Say hello to eSIM!

parchiao

Does Singtel have a way to restrict eSIM?

I don't want my phone number to be hijacked for 2FA.

:frown:

mcylo

Ts should change his nick from 大🐍丸to. 山中🐢

forests_gump

is it possible:
Let say buy 2 x 5Ber, put into 2 phones, both 5ber load/share the same Esim profile (travel data)... then 2 phones can use the same data ?

leonaheidern

is it possible:
Let say buy 2 x 5Ber, put into 2 phones, both 5ber load/share the same Esim profile (travel data)... then 2 phones can use the same data ?

nope the nature of qr code for esim I'd activate once only

I have a esim.me card that died for some reason after I deactivated the simba senior go digital plan in their app and want to activate another profile . the esim.me vendor is sending a replacement card from Germany. needless to say I won't quite trust their card unless it's a overseas temp esim profile anymore. or never deactivate a profile again

I try to scan the same qr code cannot work liao for 5ber sim.

josephsbs

My friend introduced to me a very interesting solution for those whose phone does not have eSIM but don't want to pay for a new eSIM equipped phone... especially when current phone is still rather new and good for many years to go.

There are 2x eSIM card companies (what we know for now) that sell physical SIM cards that work like eSIM. These physical SIM cards "convert" the physical "SIM tray" (usually SIM1) into an eSIM that supports multiple eSIM profiles together with installed App.
Especially useful when phone has 2 SIM slots... SIM1 becomes eSIM, SIM2 for local Telco physical SIM.

5ber.com eSIM
https://esim.5ber.com/?language=en-US
Basic plan starts at US$12 (S$16+) per card... 2x eSIM code downloads, need to buy additional downloads (3 for US$3, 5 for US$4, 10 for US$5). This is useful for those who travels only occasionally.
Regular travellers may consider the Premium plan at US$25 (S$33+) that comes with unlimited eSIM downloads
5ber seems to be suspended, not sure whether closed down...
https://landian.news/article/5485.html

eSIM.me eSIM
https://esim.me/
Basic eSIM starts at €24.95 (S$35+) per card.

IMO... eSIM is not useful for someone who uses phone mainly in Singapore or who travels only once in a while, unless if convenience is really valued. However, they provide convenience for frequent travellers who prefer to buy online overseas eSIM data plans over the more expensive roaming packs from Singapore Telcos.

iammole

bo liao.... esim is only useful for some pple. it's not as if you need to frequently change sim card.

Elfblade

I've tried eSIM with Gomo and decided to switch back to Physical SIM card with Eight.

5adisticD3vil

i only recently go use esim
sally esim
i just go search in playstore and download try and see how, dun ask me why i choose this.
its the first one on the search

download the app
convert sim card slot 2 to esim
setup abit
it duto detect esim slot and its done
buy the plan where you going, install into esim, enable it here and it will auto put into use once you reach your destination
connection is pretty smooth, no disconnect or lag

and the plan is so fkin cheap compare to local telco
knn should have use esim long time ago

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.