SCB credit cards annual fee waiver

reddevil0728

Have been a priority customer for at least 15 years. This year didn’t use the priority VI card at all so SC refused to waive the annual fee. Cancelled the card and transferred all my money to another bank.
Sounds mutual between both parties

cryn79

Last week, my SC spree annual fee waiver was declined. My spending was abt $1xx / mth. After further review from the CSO, they gave a final decision to bill me the annual fee. Therefore, I decided to cancel the card and end my 10+yrs relationship with SC. No sweat.

reddevil0728

Last week, my SC spree annual fee waiver was declined. My spending was abt $1xx / mth. After further review from the CSO, they gave a final decision to bill me the annual fee. Therefore, I decided to cancel the card and end my 10+yrs relationship with SC. No sweat.
Sounds like mutual.

they don’t want to waive you don’t wish to pay.

Jonlim1196

SC refused my online application for annual fee wavier and I wanted to cancel the card only to be prompted that there is outstanding charges (Annual fees only). How do you cancel it?

elvintay07

Have been a priority customer for at least 15 years. This year didn’t use the priority VI card at all so SC refused to waive the annual fee. Cancelled the card and transferred all my money to another bank.
Got balls. I respect and like your style.

elvintay07

Singapore very spoil for choices. The top tier card holders with $200k per annum type are paying to buy miles. But the usual clients all don’t want to pay annual fees. Like that of course they don’t need ppl who don’t want to pay

reddevil0728

Singapore very spoil for choices. The top tier card holders with $200k per annum type are paying to buy miles. But the usual clients all don’t want to pay annual fees. Like that of course they don’t need ppl who don’t want to pay
ya lor. is mutual

iCubes

If most banks are waiving your CC fees, it will make you will feel stupid for paying for this one when you don't see any additional value or benefits over the rest.

limster

Many ppl paid but those are $120-500k entry card. Got many perks. I think quite worth
do you pay credit card fees, and can you show me your thinking/calculation why its quite worth, compared to the credit cards where waiver is easy?

i don't pay for credit card fees. if cannot waive or no lifetime fee waiver, i don't want.

elvintay07

Usually my mental model is can consider buying miles when 1 mile cost $0.015. Take for example 37,000 miles is a 1 way business class to Cheng Du or Guang Zhou. Return is 74,000 miles ($1110). The rest cost of a business class ticket from SG to Guangzhou is $2,500. So you save ~ $1,400. First class you probably save more

My wife and I only use 1 main credit card. We have another 1 credit card as backup. The 2nd credit card is also a card my wife gave my parents to use.

Because we only have 1 card, bank always give us waiver. The 2nd card most of the time also got waived. The 2nd card typically didn’t spend much but still got free waiver. Maybe is because my wife has some investment with the banks so they close 1 eye.

~sabaisabai~

do you pay credit card fees, and can you show me your thinking/calculation why its quite worth, compared to the credit cards where waiver is easy?

i don't pay for credit card fees. if cannot waive or no lifetime fee waiver, i don't want.
same here, i do not pay credit card fees
once waiver rejected, i will cancel the card
like @reddevil0728 mentioned, depending on lifestyle

MachidLdL

Pissed off sia... Sorry to bump this post... Decline both app n phone caller thru automatic voice command.. Try to cancel the card thru app also cannot say need pay up outstanding first then can cancel... Wah lau ...

How ar? U all just pay up?

limster

same here, i do not pay credit card fees
once waiver rejected, i will cancel the card
like @reddevil0728 mentioned, depending on lifestyle

I am interested to know who pays fees because of 'lifestyle'. So far, no one in the forum has admitted that they do so.... so is reddevil imagining a fictional person who does this for 'lifestyle?'

If I were to imagine someone who would be forced to pay fees, maybe they are on (i) instalment plan or

(ii) have big credit card debt - because they are trapped and locked in... or

(iii) lost their job or "FIRE" and no dividend income to apply for new card, so no choice stick to whatever card they have?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.