salt&light - He obeyed God’s call to leave the RSAF and run a café – only to lose S$70,000 of his savings...

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

0bserver

There are some businesses that always god here God there cause they want to attract a certain group of people.

God of any types. Most recent one I see is 1 that sell potato at pasar malam one.

Ayumix6

UT0PfrW.gif

Philipkee

Andy ah andy…https://saltandlight.sg/family/one-...t-but-god-rebuilt-everything-i-had-destroyed/
Wtf is he going thru??

Having mistress also can be saved by praying to god?!
Actually yes. But of cos, did u repent? If u r still having the mistress means u praying in vain

Generally on earth, sins against God are also sins against man. Example? U steal something

If u stole something, u pray for forgiveness and truly repent, God will forgive you. But it doesn’t mean u can tell the judge in court that I have been forgiven so therefore no jail sentence please…. God no longer punishes you but you still have to be punished by earthly authorities

Lifetime warranty

I totally avoid all this type of shops.. why I need to pay for what they pray.. I think I have not go to certain food for more than 20 years..

Philipkee

if mois ishs a sales mans, moi will goes ups tos everys christians and says moi heards a voice askings moi to sell chius this
theys wills believes? :s22:
They will think u telling a lie. Of cos it depends on circumstances. Maybe the person was praying for the exact product u r selling and u came with exactly the same product….

iam7377

Andy Lim // November 14, 2025, 2:30 pm

When Andy Lim obeyed God's call to quit his stable career in the Air Force to run a café, he didn't expect to go through 's call to quit his stable career in the Air Force to run a café, he didn't expect to go through

When Andy Lim obeyed God's call to quit his stable career in the Air Force to run a café, he didn't expect to go through "a valley of dry bones". But looking back, he sees how God used that season for good. All photos courtesy of Andy Lim.
“It’s time to leave your job. Trust Me and go.”
It didn’t make sense. I was raking in a good salary in the Republic of Singapore Air Force. I had two young kids. I had loans to pay off. I had no backup plan.
But as I prayed and fasted, the stirring deep in my heart would not go away.
Finally, when God showed me in Genesis how Abraham had obeyed His call to leave his homeland, I obeyed and resigned from the Air Force.
I had no idea what I would do next. My boss thought I was crazy. I, too, couldn’t believe what I had just done. But I knew God was calling me to step into something new.

An unlikely opportunity​

During my three-month notice period, I spent a lot of time in prayer and soaked myself in God’s Word, asking Him to reveal to me what was next.
I thought about being a property agent, but didn’t pass the exam. I tried applying for jobs online, but couldn’t find a good fit.

There was a lot of back and forth between me and God. I was scared that I was “talking to myself”, or that I was pursuing my own selfish ambitions.
In the end, I felt God telling me to be patient and wait.
Pilot-training.jpg

During Andy’s time in the Air Force, he was chosen to undergo pilot training, though he eventually did not pass. Photo by the RSAF.
Nearing the end of my notice period, something strange started stirring in me: A desire to bless the community through food.
But I had no experience in business at all, much less an F&B business.
One day, however, I chanced upon a Kith Café franchise opportunity in West Coast. I didn’t go looking for it; it just popped up. And somehow, doors began to open in ways I couldn’t explain.
I felt God telling me this was going to be an altar. A place of testimony.
As I explored taking over the franchise, everything aligned supernaturally. The café’s location was even at the same serviced apartment that my family had stayed in previously during our renovations. It was like God had gone before me and laid everything in place.
Despite my doubts, I felt peace and strength to go ahead.
With my wife’s full support, I used S$140,000 of my savings to take over Kith Café West Coast. For me, it wasn’t a business decision, but a step of obedience.
Honestly, it was never about selling coffee or food. I felt God telling me this was going to be an altar. A place of testimony. A space where people could feel safe and seen, and hopefully encounter Him through community and conversations.
Though the future was uncertain, my wife and I believed that God would take care of us.
But we didn’t expect what came next.

Zero in the bank​

Within the first few months, I lost half of what I had invested.
Unlike the highly structured environment that I was used to in the military, running a café was messy, unpredictable and tiring.
I had to learn everything from scratch: building an inventory, staffing, negotiating with suppliers, running operations, managing café culture. I wasn’t ready. I didn’t know what I was doing.
Photo-10-11-25-4-23-07-PM-scaled.jpg

From being in a position of power in the military, Andy had to roll up his sleeves to clean, scrub and serve as a café owner.
We faced issues with staff and problems with processes. Food quality was dropping. Footfall was poor. On some days, we only had S$100 in sales.
There were months I didn’t know how to pay rent and food supplies, days when I avoided checking the sales report because it would stress me out, times when I had to hold back from buying things for my kids because we had to stretch every dollar.
There were many days I wanted to give up, especially when things felt out of control. Every day, I had to surrender and pray: “God, help me.”
If it was truly God who had started it, then I had to trust that He would finish it – not in my way, but in His.
The business began to bleed rapidly – first about S$2,000 a month, then up to S$15,000 a month. For the first time in my life, I saw zero in my bank account.
It shook me, and I started to panic.
I cried a lot in my car. I remember asking God: “Are you sure You called me to do this? Did I hear wrongly?”
That was a really deep valley for me. It came to a point where I gave myself three months to turn the business around. If things did not pick up by then, I would have to close it.
Though things were looking dire, I knew deep down that the café had not been a random idea. I didn’t come up with it. I knew how God had led me out of the Air Force, how He had shut every other door, and how this door had opened in such a divine way.
God had put a dream in my heart. And if it was truly God who had started it, then I had to trust that He would finish it – not in my way, but in His.
I held on to Isaiah 43:19, “See, I am doing a new thing.” And through it all, I prayed: “God, even if I lose it all, let me not lose You.”

Peace in chaos​

I kept going not because I had confidence in myself, but because I had seen God’s faithfulness.
His grace always showed up – through people, through small wins, through moments of peace, even when things were messy.
On some days, as I worshipped in the quiet of the café before opening, I would sense His peace.
On other days, I’d be on the brink of giving up, and someone would walk in just to encourage me, without knowing what I was going through.
There were also quiet moments when I was alone, cleaning or restocking, and I’d hear God remind me: “I am with you. Don’t be afraid.”
Secondary-Sch-Gathering-at-kith.jpg

Andy, seen here hosting a group of his secondary school friends, wants to avail his café to be a space where people can feel safe, find community and encounter God.

Photo-1-1-13-12-00-00-AM.jpg

Andy and his wife, Sheryl, at The Mustard Seed Market, held on November 1 and 2

..story continue here...​

https://saltandlight.sg/profiles/he...un-a-cafe-only-to-lose-s70000-of-his-savings/
Why everything linked to god? I mean shouldn't he be responsible for his own actions?

Teyemittisi

Eventually it’s the religion that gives people the beliefs to do whatever they are fearful of. Whether successful or not, the success or failure will always not be human related. It’s like living in a fairy tale land.. isn’t that wonderful?

Can Or Not

There are some businesses that always god here God there cause they want to attract a certain group of people.

God of any types. Most recent one I see is 1 that sell potato at pasar malam one.
Got god ask people to sell sea shells at the sea shore or not?

tomsss

tldr

so did he huat or not in the end? else ima gonna say god basically chose him to fail lol

how he perceived that as a blessing... well, that's his opinion and belief

at least he is following a path, not being lost and he's... not alone..? 🤷‍♂️

Evcats

The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.”
They are corrupt, they do abominable deeds;
there is none who does good.

cockanathan

Religion very good scapegoat leh...

Make any retarded decisions - "orh, follow god one"

:s13: :s13: :s13:

Heart itchy say heart itchy lah, what obey god...heart itchy want to do something, very easy pluck "reasons" out to justify.
if he really heard god's voice, he has mental illness. possibly schizophrenia.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.