Samsung SSDs incompatible with old AMD processors ??!!

i've read on several forums + consumer reviews and many people are complaining about how their Samsung 860 Evo SSDs not working with older AMD processors..........with majority of these buyers returning for refunds..........:eek:

i have the below super-old AMD processor...........:s13:

http://www.cpu-upgrade.com/CPUs/AMD/Athlon_II/170u.html

SATA 2 only......:o........so, still will work with SSDs ?........:s11:

perhaps getting a Crucial MX500 might work ??:s11:

Are you sure you not reading nvme?

vast majority of complaints coming from SATA SSD..........some people update this driver, that driver also cannot get it to work...........

some change SATA driver and got it to work but some change liao also cannot........

some guy put up a page from Samsung Support page and it says AMD not supported.......

andymarsh

Sata is backwards compatible through sata1 2 and 3. https://kb.sandisk.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/8142/~/difference-between-sata-i%2C-sata-ii-and-sata-iii

I doubt your motherboard has any m.2 slot, so no need consider nvme ssd.

Just for your reference, ssd differ in
Physical shape (2.5" vs m.2)
Protocol (sata vs nvme)
Flash memory (mlc, tlc, qlc, etc)

Sata is backwards compatible through sata1 2 and 3. https://kb.sandisk.com/app/answers/...fference-between-sata-i,-sata-ii-and-sata-iii

I doubt your motherboard has any m.2 slot, so no need consider nvme ssd.

Just for your reference, ssd differ in
Physical shape (2.5" vs m.2)
Protocol (sata vs nvme)
Flash memory (mlc, tlc, qlc, etc)

yeah, my pc is 8 years old liao..............very basic one........

just realized it's only SATA 2 in fact.......:s13:so not very sure if can use SSD

alamakazim

I use n pentium pro no problem

BIOS selection and connection problem la

I use n pentium pro no problem

BIOS selection and connection problem la

so far many of these buyers are complaining even when they have latest AMD processors.........older ones lagi more problematic......

i was about to get a Samsung till i read those complaints.......

Gaminator

I had an i7 2600K with a Samsung 850 EVO 250GB with no issue, sold it to my friend. My friend bought my FX8350 rig a few years back, I believe he's running a Samsung EVO SSD with it as well, I don't recall him mentioning any issue with it as well.

alamakazim

so far many of these buyers are complaining even when they have latest AMD processors.........older ones lagi more problematic......

i was about to get a Samsung till i read those complaints.......

then dont buy samsung lo

anyway buy so good also wasted... sata2...

then dont buy samsung lo

anyway buy so good also wasted... sata2...

i was hoping buy good SSD can use with next pc .........:s13:

by the way, is Crucial MX500 a decent buy ?.........seems to be the next most popular one after 860 Evo.............

if buy from Qoo10 can claim local warranty ?.........seller say claim from Crucial USA.........but i asked Crucial and they say can claim from local distributor....:(

watzup_ken

To be honest, there is little reason to get a Samsung SSD nowadays. Most competitors like Crucial and Adata have caught up in terms of performance, and is better in value.

yusoffb01

i had a windows 7 laptop from 2006 with sata 2. sandisk ssd works fine

alamakazim

I have some cheapo sandisk running for 5 years 24/7

yes one of my job.... is to maintain legacy machines.... windows NT omfg

SkyShroud

Don't make sense. The only incompatible I could think of is just software. Hardware itself is standardized.

no know leh..........anyway, a lot of complaints online.........since i no know about IT stuff..............i think safer for me to buy Crucial..........

by the way, i contacted Crucial (USA) and they said if i were to buy Crucial SSDs online - i still can get 5-year warranty from local distributor.........is this true ?:s11:

i had a windows 7 laptop from 2006 with sata 2. sandisk ssd works fine

wah.........2006 laptop also can use SSD...........then my 2011 desktop should be ok..........:s13:

by the way, i contacted Crucial (USA) and they said if i were to buy Crucial SSDs online - i still can get 5-year warranty from local distributor.........is this true ?:s11:

I have some cheapo sandisk running for 5 years 24/7

yes one of my job.... is to maintain legacy machines.... windows NT omfg

Sandisk is cheapo brand meh ?.........i thought USA brand ?

To be honest, there is little reason to get a Samsung SSD nowadays. Most competitors like Crucial and Adata have caught up in terms of performance, and is better in value.

on Qoo10 i found Samsung 860 EVO 500GB at $99...........Crucial MX500 500GB at $89............so thought better to buy Samsung until i read about not compatible with AMD processors.............

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.