SBS Transit *Official* (SGX:S61)

wahkao3

how? SBS can buy?
Buy liao can huat?

Warren Buffet say look for companies with good "moat". SBS have super good moat.
NO COMPETITOR AT ALL!
NO COMPETITOR CAN COME IN!!
:o

chyn_no

tot the gov is slowly introducing private operator for designated routes ??
comfortdelgro will be the upcoming competitor IMHO..

Paul Lee

Comfortdelgro is the parent company of SBSTransit. Why would the parent company want to cannablise its own child when it has the whole world to play with?

On a fundamental level, there is nothing wrong with SBSTransit. It in the type of business that investors would love to invest in because they provide an essential service that is virtually recession proof.

The biggest problem that makes it a compelling investment is the same reason as SMRT and its not just cost. Its govt regulation and an inability to set your own price.

Can u imagine Cold Storage being unable to decide how much to charge for the stuffs they sell? Or OCK having to go to a committee to apply for a price increase for their curry puff?

Thats essentially what SBST and SMRT is facing. In a free market, they would be free to set their own fare. But precisely because they provide an essential service, they are subjected to govt regulation that is not always conducive for business.

So that why SMRT and SBST is a big avoid for me. On the other hand, ComfortDelgro and Vicom are a different proposition altogether.

[Not vested in SMRT, SBST, CDG and Vicom]

ysyj48

The biggest problem that makes it a compelling investment is the same reason as SMRT and its not just cost. Its govt regulation and an inability to set your own price.

Can u imagine Cold Storage being unable to decide how much to charge for the stuffs they sell? Or OCK having to go to a committee to apply for a price increase for their curry puff?

Thats essentially what SBST and SMRT is facing. In a free market, they would be free to set their own fare. But precisely because they provide an essential service, they are subjected to govt regulation that is not always conducive for business.

So that why SMRT and SBST is a big avoid for me. On the other hand, ComfortDelgro and Vicom are a different proposition altogether.

[Not vested in SMRT, SBST, CDG and Vicom]
true, but for smrt and sbst, running the trains and buses has been a loss making part of the business for them. iirc, their revenue is coming from is the advertising, and the rental from retail shops inside mrt stations. but with the new bus contracting model, bus operators will be paid fees (by LTA) to operate the services, while fare revenue will be retained by the Government. which means that smrt and sbst will not be making losses on running bus services?

correct me if im wrong, i am still a noob :s22:

Transition to a Government Contracting Model For the Public Bus Industry | Press Room | Land Transport Authority

MisterLim001

true, but for smrt and sbst, running the trains and buses has been a loss making part of the business for them. iirc, their revenue is coming from is the advertising, and the rental from retail shops inside mrt stations. but with the new bus contracting model, bus operators will be paid fees (by LTA) to operate the services, while fare revenue will be retained by the Government. which means that smrt and sbst will not be making losses on running bus services?

correct me if im wrong, i am still a noob :s22:

Transition to a Government Contracting Model For the Public Bus Industry | Press Room | Land Transport Authority
but transport is their main source revenue and they can't make money? weird leh

stevencong

but think about it, will sg citizen allow it to be continue so profitable? I'm sure people are scolding SBS for making big money some more wanna increase fare. Doubt the long time outlook will be good for sbs.

havetheveryfun

but think about it, will sg citizen allow it to be continue so profitable? I'm sure people are scolding SBS for making big money some more wanna increase fare. Doubt the long time outlook will be good for sbs.

how can sg citizen not allow it? by walking n riding bicycle instead of taking bus is it :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.