Samsung Beam?

RipperJack

Basket, Ripper makes me having second thoughts too. The projector is made from T.I., should be good. Gostan is unavailable during launch on Sat, good or bad thing? Maybe Ripper can get this. :o

http://designfabulous.blogspot.com/2010/07/htc-1.html

no faults on the projector la. just have to know that, this is the pioneer batch of pico projector in phones. just dun expect too much out of it then wun get disappointed :D

Kennyboy, you never do a variation of post 51 analogy on Ripper ah? :)

:s11::s11::s11:

goaheadbingostan

kennyboy

ripper went for another quick testdrive before leaving office ytd.
so add some quick thoughts.

1. UI was so boring i thought i was playing with an iphone :s22:

2. absolutely hate the touch-sensitive Menu and Back keys.
when fiddling with the camera, hand brushed the Back key twice, bringing the camera mode back to home
also, it's not sensitive. sometimes touch it to go back, but phailed
would very much prefer physical buttons with tactile feedback.

3. 2nd time round, feels it's really thick. weight wasn't the big issue. the thickness is.

4. lag is definitely there, but not enough to really bother ripper.

5. biggest mark here is the pinchzooming of images.
pinch zoom in to enlarge, but the image auto zoom out again once the fingers are released.
only way to remain zoomed in is to double tap
is this standard for android?

Food for thoughts for potential buyers would be the durability of the pico projector. would it be a bitch to maintain?

1. Why not? The left/right swiping is actually preferred by some because it's easier to remember which page your app is. Once u installed a ton of apps u will understand why. Also, homescreen apps are easily available. U can customize it to ur needs.

2. Agreed. Sometimes it's sensitive, sometimes not. But also too many people complain physical buttons easy up lorry. So u decide - touch buttons that won't spoil or physical buttons that might.

3. Want projector, don't want thick, expect miracles, don't want to wait for future improvements, so hard to please. :D

4. Maybe direct connection to brain then no lag, since it will predict what function u want. :D

5. Not common Android behavior.

Don't worry, pico proj no need to replace bulb. But it's just a novelty imho...how long will u play with it?

Joking ok? :D

Kennyboy, you never do a variation of post 31 analogy on Ripper ah? :)

Your wish is my command. Read pt. 3.

RipperJack

1. Why not? The left/right swiping is actually preferred by some because it's easier to remember which page your app is. Once u installed a ton of apps u will understand why. Also, homescreen apps are easily available. U can customize it to ur needs.

2. Agreed. Sometimes it's sensitive, sometimes not. But also too many people complain physical buttons easy up lorry. So u decide - touch buttons that won't spoil or physical buttons that might.

3. Want projector, don't want thick, expect miracles, don't want to wait for future improvements, so hard to please. :D

4. Maybe direct connection to brain then no lag, since it will predict what function u want. :D

5. Not common Android behavior.

Don't worry, pico proj no need to replace bulb. But it's just a novelty imho...how long will u play with it?

Joking ok? :D

Your wish is my command. Read pt. 3.
1. y can't we have sub-folders like iOS4? kidding! :s13:
ripper has been using MobileShell which is very nice. so now the TouchWiz is a huge step down for ripper.

2. main buttons normally very heavy duty one.
ripper has yet to use a phone wear the main buttons spoiled. only time buttons spoiled was Dopod 838 Pro with the lousy keyboard

3. to be honest, actually ripper dun want the projector :s13:
it's novel but totally not impt to ripper.
ripper just want the 8mp cam with flash.
too bad GS no habs. they just have to produce a phone with imperfections.

not going to wait too long la
1yr upgrade phone 1 time, if wait for 3mths, 25% of youth gone liao. 青春无价~!
buy liao, if not happy just make do with it for the next 10 mths, then upgrade phone again! :D

4. got lag means got lag. no point denying and lower to the levels of apple fanboys =:p

5. hmmm. the pinch zoom thingy abit of the worry~
let ripper go and grill the samsung folks at starhub shop abt it :crazy:

RipperJack

plaza singapura the starhub shop

and bro ripper u getting it on saturday?

help me ask what's the price W/o Contract.
ripper is not going to get it this saturday le.
in fact, due to turn of events, ripper will not be able to do it this weekend.

also, dunno if still going to get Beam onot. :(
70% chance yes though, but next week :D

kennyboy

1. y can't we have sub-folders like iOS4? kidding!
ripper has been using MobileShell which is very nice. so now the TouchWiz is a huge step down for ripper.

2. main buttons normally very heavy duty one.
ripper has yet to use a phone wear the main buttons spoiled. only time buttons spoiled was Dopod 838 Pro with the lousy keyboard

3. to be honest, actually ripper dun want the projector
it's novel but totally not impt to ripper.
ripper just want the 8mp cam with flash.
too bad GS no habs. they just have to produce a phone with imperfections.

not going to wait too long la
1yr upgrade phone 1 time, if wait for 3mths, 25% of youth gone liao. 青春无价~!
buy liao, if not happy just make do with it for the next 10 mths, then upgrade phone again!

4. got lag means got lag. no point denying and lower to the levels of apple fanboys =:p

5. hmmm. the pinch zoom thingy abit of the worry~
let ripper go and grill the samsung folks at starhub shop abt it :crazy:

1. U can have folders of apps on the homescreen with an app called app launcher. Dun even need to go into apps drawer anymore.

2. Don't be so sure about that. Ask the HTC Legend users. U never use before doesn't mean u buy all magically will be good. :D

3. Aiyoh if camera so important than wait for better model lor. Or Nokia N8? :D Sure got better stuff coming soon...don't waste the contract.

4. Haha....ok ok, you win. The Apple card beats all. :)

5. Use only 2 fingers hor...2 fingers plus nose not counted. :D

Grill them gao gao...but in the end don't buy. :)

kennyboy

Wait for the guinea pigs to come here praise/complain first. :D

goaheadbingostan

Date chiobu never intro. :s34:

xfiles_wolvie

jus tried the beam, thickness wise same as my N97, but its the width and length that i gt to get used to.

Projector and camera quite ez to use, im ok with the flash, screen good.

My complain nw is both the projector and camera no cover, i m a rough person, doubt t will survive me.

Also gt to wait till reviews on video playback and when can get froyo.

xfiles_wolvie

i do notice also tat the brochure and online specs abit diff, who to believe?

Procesor is 800 online bt brochure put 720. N brochure put gt swype.hmmm

Bimb0s

hmm hmm, better wait for official stats to come out ba..
wondering if the pico projector will overheat anot...

RipperJack

1. U can have folders of apps on the homescreen with an app called app launcher. Dun even need to go into apps drawer anymore.

2. Don't be so sure about that. Ask the HTC Legend users. U never use before doesn't mean u buy all magically will be good. :D

3. Aiyoh if camera so important than wait for better model lor. Or Nokia N8? :D Sure got better stuff coming soon...don't waste the contract.

4. Haha....ok ok, you win. The Apple card beats all. :)

5. Use only 2 fingers hor...2 fingers plus nose not counted. :D

Grill them gao gao...but in the end don't buy. :)
ripper has a feeling that if ripper replied point for point, this thread would grow to become epic 100-page thread :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.