Samsung T5 SSD

nubitol

how many companies and how many years here already?
have you tried tech startups?

Not tried tech startups yet.

Been in 4 companies working 10 years here and have friends in many companies and all talk the same thing. Talk like companies have bosses that focus on your punctuality more than productivity. Talk about bosses know nothing about software but manage software development but only care the time u spend on desk and dont care about when u have to brainstorm to solve technical problems.

No long term vision to invest in codes without ROI but for future ROI

nubitol

In addition:

In this case “Good” is a very subjective term. If the company is smart enough, they would not use this developer’s code or library unless the license is clear and the company has good understanding to use or not to use or willing to pay or not pay for it.

The project owner will need to know if the source code is available and under which license and whether it permits them to fork the version for modification and whether the modification need to be also shared.

:)

Very insightful from you
But even Singapore mnc only cares you can develop software in short time. They dont care whose libraries you use. Which IT managers have knowledge about IP infringement? Most of them only know what time you come today

china panda

Not tried tech startups yet.

Been in 4 companies working 10 years here and have friends in many companies and all talk the same thing. Talk like companies have bosses that focus on your punctuality more than productivity. Talk about bosses know nothing about software but manage software development but only care the time u spend on desk and dont care about when u have to brainstorm to solve technical problems.

No long term vision to invest in codes without ROI but for future ROI

then why singapore?
Do you try to go to US? have you applied to companies like google? :o

nubitol

Why don’t you just encrypt your works and store them in the cloud. Seems like a lot more reliable and safer.

Good idea. I have dropbox account, some in progress softwares are stored there. Maybe need to create a folder for projects that have been finalised

davidktw

Good idea. I have dropbox account, some in progress softwares are stored there. Maybe need to create a folder for projects that have been finalised

If you are using Mac, I recommend you to use DMG. For windows, you can try Bitlocker with VHDX. Linux using LUKS with file image.

nubitol

then why singapore?
Do you try to go to US? have you applied to companies like google? :o

i love Singapore

tried applying for Google but they expect me to be sales + developer while i am not good at selling points. Not a vocal person even let people get away for taking my credits at work

nubitol

If you are using Mac, I recommend you to use DMG. For windows, you can try Bitlocker with VHDX. Linux using LUKS with file image.

thanks for the info, heard bitlocker has been around for sometimes but never actually using it. Probably going to read it some where

codemasterguy

In addition:

In this case “Good” is a very subjective term. If the company is smart enough, they would not use this developer’s code or library unless the license is clear and the company has good understanding to use or not to use or willing to pay or not pay for it.

The project owner will need to know if the source code is available and under which license and whether it permits them to fork the version for modification and whether the modification need to be also shared.

:)

If the company is smart, they will take control of the code and leave nubitol nothing.

When a developer is working in company, all codes will belong to company. So, technically, all codes that nubitol has developed, actually belong to company, even though most of codes developed over weekend.

So, nubitol's boss ignorance is actually a blessing for nubitol.

codemasterguy

Very insightful from you
But even Singapore mnc only cares you can develop software in short time. They dont care whose libraries you use. Which IT managers have knowledge about IP infringement? Most of them only know what time you come today

You are rare breed kind of programmer nowadays. Out of many IT folks I have met, a very few of them think and do what you are doing.

If singapore has more passionate person like you, singapore IT has bright future. Well done with all your frameworks.

It is understandable why some boss never think this way, because from their point of view, the code is the same and they don't generate profit directly from the code.

china panda

i love Singapore

tried applying for Google but they expect me to be sales + developer while i am not good at selling points. Not a vocal person even let people get away for taking my credits at work

I feel that you should hop to better technology oriented companies in SG such as lazada or grab

nubitol

If the company is smart, they will take control of the code and leave nubitol nothing.

When a developer is working in company, all codes will belong to company. So, technically, all codes that nubitol has developed, actually belong to company, even though most of codes developed over weekend.

lol, never thought of it but you are damn right

i think the correct way is to use my own time developing my own stuff and never bring to work, coz it will becomes theirs

nubitol

You are rare breed kind of programmer nowadays. Out of many IT folks I have met, a very few of them think and do what you are doing.

If singapore has more passionate person like you, singapore IT has bright future. Well done with all your frameworks.

It is understandable why some boss never think this way, because from their point of view, the code is the same and they don't generate profit directly from the code.

maybe because i have been writing software since secondary school using my old windows 98 pc bought using my own ang pao savings

those times i believe that i will be successful if i keep on learning, but now i realise i miss lots of things such as friends, take care of looks, buying hdb, buying car

my passions only earns peanuts and i have lost more than i believe i can get during my younger times

nubitol

I feel that you should hop to better technology oriented companies in SG such as lazada or grab

uber/grab recent issues shows that in SG you dont have a certain future or progressive career

i believe this is because of the mindset of the investors. investor wont hesitate to change the entire management if there are no profits, they wont take risk to invest in development without earning

while in AMDK country, their culture is different, you can see many today's technologies firm are previously giving out freeware and only selling it recently. Imagine the cost they are bearing from the past during the development of the software, however you will see that most of them are actually hobbyist who turn into entrepreneur

china panda

uber/grab recent issues shows that in SG you dont have a certain future or progressive career

i believe this is because of the mindset of the investors. investor wont hesitate to change the entire management if there are no profits, they wont take risk to invest in development without earning

while in AMDK country, their culture is different, you can see many today's technologies firm are previously giving out freeware and only selling it recently. Imagine the cost they are bearing from the past during the development of the software, however you will see that most of them are actually hobbyist who turn into entrepreneur

grab has 2b investment recently... uber is one of the current top tech company in the world leh
I don't know what you want as career progression.
when it comes to salary, they are already known for paying so much

nubitol

grab has 2b investment recently... uber is one of the current top tech company in the world leh
I don't know what you want as career progression.
when it comes to salary, they are already known for paying so much

i see, they pay a lot?
its good to know that

maybe should try to see what test they did

neojudy

You spent $1200 on 2TB ssd?

Might as well use $200 to buy 2TB hard disk and use the $1000 to enjoy life or chase girls.

nubitol

You spent $1200 on 2TB ssd?

Might as well use $200 to buy 2TB hard disk and use the $1000 to enjoy life or chase girls.

ssd can tahan drops

my 2 tb hdd kena knock a bit by cable and it spoils, all past data gone

girls ah, very traumatic experience

davidktw

Don’t think that is correct. The code only belongs to the company if they are developed during when one is working during office hours of the company, and/or utilises company resources to develop them. Development outside of the company office hours and without using any company resources do not belong to the company. Attachment to a company is sell your time, not your life.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.