Screen burn in?

renfred89

Bro, I got this problem too. It appears to be just the cover sheet for the control centre having it. More like a software issue instead.

I think it’s because of the background you have?

manofsorrows

view an entirely black image or greyish image, can check for burn in ? like that the clock on the lock screen or at the top left and right corners will coz burn in?

szeli

what is yr wallpaper? it looks like normal translucent effect of control center

aztech44

Ok guys , called apple and verified with them that its bormal for OLED. :)

Conan1986

Ok guys , called apple and verified with them that its bormal for OLED. :)

as mentioned by VodkaPear, burn-in can't be captured in a screenshot.. if your screenshot is showing the "burn in" you're concerned with, its a software thing.

Burn-in is image retention on the physical hardware so it's not possible to show without using a camera to capture it

Jirachi

Screen burn-in is, take for example when you are playing a game for long hours on your phone. Sometimes when you are surfing pages with a white background, you can "see" the game UI ghosting on your screen.

It is a common problem for any OLED display. It happened to my Samsung Galaxy S5.

aztech44

as mentioned by VodkaPear, burn-in can't be captured in a screenshot.. if your screenshot is showing the "burn in" you're concerned with, its a software thing.

Burn-in is image retention on the physical hardware so it's not possible to show without using a camera to capture it

Noted. Maybe I’m just not use to OLED, same for the others. Thanks Vodkapear and the rest :)

aztech44

Screen burn-in is, take for example when you are playing a game for long hours on your phone. Sometimes when you are surfing pages with a white background, you can "see" the game UI ghosting on your screen.

It is a common problem for any OLED display. It happened to my Samsung Galaxy S5.

Ouch. Hopefully it doesnt happened to our ipx

renfred89

Hahas... it’s hilarious. People from Samsung camp had already grew out of this OLED colour tint issue and now iphone people are complaining in it.. it always show Apple fans are one step behind everything. Don’t bomb me cos I’m using iPhone X myself, coming from s8+ and it’s a pleasant experience thus far.. lol

szeli

Hahas... it’s hilarious. People from Samsung camp had already grew out of this OLED colour tint issue and now iphone people are complaining in it.. it always show Apple fans are one step behind everything. Don’t bomb me cos I’m using iPhone X myself, coming from s8+ and it’s a pleasant experience thus far.. lol

grew out meaning grew to accept or u mean Samsung AMOLED phones dun have e tint characteristics? Note8 n S8 still has this issue. I just saw both in Challenger yesterday.

charleslin

Because it's the first time Apple is really using OLED so this issue is brought to awareness by those people, can't really blame them.

renfred89

grew out meaning grew to accept or u mean Samsung AMOLED phones dun have e tint characteristics? Note8 n S8 still has this issue. I just saw both in Challenger yesterday.

I meant, back then there was a lot of hooha but now, all quiet quiet Liao.. people get to accept to the flaw OLED is giving and appreciate the goodness of it..

There is no way you can keep exchanging phones or harping on it cos it’s a known flaw. Manufacturers will try to appease you guys with software tweaks but at the end of the day, we just need to move forward..

Of cos some are really yellow or blue ttm due to manufacturing fault.

For now, I’m contented with my iPhone X. And I’m holding on to my s8+ too..

kenchi

Gg OLed sucks lor until samsung can fix or make it more lasting but I saw Oppo on LCD got burn in too so I suppose it's the quality

Snoweagle

The OLED is indeed made by Samsung but colour calibrated by Apple themselves. Honestly speaking, the OLED colour rendering on the X is outstanding, compared to Samsung's which is over-saturated.

renfred89

The OLED is indeed made by Samsung but colour calibrated by Apple themselves. Honestly speaking, the OLED colour rendering on the X is outstanding, compared to Samsung's which is over-saturated.

Over saturation is individual dependent cos all of us can see colours differently.. I feel that Samsung has done a good job in its adaptive display, whereas Apple only recently introduced True Tone display on iPad this year..

I hope Apple can further enhance the colour saturation or allow us to tweak a bit more..

Snoweagle

Over saturation is individual dependent cos all of us can see colours differently.. I feel that Samsung has done a good job in its adaptive display, whereas Apple only recently introduced True Tone display on iPad this year..

I hope Apple can further enhance the colour saturation or allow us to tweak a bit more..

I've seen too much of Samsung's OLED over a long period - Colleagues/friends phones and display models in shops, didn't like the over-saturation. It's a bit too much for me.

Jirachi

Ouch. Hopefully it doesnt happened to our ipx
Yeah, hopefully, it will not, but you do not really notice it until you actually go and strain your eyes for it.

When it's screen off, you do not see it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.