SCMP - Tourists turn Singapore Changi Airport into ‘sleeper village’, slammed for tarnishing image

CCCustom

It may become a norm if the airport dun do anything about it.
Hate to break it to you, but that ship has long sailed bruh.

The only reason why this is not happening all the time is because the AMDKs who do this, aren’t coming to S’pore all the time … it’s only during the periods of events like F1 where they will travel here in such numbers to slum up the airport.

That’s why nothing will be done.

Medicated Oil

Hate to break it to you, but that ship has long sailed bruh.

The only reason why this is not happening all the time is because the AMDKs who do this, aren’t coming to S’pore all the time … it’s only during the periods of events like F1 where they will travel here in such numbers to slum up the airport.

That’s why nothing will be done.
You forget that the tiongs are still coming over.

hardindex

Wahh.. South China Morning Post sooo concerned about Changi Airport image.Lol
According to the South China Morning Post (SCMP), Singapore Changi Airport was named the World's Best Airport in 2025, reclaiming the top spot, while Hong Kong International Airport ranked sixth in the same awards. Hong Kong also won an award for having the world's best airport immigration services.

• World's Best Airport 2025: Singapore Changi Airport
  • Hong Kong's rank: Sixth best airport terminal in the world
  • Hong Kong's other award: World's best airport immigration services
The rankings are based on votes cast by 13 million air travelers.

consigliere

problem is changi airport make most benches unable to lie flat on it. so now happy lah, everyone just lie flat on the floor 🥴

they should have area for passengers to rest while waiting for check-in
There’s hotel nearby for that purpose

madcampus

Why so xia suay, own house issue not reported in EDMW or Reddit first but SCMP got the first scoop.
https://www.scmp.com/news/people-cu...port-sleeper-village-slammed-tarnishing-image

This is the best airport in the world!! We shall not allow anyhow sleeping on it's premises!! We need to activate security officers to kick these low-ses tourists to not sleep. Want to sleep, go book a hotel!! No money for hotel, don't ever come to Singapore!!! You are not welcome!! :mad:

moonlighter_sg

maybe a few of them are the homeless sinkies... or could be kids running away from home.

Apparatus

Got free aircon can coon song song mah. No need to pay rent.

I think rent my whole HDB out, build basha and coon at Changi Airport ah

:D

eeLoyH

To a certain extent this is what happened when your hotels cost 300-1000 a night and you want to be a transport hub where everyone transfers here.

They enforce and then rep goes out of the window. Difficult one

Gonjeng

These are actually rough sleepers.

Not those homeless relabeled as such by the 154th.

HelloWorld123

Why so xia suay, own house issue not reported in EDMW or Reddit first but SCMP got the first scoop.
https://www.scmp.com/news/people-cu...port-sleeper-village-slammed-tarnishing-image

Staying at transit area until the next boarding flight is a norm for all airport and for since civilian travel begins in the 1950s.
Changi airport being a big trans hub, will therefore has more stop over passenger.

SCMP has a slanted view and try to paint Sinagpore airport in a bad light in the global space.

Try to read between the lines and compare facts, before echoing slanted view that damage the country.

CCCustom

You forget that the tiongs are still coming over.
And someone already addressed this:

let me tell you, those AT who come SG more than willing and able to come up with your S$270 per night.. even bangala or indian will go out to find cheap hostel those 50 dollar kind.

only amdk will sleep in the airport like this... they don't know how to save, and they dont have much to spend.
This is largely an AMDK thing … if AT are the ones doing it you think SCMP will report? :wink:

Dinoboyboy

if these tourists are not spending then do f1 for fug.. :frown:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.