Scam at around Sim Lim Area - Warning

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

Sk8te

Hi guys,

Just thought I share my experience with the guys here. I was almost scammed near the Sim Lim Area and here goes.

I was parking my car near by Sim Lim and thought to walk walk during lunch time. As I was getting out of my car, this van with 2 guys (very ah beng type) stopped by my car. One of the guys got out and asked me if I wanted a hi-end Hi fi (5.1 the works) system for free. I was curious and of course greedy so I decided to hear him out.

He explained that he just went to his supplier to collect 5 sets of hi fi (boxes were all in the van...really big boxes somemore) but the supplier made a mistake and gave him 8 sets instead. He have 3 extra sets and say he rather give away to ppl on the street than to his stupid greedy (and other racial comment) boss.

There I was telling myself, WOW!! free hi fi.. mai tu liao... then he say.. just give him and his brother some money to buy beer lar... then I started ticking... I say I dun want the hi fi already. Then he pulled up a catalog and invoice to show me that he is not ****ting me. The catalog shows a brand harrots (forgot the spelling)...specs looks really impressive.. he told me in the shop, a set would cost 4K+ but he just want SGD400 to buy beer. Then he pulled up 2 stacks of 400 bucks and he told me he already sold off 2 sets to 2 uncles liao. This is the last one... Wow.. I was telling myself... 400 bucks for a few K system...

As I was thinking, the other guy was like off loading the set and was trying to load into my car, opening my door. Fortunately it was locked. and also I did not have 400 bucks in my wallet. At this moment I was still very tempted... I walked over to the box of speakers (a very big box) and lifted it... surprisingly it was damn light... like those pioneer system kind.. nothing I would expect of a "hi end" soudn system. I said I had no space at home and needed to consult a friend. Called a friend (quite a hi-fi nut) and he told me not to get and call the police. Another of his friend was conned before and the hi fi did not even work. Seeing that there were 2 of them and only 1 of me (no one around that area somemore) I just stayed calm and put down the phone. Told them I was not interested... they were cursing.. say give me good deal dun want and waste their time.... the other guy damn quick to load back the box in the van (when we was offloading, he was showing like the box damn heavy like of look)

I have never seen a van zoom off that fast. wow.. almost lost 400 bucks man..

Just thought I share with you guys here... this kinda money not good to earn.. also... there is no so big toad :s12: :s12: jumping around the street man!!!

My personal experience.. just thought I share it with all the guys here... you have been warned!!

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
NPNT...the rules of the forum. Anyway, so many vans can be found there, at least give us the plate number?

Pokémon

Didn't you take down the van's plate no.?

I would have reported this to the police (though I doubt they'll put this up as a case), or maybe to the press, heh heh...

yixiang1

Moral of the story: If there is a deal too good to be true, it probably isnt. Just dun be greedy and one should be safe. Thanks for the warning man!

LouisSaha

haha, this kind of case alot in SG sia, my fren also kena man.

Knite80

This type of cases very common. My friend also kena. The brand is eko. lolz

Sk8te

Sorry to the moderators here... thought I post in the hardware forum seeing that there is a lot more traffic and somemore of of the guys here so SLS very often lar...

Yah this is a damn old scam... was just talking to my uncle and before I even got to the beer money part he already know man.. seems like donkey years ago they were using this scam already.... well what can I saw... maciam retro... hahah

And I thought Singapore scam only got "magic stones"...haha

alvin18

FOr your info , i met them once every wk cos i everyday will go SLS lunch time.
They noe me till when approach me , see my face they " hey u again" . LOL

Theres 1 van in SLS car park and 1 van in SLT car park ^_^
Both will find customers that are in the car or around the car . So if u dun wan them approach u , stay away from your car.

flame2000

I met these guys once when I was walking with my friend at the SLT carpark about 6 months back. They used the same old trick like what you mentioned. I was thinking where got so good one, Hi-Fi set for a few beers (they didn't even ask for $400 from us, cos we say not interested).

This scam newspaper got report before liao. Some pple bought it and realised kena conned.

phayze

kanna this twice b4.

Consversation between me and them.

Them: Just went deliver some hifi sets and have extras. Dun wanna to bring back so ask you whether u want or not?
Me: Free one ar?
Them: Ya, but we only want some coffee money only,
Me: $2 enough or not?
Them: Siao ar, $2 for all these?
Me: U already say extra one mar, and want to get these good out. So i helping u all...
Them: $300 lar!!!
Me: Siao, extra one still sell $300?
Them: All these cost $1500 leh and we only want $300 for coffee money.
Me: U think i stupid ar? Deliver goods where got people bring extra out? If got these type of BOSS TELL ME, I ALSO WANT!!!

After this, they got nothing to say and went away...

mmatrix

lolz, I tot this thread should be in Hardware Clinic. Moderators just saw that its hi-fi related then move the thread to Home Theatre & Audiophiles SiG. The guys in Home Theatre & Audiophiles SiG should be experience enough to not get conned by those people. Whereas people in Hardware Clinic, that knows nothing about hi-fi, should be warned of this matter.

Souljer

These kind of hifi scams can even be found in UK. They are called white van scams cos they normally drove around in white vans hawking unknown brands of 'high-end' spkers at basement prices to virgin audiophiles.

ngkeatj

Met these ppl b4... about 3 times liao. But not all around SLS. Met 1 at MOM. Of course, it sounds too good to be true ... thus... it can't be. Dont be conned lah.

rainforest

Sk8te said:
Sorry to the moderators here... thought I post in the hardware forum seeing that there is a lot more traffic and somemore of of the guys here so SLS very often lar...

Yah this is a damn old scam... was just talking to my uncle and before I even got to the beer money part he already know man.. seems like donkey years ago they were using this scam already.... well what can I saw... maciam retro... hahah

And I thought Singapore scam only got "magic stones"...haha

nice of you to highlight this scam thing.

jujube

so the hi fis work or not.. tt's the important thing

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.