SCMP - Why Singaporeans are flocking to Malaysia’s Johor for food and leisure

Hyruga

Now more convenient to go lo without the need to chop passport. But waiting is still long at buses and causeway.

Everything is about pain. If you make it less painful (less cost or less time), more people will go la

neutralph

i think RTS will singlehandedly crash/crush the entire SG retail sector

but cant blame others for choosing to spend more time travelling to JB or Batam for shopping

coz SG is simply too expensive alr
Provided traffic is constantly smooth. But realistically speaking I bet it will. Won't be like hk/Shen Zhen scenario anytime soon.

Slow death for local retail

leonaheidern

er legit the Chinese Cantonese and hokkien food still got the old time taste la vs what is left in Singapore

the waiting time cmi though at the Malaysian customs.

IAmChiobu12M

https://www.scmp.com/week-asia/life...are-flocking-malaysias-johor-food-and-leisure

===============================================================================================

Every month, Rachel Tan, a 53-year-old Singaporean tutor, boards a bus across the 1km (0.6 mile) causeway for a day trip to Malaysia’s Johor state, where she stocks up on groceries and treats herself to lunch and a film.

Thanks to streamlined immigration procedures, she rarely needs to present her passport, using a QR code to pass the checkpoint before catching a complimentary shuttle bus that whisks her to R&F Mall.

The entire day out, including shopping, typically costs her about 300 ringgit (US$70) – a fraction of the price for a similar experience in Singapore.

“Since I need to go somewhere to relax on my off day, why not go somewhere where it is more affordable?” she told This Week in Asia, noting that her 10-ringgit cinema ticket would be unheard of back home, where watching a film often costs five times as much.

“To me, it isn’t any trouble at all. Once I cross the customs, everything is easy,” Tan added.

066dd450-a01b-4eff-9676-1e604281340e_cf061601.jpg
Today wanted go in. Knn reach woodlands bus stop realised sibei long q. U turn lol.

yokine3a

but we cant blame people for choosing to spend more time travelling to JB or Batam for shopping

i may also to rush to JB after RTS is operational. go straight to bukit indah or tebrau to do shopping.
I may do the same too, even though I haven't been to JB for decades. Just to ssll 🤔

Ethan_

Now more convenient to go lo without the need to chop passport. But waiting is still long at buses and causeway.

Everything is about pain. If you make it less painful (less cost or less time), more people will go la
Does that mean no need to do passport liao. If just going MY?

trento

Been reading got rape cases in Malaysia. Just be careful especially for a gal

jq75

https://www.scmp.com/week-asia/life...are-flocking-malaysias-johor-food-and-leisure

===============================================================================================

Every month, Rachel Tan, a 53-year-old Singaporean tutor, boards a bus across the 1km (0.6 mile) causeway for a day trip to Malaysia’s Johor state, where she stocks up on groceries and treats herself to lunch and a film.

Thanks to streamlined immigration procedures, she rarely needs to present her passport, using a QR code to pass the checkpoint before catching a complimentary shuttle bus that whisks her to R&F Mall.

The entire day out, including shopping, typically costs her about 300 ringgit (US$70) – a fraction of the price for a similar experience in Singapore.

“Since I need to go somewhere to relax on my off day, why not go somewhere where it is more affordable?” she told This Week in Asia, noting that her 10-ringgit cinema ticket would be unheard of back home, where watching a film often costs five times as much.

“To me, it isn’t any trouble at all. Once I cross the customs, everything is easy,” Tan added.

066dd450-a01b-4eff-9676-1e604281340e_cf061601.jpg
when mrt link is up, easier to go...

jb got more value for $$ expenses

articland05

i think RTS will singlehandedly crash/crush the entire SG retail sector

but cant blame others for choosing to spend more time travelling to JB or Batam for shopping

RTS is like giving msia another golden egg.
if I'm their minister will quickly seal the deal and complete the proj asap...

but they always like to play games and dilly dally...very stupid

formula

Was telling my friends on this. When the RTS is fully up & running, you can be sure Sg F&B and Retail can decline more than 20%

standarture

Ironically malaysians dont bother going back lol SG is like heaven for them. My malaysian friend only went to visit parents or settle some stuff.

ckt1978

wat to do. sg all familiar brands toh liao.
now all mala n hunan. now even see other provinces food here liao.
really little china liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.