Scam? How come I go Starbucks I pay exact price shown on menu, but other SG cafes take-away they charge me extra GST?

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

animeonegai

when I see the price on the menu I expect to pay that price

no asterisk and at cashier they charge me GST on top of the menu price

how is this not a scam?

only Starbucks is truthful show me the real price I have to pay
Then you tell them u pay what the price menu shows and dont come here to jjww ! Not happy go starbucks or mcdonald to drink your coffee la! What a typical sgrean. Come here complain but real thing happen, dont want to do right thing.

Ps: sinkie pwn sinkie. can i sleep well tonight?

mp4005 help

you want to migrate to USA go ahead no one stopping you
I want to stay in SG to support the PAP
anyway in Japan all prices are tax inclusive. No scams you just pay what is shown on menu.
in SG Starbucks is truthful because they only charge me the price shown on the menu
but there are other SG cafes charge me GST on top of menu price. Feels like a scam to me.

sure.

then don't buy loh .

no one force you .

DarkStarer

how is this not a scam?

Bro you want to go cafe Lim kopi you niaoji how they show 7% gst for what? Including excluding in the end you still have to pay.

Buay song then go to those not gst registered cafes or go kopitiam drink kopi. Don't make your life so complicated.

tokiya

sure.

then don't buy loh .

no one force you .

I queue so long to buy

then at cashier realize still got extra gst

all the xmm queuing behind me

if I tell them I don’t buy Liao because of gst

lose face and all the xmm will laugh at me

so no choice pay gst

if this is not a scam I don’t know what is

tokiya

You can actually report them to the IRAS.

By right, " GST-registered businesses must display and quote prices inclusive of GST to the public.
If both GST-inclusive and GST-exclusive prices are displayed, the GST-inclusive price must be displayed at least as prominently as the GST-exclusive price."

Source: https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/goods...-record-keeping/displaying-and-quoting-prices

if I report them to IRAS, then what for we pay taxes for the IRAS occifer salaries?

IRAS should go around enforcing this rule and not jlb wait for public to do their work

DarkStarer

You can actually report them to the IRAS.

By right, " GST-registered businesses must display and quote prices inclusive of GST to the public.
If both GST-inclusive and GST-exclusive prices are displayed, the GST-inclusive price must be displayed at least as prominently as the GST-exclusive price."

Source: https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/goods...-record-keeping/displaying-and-quoting-prices

Also from iras website:

Exception to the requirement to display GST-inclusive prices

An exception is granted to hotels and food & beverage (F&B) establishments that impose service charge on their goods and services. They are not required to display GST-inclusive prices to ease their operations.

elephanne

Chiu also can check if they registered for gst registration number bo, if not can report say them cheating. Not ebery shop has the capability to charge chiu gst.

fluid_motion

Also from iras website:

An exception is granted to hotels and food & beverage (F&B) establishments that impose service charge on their goods and services. They are not required to display GST-inclusive prices to ease their operations.

However, they must still display a prominent statement informing customers that the prices displayed are subject to GST and service charge.

Please note that the exception does not apply to hotels and F&B establishments that do not impose a service charge. It is also not applicable to F&B establishments that levy a nominal service charge without genuine business reasons other than to avoid displaying GST-inclusive prices. Such businesses are still required to display GST-inclusive prices. Those who do not comply with the price display requirement could be subject to a fine.

tokiya

Also from iras website:

you Cafe shop owner?

why chiu keep defending this type of scam?

they show menu price need indicate haven’t add gst but I already see a few cafes no asterisk no ++

Bardiel

u got go enlighten the shop that charge u gst for the price they stated?

DarkStarer

I queue so long to buy

then at cashier realize still got extra gst

all the xmm queuing behind me

if I tell them I don’t buy Liao because of gst

lose face and all the xmm will laugh at me

so no choice pay gst

if this is not a scam I don’t know what is

A $5 coffee is $0.35 gst.
I suggest if you're so affected by the 35c, just go kopitiam drink coffee can alr

tomsss

how is this not a scam?

simple minds indeed this TS :s13:

networked

you Cafe shop owner?

they show menu price need indicate haven’t add gst but I already see a few cafes no asterisk no ++
its not even a defence. teaching what is legal . plus good will civil duty of spoon feeding a fellow ts too chicken to ask the store attendent.

Its actually illegal if the items' displayed price does not include GST.

Hainan story or a similar soundingl coffeeshop does this. They only include gst in the final billing.

DarkStarer

you Cafe shop owner?

I feel you have a point. It can get somewhat confusing, but i won't go so far as to call it a scam.

You can write in to IRAS cc Lawrence Wong and see what they reply. They have been changing laws quite frequently these days so it's good that you bring it up for their consideration.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.