Scoot or SQ

BusteR

About $500 difference for a family of 4
Any recent negative scoot news? read a few in 2025 but clean in 2026.

d3n

tiagong sometimes scoot will reschedule flight timing.

darcbleu

so far so good for me on Scoot. never kena those long long delay from BKK.

for me, savings is more important as this is only a less than 2 hours flight. your $500 can be used in BKK for more.

d3n

so far so good for me on Scoot. never kena those long long delay from BKK.

for me, savings is more important as this is only a less than 2 hours flight. your $500 can be used in BKK for more.
i take budget most time... :D

thai lion air or airasia... but land in Don Mueng Airport.

beanstalk6

With such short flight times, the cheapest will do for me. Secondary consideration is the flight schedule. I prefer Don Muang too for a family of 4, unless I am staying very near to the ARL station.

ApeTruelove

dmk much nearer to city but nowadays Thai airasia scale down to maybe 2-3 flights per day :(

d3n

dmk much nearer to city but nowadays Thai airasia scale down to maybe 2-3 flights per day :(
yah i cancel one of my flight that i supposed to bring my mum to go BKK.

my flight timing changed to 15 mins later and my mum flight rescheduled to afternoon and transit to KL before going to BKK...

jfalcon

Wow, the savings is definitely significant. (y)

Made a BKK visit back in earlier February via Scoot :

Pros :love:

• Sat on a A321neo on the way to BKK & A320neo back to SGP.
  • New plane smell, thick cushion comfy seats, individual air vents.
  • Had an empty middle seat to share with my travelling companion.

Cons :rolleyes:

• Couldn't connect to the in-flight Wireless even after following the seat pocket guide. Ah well, device detox & focus on looking out of the window.
  • Captain made announcement that due to February's Air Show 2026 airspace restrictions, we would arrive slightly later than the scheduled time arrival into SGP. This shows transparency & accountability of the pilots to provide timely updates to passengers.

Conclusion :cool:

• Made the decision to trial out Scoot after numerous flights on SQ to BKK.
  • This decision was led by having Scoot flight vouchers available to KrisFlyer members on their next Scoot bookings.
  • I am glad to have 1 x more choice option of airlines to bring my family on.

Depending on your family's schedule & co-operation, try to book the 1st available morning flight to BKK. Come back on the late afternoon flight to ensure a full day spent in BKK. Might have to arrange for the early morning transport from home to Changi Terminal 1 for 4 Paxs for the early morning flight but beats loitering at the empty retail & public areas in the Transit area. ;)

roborovsky

Your $500 diff includes baggage?
Family of 4 probably has more to bring, so need to take this into consideration.

darcbleu

ok booked scoot for family ~1.9k for 2 adult 2 children during june holidays
quite ex for Scoot but since this is last min booking for June holiday, guess not much choice.

we booked ours for June too on SQ way before for less than $250 per pax.

ApeTruelove

yah i cancel one of my flight that i supposed to bring my mum to go BKK.

my flight timing changed to 15 mins later and my mum flight rescheduled to afternoon and transit to KL before going to BKK...
And now Thai Airasia suspend DMK-SIN from 12th may to end june Jin jialat

ApeTruelove

quite ex for Scoot but since this is last min booking for June holiday, guess not much choice.

we booked ours for June too on SQ way before for less than $250 per pax.
I booked two weeks back for june around $330 :cry:

d3n

And now Thai Airasia suspend DMK-SIN from 12th may to end june Jin jialat
yah sia, in fact all flights around the region suspended, seems like they only flying out of KL only... then they choose this silly promotion to allow you 1 free cancellation.

froztheart

SQ can take if can get a good prices which happens occasionally.
Otherwise, just Scoot will be good enough, too short of a flight honestly...

alph4tang0

Same same but no same, one borrow pen smell nicer, the other no pen to borrow

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.