.

Seems like got quite a bit of feedback around about Mucro's slow/non-existent response. I did an apple-to-apple comparison from both websites for the model that I'm eyeing, seems like they are cheaper about 100+ only. But not even worth it if their response like that.

Sager never even has 1 single shop selling their lappy here, only got reseller

u want them to market/promote w/o their products meh? :s13:

darkarn

i put at my home use only back-lit to show off to impress who? my mother?

gaming laptop all so damn heavy 1, 15' above like a rock, dun tell me u buy ish wanna carry ard n show off to ppl meh?

v not used to the spacing between all the keys leh, always mistyped, den shift key which always need to hold de for RTS, v far away fr the no. keys on top, my fingers cannot reach

u got call Mucro or email them? they got reply any discount given on total price cuz their site say promo ended in Aug..den no new promo stated in site

if no promo, Mucro Cubehub almost same price or Cubehub even cheaper abit if price on 2.5k+ higher end, but i think Mucro will hv discount de la juz never stated only

AW 15' n below is sell look onli, pureli chop carrot, gaming lappy u buy ish put at home, once in a while den move ard de, if wanna show off carry ard, might as well buy Sony MBP riao

1. Need to use at low-light condition (sometimes) lah... :o
2. Thanks for the heads up; got reason to buy Filco liao :s13:
3. Mucro website not well-updated lol; it's working against them!

If you asking why I looked at AW at all, well itz coz their marketing very good mah, so I compare compare loh. Compared to Sager who dun do any marketing. I only found out about Sager here in Singapore only after googling something like "Alienware competitor" then I discovered this gem

1. To me, specs not good any amount of marketing won't save it!
2. Yep, there are a few comments about Mucro here. But there are also mixed reviews for Cubehub too... :s22:

And this is my first laptop! :s12: Time for me to get my OWN computer!

*Starts hoping that it will not be a bad start*

u want them to market/promote w/o their products meh?

Might be a good thing... :s7:

And in case you are wondering, no, I don't intend to go out of my way to show off by buying such a heavy and big laptop. I need the processing power to do my stuff (media e.t.c). In short, it's a matter of perception and how the persons using such laptops go about using them.

Calvin.Lee

Sorry if this has been ask before:

CubeHub 3 Year Carry-In Limited Parts and Labor Warranty (This warranty covered by Sager in US)

Does the above warranty only apply to US, meaning if we select this option, anything wrong with the laptop, send back to US to claim warranty?

Thanks.

kanchelsis

u want them to market/promote w/o their products meh? :s13:

Paiseh, I meant even overseas. Even >10 years ago when I bought Computer Game PC magazine (US import), already kept seeing AW ads inside. But little Sager/Clevo. Online also same, AW ads, little Sager/Clevo.

Maybe Sager/Clevo cater to different market ... the got-meat, non-flashy one :s7:

kanchelsis

One more question - is the dead pixel warranty worth it? In other words, is Sager that prone to that problem?

my laptops (current sager np8690 is my second) all kana before....
got buy toto? :s13:
toto also not so heng sia....

Funny part is my previous laptop (IBM T43) dead pixel is on the upper half, this sager is nearly an exact mirror image on the x axis.....

Hmm, better buy insurance then =:p

P.S. Sorry I was digging through earlier posts, realized this qns asked before :s34:

junclot

Paiseh, I meant even overseas. Even >10 years ago when I bought Computer Game PC magazine (US import), already kept seeing AW ads inside. But little Sager/Clevo. Online also same, AW ads, little Sager/Clevo.

Maybe Sager/Clevo cater to different market ... the got-meat, non-flashy one :s7:

b4 i buy mine also duno wat is Sager Clevo

tot Asus G series G53sw is like damn zai liao cuz its like 1 of the highest end lappy in IT show, AW m15x never sell here, m14x lose to G53sw also

den when i started research on lappy ghx card top tier range, jiu realise gtx460m actualli quite louya :s13:

den started googling lappy wif higher end ghx card like hd 6990m, gtx560m gtx 485m all those den Sager came out

if never research i think i have a Asus G53sw sitting on my table now liao :s22:

darkarn

Maybe Sager/Clevo cater to different market ... the got-meat, non-flashy one

Heh, some Sager resellers even give you an option to remove the Sager logo from the laptop!

And the manuals seem a little plain compared to other brands :s22:

Sorry if this has been ask before:

CubeHub 3 Year Carry-In Limited Parts and Labor Warranty (This warranty covered by Sager in US)

Does the above warranty only apply to US, meaning if we select this option, anything wrong with the laptop, send back to US to claim warranty?

Thanks.

Nope, the response I got from CubeHub is that when you got problem and you bring to them, they will try to fix on the spot for you. If cannot then they will ship it to US to be fixed for you and you have a loan laptop to use while waiting for it to be done.

b4 i buy mine also duno wat is Sager Clevo

tot Asus G series G53sw is like damn zai liao cuz its like 1 of the highest end lappy in IT show, AW m15x never sell here, m14x lose to G53sw also

den when i started research on lappy ghx card top tier range, jiu realise gtx460m actualli quite louya

den started googling lappy wif higher end ghx card like hd 6990m, gtx560m gtx 485m all those den Sager came out

if never research i think i have a Asus G53sw sitting on my table now liao

Actually, GTX460 is "old stock" =:p

For me, COMEX did not sell MSI laptops (which I was after initially due to their specs) and the other brands (even ASUS!) just did not have what I wanted. Went to SLS/Funan and found out that MSI is still using GTX460 (new models still unconfirmed). I decided to take the plunge and order a Sager after hearing how I can customise it post-sales a la a rig.

And all along, I had heard of Sager but thought that I won't be able to touch one :s22:

kanchelsis

Probably getting an NP8170 as my first Sager. 8180 is a little too large, and I'm not looking for a third drive bay nor an SLi gaming rig.

Specs I'm changing are:
- AMD 6900M
- Intel 2760QM
- 16GB 1333 (4x4) (I'm running VMs, so I need the RAM)
- (primary) 120GB Sata3 SSD
- (secondary) 750GB 7200rpm
- All else at default

Probably my heaviest use for the Sager will include video conversion/editing, software development + R&D (requires vmware), gaming.

Planning to connect the Sager to external monitors for multi-display.

Any other suggestions?

junclot

AMD 6900M?

i think u mean 6990?

rich sia, i also want 120GB Sata3 SSD de, but like v ex sia, cannot afford

if u use wireless alot, suggest at least upgrade to the cheapest wireless adapter

oh, n get the thermal compound thing also since SG weather so hot (unless ur lappy is in 24/7 aircon room)

darkarn

AMD 6900M?

i think u mean 6990?

rich sia, i also want 120GB Sata3 SSD de, but like v ex sia, cannot afford

if u use wireless alot, suggest at least upgrade to the cheapest wireless adapter

oh, n get the thermal compound thing also since SG weather so hot (unless ur lappy is in 24/7 aircon room)

Actually, if you do not mind some DIY, you should compare prices between there and SLS; might be cheaper but you gotta get your hands dirty, especially for the thermal paste!

And don't forget that the Ultimate and Bigfoot wireless modules do not have Bluetooth.

In my case, I went for stock options (see below) except the thermal paste (too lazy to do it for everything :s13:) and the Advanced wireless module (SLS never sell; need the Bluetooth too). Will get the Blu-Ray drive as a post-sales upgrade from them and do the rest myself (tentative)

img0028jm.jpg

junclot

Actually, if you do not mind some DIY, you should compare prices between there and SLS; might be cheaper but you gotta get your hands dirty, especially for the thermal paste!

And don't forget that the Ultimate and Bigfoot wireless modules do not have Bluetooth.

In my case, I went for stock options (see below) except the thermal paste (too lazy to do it for everything :s13:) and the Advanced wireless module (SLS never sell; need the Bluetooth too). Will get the Blu-Ray drive as a post-sales upgrade from them and do the rest myself (tentative)

img0028jm.jpg

gtx560m is the bottleneck =:p

darkarn

Gah! Should have known...

Oh well, upgrade next year then! (If got money...)

kanchelsis

Opps, yes I meant 6990M =:p

I saved quite long for the Sager liao. In any case I wanted a lappy that I hope can last me at least 3 yrs (i.e. until 2014), not counting the ad-hoc upgrades I may do in the meantime.

My take is that the Haswell microarchitecture should be out by 2013, and hopefully by 2014 this would be mature enough for the laptop manufacturers to go full steam by then.

Judging by what I've seen however, Sager seems to be slower than the rest in adopting the new platforms.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.