Seasonic PSU recurring bootloop again.

Nickzz

Seasonic PSU recurring bootloop again?

Having this problem since a few days back where i press the power button and the com starts up and then goes into an endless bootloop by itself, on off on off without reaching post.
Have to power off, wait for a long time then it'll boot up normally.

Nothing wrong with pc as far as i have checked, individual items are fine.

Running current specs if it is needed

I7 4700K, stock, no OC.
ASUS Z87 plus
MSI R9 390 TF
Seasonic X1000W Platinum

Been working fine for 1-2 years after the previous gold x1050w seasonic psu i had exchanged twice, had the same problem.

ZrE0_Cha0s

maybe its time to buy a new psu :D

xchange so many times but it still having the same issues, but did u tried other psu and see?

Nickzz

maybe its time to buy a new psu :D

xchange so many times but it still having the same issues, but did u tried other psu and see?

Wah hope that is not the case leh, no marnee hoot.:(. Thought seasonic quite good, got ppl reccomend to buy then now so headache.

Nope, no other psus on me, can't test.

Nickzz

added a video i took just now.

I tried changing outlets, move pc to another room to test, nope, still same issue.

ZrE0_Cha0s

Wah hope that is not the case leh, no marnee hoot.:(. Thought seasonic quite good, got ppl reccomend to buy then now so headache.

Nope, no other psus on me, can't test.

have u tried sending your whole pc down to ask corbell to help u diagnose?

as for your video the sound when u turn on sounds abit creepy, like some fans got sucks or other else is making the sound.

Nickzz

have u tried sending your whole pc down to ask corbell to help u diagnose?

as for your video the sound when u turn on sounds abit creepy, like some fans got sucks or other else is making the sound.

Dunno leh, diff brands not under them can meh? Asus mainboard etc :s11:

The sound is the fan power on and off, everything in the pc on/off. Can't be good for the components right? :(

ZrE0_Cha0s

Dunno leh, diff brands not under them can meh? Asus mainboard etc :s11:

The sound is the fan power on and off, everything in the pc on/off. Can't be good for the components right? :(

well u can try asking to see if they allows it or not. cos that time i when to convergent to rma my ram i saw a guy bring his whole pc and his mobo isnt evga (cant really rmb) and see if really is it their psu issues or your mobo.

else u can go sls and look for nigel and ask him to help u check.

Nickzz

well u can try asking to see if they allows it or not. cos that time i when to convergent to rma my ram i saw a guy bring his whole pc and his mobo isnt evga (cant really rmb) and see if really is it their psu issues or your mobo.

else u can go sls and look for nigel and ask him to help u check.

checked the mobo alr with asus, that one is working fine.:(
Only thing i noticed is that it happens more frequently on colder days when it start to happen. But strange because last year is working fine even when during dec period.

Koenig168

It's highly unlikely you have four bad Seasonic PSUs in a row. I would suggest you try reseating the RAM and replace the CMOS battery.

Nickzz

It's highly unlikely you have four bad Seasonic PSUs in a row. I would suggest you try reseating the RAM and replace the CMOS battery.

Did so already. I took out the ram, cleaned and inserted, tried booting with 1 stick, still same problem.

watzup_ken

I agree. It's possibly a sign that the problem lies elsewhere.

watzup_ken

And by the way, I noted that you are using an Asus board. Twice I used an Asus board,each time I will run into this boot loop problem at some stage. In both cases, I had to RMA the mobo at Ban Leong then. I think it is worthwhile checking other parts since 4 PSU changes did not solve the problem.

Nickzz

I agree. It's possibly a sign that the problem lies elsewhere.

I also dunno. If the problem lies elsewhere then wouldn't the replacement psu not work as well? o_O

Its been normal so far until now.

Nickzz

And by the way, I noted that you are using an Asus board. Twice I used an Asus board,each time I will run into this boot loop problem at some stage. In both cases, I had to RMA the mobo at Ban Leong then. I think it is worthwhile checking other parts since 4 PSU changes did not solve the problem.

I brought to ban leong they say mobo no problem leh. Gpu i just bought also, same bootloop thing happen to the 780 that i had last time. So not the gpu liao also

Could it be the 12v 5v rail having problem? The last time i replaced the psu x1050 ( posted in an old thread with a pic, dunno if can still find,the 12 and 3.3 rail voltages were out of spec.

Nickzz

20130706_002408.jpg

Found it from the old thread.

Current psu one is below

20161106_133627_HDR.jpg

ZrE0_Cha0s

it seems like your 3.3v and 5.5 is lower than standard. though...have u tried to remove your usb device beside mouse and keyboard and see?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.