scam victim..... almost

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

hygge island

Share a little story with all of you that happened to me this afternoon.. I still dont know what to make out of all this. I think it is a scam but I got lucky.
I think I will backtrack to where it all begins, please bear w me.

Early Oct 2018
- got a wechat invite from a gal from China. Look at the picture, looks syt, so anyhow accept lor. I figured ... no risk, get to look at their wechat activities, sometimes got pretty gal pics... if they start offering service or ask me to send money, I will delete. I dont think I am so dumb to fall into scams to send money. We started with simple greetings, ask her where she got my nos, she claim to study in NUS in past and worked at SGX.. now back in Guangzhou with clothing store. Anyway, we chat about simple superficial stuff, so i thought nothing of it. My work is busy, so daily I get those "Good morning" messages which I assumed she is those kind of people who will group text everyone in her contact list. I didn't bother to reply most times and she also didn't made further communication.

Mid Oct, on a Monday
Its one of those unproductive work day, where customer wants a final negotiation meeting and wants senior management to show face. Since its a big project, I flew to KL to show face. After 2 hours meeting, left and went to Mitsui Outlet mall to eat and relax while waiting for evening flight back to SG. Since very free, I saw the "good afternoon" message and went to text her. We start talking about stock market, she seem quite knowledgeable.

Nov and Dec went past, uneventful with occasional texts. Once she asked if I can trade overseas stocks, I said I used IBKR. She screenshot what platform she used (i dont remember which) and ask me to screenshot mine. I find it weird but compile and remove sensitive info such as account nos, name, $).

In Jan, she throws me a tip. I didnt buy since I am those sort of people who mainly buy blue chips, bonds and etf. But I did look up the stock counter. And indeed, it went up by double digit %. Couple of days later, another stock counter. With retrospective, lucky its HKSE, when I dont trade in and hate to have too many currencies to manage.

Yesterday, she told me she got huat tips. And ask me to buy. Since she seem so nice to give me huat tips, I said ok, without any intention to actually buy. Then she ask me how much I wanna buy, I said a couple of thousand. Then she say not enough, I should sell my SG stocks if i dont have enough funds. Woooo.. so again, rather busy with work, so I say ok, I will use some of my war chest to buy 50-60k, without real intention of doing.

This morning, again the usual good morning, and then ask me if I have my funds ready? I begin to suspect. Even if someone is friendly and wanna share huat tips, why so persistent? But on the other hand, I was thinking, this is a regulated stock market, how can she scam me? And I am only small fry. So I ask which counter. She say, she hasn't receive news from her uncle yet.

Stock counter: 08210 on HKSE
At 1505hrs, she ask me to start buying 08210.. I was having a meeting with my team, so I did not even look at the messages. At 1510hrs, she literally called my mobile phone via wechat! Considering that we have never met, never spoke, she called me just to ask me to buy the counter?! But as office head, I couldn't just close the meeting for personal reasons. So I told her that I am in meeting and talk later. Her Messages kept flooding in. At this moment, more angry than suspicious. But since she is so accurate previously, I tot I dump 2k SGD to play. I ended my meeting at 1520hrs. Took a quick look at the counter, and key in to buy 20000 shares at 0.62 at 1528hrs. I was careless and did not realize that I was looking at delayed prices. but thankfully, the mechanism gave me the market price of 0.42 at the precise moment of 1528hrs. With retrospective, the counter 08210 has been fluctuating at 0.62 the whole morning, and crashed at 1523hrs by 32%. It continued to drop lowest to 0.38 (39% crash). When I realized that I was not looking at live prices and the crash was so significant, I start recalling those HK stock market movies of how scams by organized crime group works. I was consoling myself, ok lah, I only put 2k sgd. Then it rebounded a bit and amazingly, I caught a good moment to sell it off at 0.51 at 15.54hrs. So I exit with a net $300 SGD gain... I went to thank her...

( Hmm.. I dont have HKD in IBKR, but I bought and sold the same day.. wonder if I get charged with interest? )

But she insisted that I do a screenshot of my trades. I was still in a daze of all that happened within the mere 20-30 minutes, so I was still being nice. Since I bluff her about the amount that I bought, i photoshop my trade from 20000 shares to 200000 shares.. LOL...:s13:

Half hour later, trading ended, I looked at the graph and started to realize that at those moments that she was asking me to buy, I could have bought at 0.62 and suffered the big crash. But luckily, I was busy and bought much later than she has asked me to. She congratulated me for making the trades and claimed that she bought at 0.62 and still holding?!

I have deleted and blocked her...

havetheveryfun

not sure why you would want to bother to screenshot your brokerage details to her. would just ask her to come out face to face if she want to see :s13:

also may be she really enjoy talking to people about stocks and what happened was just a coincidence. but i guess even as an office head, most of us can fall prey to thinking with our little head...

Linguist

not sure why you would want to bother to screenshot your brokerage details to her. would just ask her to come out face to face if she want to see :s13:

also may be she really enjoy talking to people about stocks and what happened was just a coincidence. but i guess even as an office head, most of us can fall prey to thinking with our little head...

He mentioned she said she staying at china now.

Penny stocks so risky...

jasonlim1988

Why block. Agenda still unknown. Can use her to kill some time. I also can read some story lol

Mr.Canberra

Hahaha you just met a '东方华尔街' syndicate member! :s13:

trading%2Bfloor.jpg

omegawatch

At first I thought it's those stories where they sent 100 people, half predict rise, the other half predict fall, and you will get 50% right, and keep going where you finally will have some suckers who think you are consistenly 100% right.
But yes, I have encountered a few 'syt' who wanted me to trade. But I never did so. Lots of scams in wechat, many of the syt profiles are fake anyway.

hygge island

Hahaha you just met a '东方华尔街' syndicate member! :s13:

LOL, I watch the entire season 1 of 东方华尔街 on SQ KrisWrold while flying to Europe... indeed, the methods are similar to the movies. Another movie that came to my mind was 私人会所, similar methodology.

Jokes aside.. I tried making the story lighthearted with the syt, but curiosity rather than "syt" or "greed" made me followed through the development of this saga. If I want syt, I have plenty of opportunities with my group of business associates who ask me to travel to "Danshui, Huizhou" with them. But that another story for another forum... LOL.

I had a chat with my ah tiong buddy and he told me quite common in China. They do background checks of networth blah blah... but they forget to do character check on me. I track all my transactions on excel, strategize my credit card spend for max cashback, loop my war chest around esaver, SSB, temasek bond, maxigain for best i/r plus my kiasu, kia-see singaporean super power, etc.. quite difficult to scam me leh.. :s22:

Anyway, sharing the story just to show other folks that these syndicates are real. With some luck, exit with net gain of $300 because i was all along skeptical. Sharing my lesson learned.

Geeezz

let’s say u are made a loss n u also nt using her platform, where ish the scam ar? to build trust first then later ask fr huge sum to “invest”? sounds like a lot of effort wor

dork32

dont understand where the scam is.

you buy your own shares, sell your own shares. whatever you do, money did not go to her pocket. you lose or win also not her problem.

Linguist

i know. but she will come back to sg one ma most likely if what she say is true. then only show her that time loh...

Last(HKD) 0.335 -0.130 (27.957%)
Range 0.310-0.445

Dropped again.
I'm more curious about her "Uncle" background. Can get tips one.

If she really bought at 60+ cents. She can't come back to SG liao =:p.
Unless she bought trade in "sell" position.

Mr.Canberra

LOL, I watch the entire season 1 of 东方华尔街 on SQ KrisWrold while flying to Europe... indeed, the methods are similar to the movies.

Andy Lau already announced he will be producing Season 2. Can't wait for the next installment. Very exciting trading plot. :s13:

hygge island

dont understand where the scam is.

you buy your own shares, sell your own shares. whatever you do, money did not go to her pocket. you lose or win also not her problem.

let’s say u are made a loss n u also nt using her platform, where ish the scam ar? to build trust first then later ask fr huge sum to “invest”? sounds like a lot of effort wor

I agreed with u. That was why I was so curious. Until now, I not 100% sure if its a scam. My ah tiong friend gave me the same explanation as the scheme I saw in the 2 movie/show (东方华尔街, and 私人会所). You probably understand better if u watch the show.

But in my very basic understanding, these syndicates thru multiple accts control >20% of shares floating. Unlike company appointment holders, they are free to trade without declaring. They create interest in the company for common folks to buy, while they offload the shares without causing the price to drop as dramatically as when there are no news/interest abt the company.
Sounds very drama.. i brushed it off as movie stories in past, but maybe there are some truth in these schemes now that I think i witness one unfold with my eyes? :s11:

shuvit

Near miss .. thanks for share

Sent from Xiaomi POCOPHONE F1 using GAGT

Linguist

I agreed with u. That was why I was so curious. Until now, I not 100% sure if its a scam. My ah tiong friend gave me the same explanation as the scheme I saw in the 2 movie/show (东方华尔街, and 私人会所). You probably understand better if u watch the show.

But in my very basic understanding, these syndicates thru multiple accts control >20% of shares floating. Unlike company appointment holders, they are free to trade without declaring. They create interest in the company for common folks to buy, while they offload the shares without causing the price to drop as dramatically as when there are no news/interest abt the company.
Sounds very drama.. i brushed it off as movie stories in past, but maybe there are some truth in these schemes now that I think i witness one unfold with my eyes? :s11:

But before that counter drop, the previous 2 tips she gave the counters rose.
Not every tip is sure win also. If like that all the millionaires over the world liao.

Maybe she tio scam by "Uncle" too.

alexchia01

This is the pump and dump strategy. Run by syndicate.

They buy at the low and then spread news to encourage others to buy high. Once the price get high enough, they dump all their stocks and the last one to buy got stuck.

The syt may be not only ask you to buy, but lots of other people to buy as well. She may have dump at 0.60+. Why tell you she brought at 0.60+? So, she can trick you again in the future.

Don't look down on this strategy. They can make millions with just one dump and it's very difficult to catch them.

A pump and dump stocks may takes several months to pump before they dump. To win in pump and dump strategy, you must buy when they are buying, at the low. Once they start asking others to buy, it's already too late.

Dividends Warrior

This is the pump and dump strategy. Run by syndicate.

They buy at the low and then spread news to encourage others to buy high. Once the price get high enough, they dump all their stocks and the last one to buy got stuck.

The syt may be not only ask you to buy, but lots of other people to buy as well. She may have dump at 0.60+. Why tell you she brought at 0.60+? So, she can trick you again in the future.

Don't look down on this strategy. They can make millions with just one dump and it's very difficult to catch them.

A pump and dump stocks may takes several months to pump before they dump. To win in pump and dump strategy, you must buy when they are buying, at the low. Once they start asking others to buy, it's already too late.

Wolf of Wall Street :s13:

SibehEng

Actually if u look at the price movement of this stock. At around 27 dec is was around 0.27. They would have probably bought at the lowest.

Activate their advanced soldiers to buy.. it actually shoot up to 0.5 plus nxt few days.. and u are probably the last batch to kio the sai.. if u are graded as the early soldier u probably would have make a killing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.