Samsung SSDs incompatible with old AMD processors ??!!

tigerwoods

on Qoo10 i found Samsung 860 EVO 500GB at $99...........Crucial MX500 500GB at $89............so thought better to buy Samsung until i read about not compatible with AMD processors.............

by the way, i contacted Crucial (USA) and they said if i were to buy Crucial SSDs online - i still can get 5-year warranty from local distributor.........is this true ?:s11:

What if other brands also not compatible with your pc

shadow84

on Qoo10 i found Samsung 860 EVO 500GB at $99...........Crucial MX500 500GB at $89............so thought better to buy Samsung until i read about not compatible with AMD processors.............

by the way, i contacted Crucial (USA) and they said if i were to buy Crucial SSDs online - i still can get 5-year warranty from local distributor.........is this true ?:s11:

Distro for crucial is quite particular on this, no sticker on package means export set means no need entertain you. U will also need produce a receipt showing that you bought the ssd locally. I doubt they can accept the qoo10 receipt, need to be shop receipt.

What if other brands also not compatible with your pc

like that.............si liao lah...........:eek:

but should be okay..............i've read a number of people with SATA 2 using AMD processors having no problems with other brands.........only Samsung got problem with AMD........

Distro for crucial is quite particular on this, no sticker on package means export set means no need entertain you. U will also need produce a receipt showing that you bought the ssd locally. I doubt they can accept the qoo10 receipt, need to be shop receipt.

i've contacted Crucial a 2nd time to confirm warranty.........but they did say the 1st time that local distributors are to honour warranty.........

so if local distributor don't honour warranty.........i must mail the SSD all the way to USA ??!!:eek:

ra[g]e

i've contacted Crucial a 2nd time to confirm warranty.........but they did say the 1st time that local distributors are to honour warranty.........

so if local distributor don't honour warranty.........i must mail the SSD all the way to USA ??!!:eek:
Seriously just buy from Lazada make sure its under local Singapore distributor. Looks like cheapest for what you want is $99 but you do save on shipping.

shadow84

Local distro are to honour warranty IF AND ONLY IF you buy local stock. If you buy from places outside of Singapore or from sellers that parallel import, distro has every right to ignore your RMA. It is in their T&C. Even crucial also cant argue back. No convergent sticker on package + no local receipt = export set = no need entertain you.

Then again, sending back to Crucial is quite easy and cheap, less than $10. They even paid for the return shipping.

ra[g]e

Local distro are to honour warranty IF AND ONLY IF you buy local stock. If you buy from places outside of Singapore or from sellers that parallel import, distro has every right to ignore your RMA. It is in their T&C. Even crucial also cant argue back. No convergent sticker on package + no local receipt = export set = no need entertain you.

Then again, sending back to Crucial is quite easy and cheap, less than $10. They even paid for the return shipping.
Its not so clear cut for some brands btw, certain big brands with international warranty policies will force the local distributors to agree to honouring overseas warranties in exchange for granting them distributorship.

E.g. certain Asus and Gigabyte products

I only buy laptops from Amazon/Newegg with international warranty policies that are serviced by local service center. 30% cheaper than local stocks.

bro......so you ever return to Crucial before ? what about the data inside the SSD ??:s11:

$10 in shipping only meh ?.......registered with tracking ?:eek:

so they'll send a NEW one to me and pay for return shipping too ?:eek:

Seriously just buy from Lazada make sure its under local Singapore distributor. Looks like cheapest for what you want is $99 but you do save on shipping.

the $99 you're referring to is Samsung or Crucial ?

the local agent listed on Lazada.......Crucial MX500 (500GB) @ $238 !!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.