Security Concern Over My Lost iPhone 4 Black

JoannaLydia

I lost my iPhone 4 recently, believe it could be a pick pocket - and have been very worried and bothered since.

The moment I realized it was lost, I called and obviously I couldn't call through anymore.

Now the thing is, I just wish the person wipes out the data and sell it. I have a lot of personal data - photos, chat logs, notes in which if the person is malicious, he / she can still manipulate. But losing it is my own fault I know.

I have a passcode lock and it's set to immediately require passcode and 1 minute interval phone sleep. However, I have learned that it is possible to bypass the passcode. I even called those ah beng shop and was told it can be done - so long as I bring down and let them try.

Now, what are the chances of someone trying to break into my phone to go through my stuff versus wiping it out and selling it?

On another note, there are a lot of postings in the mobile bazaar forum section, selling phones and stating that the IMEI don't match the box's one / phone comes without box. Dodgy or not ah? Are there really a lot lot of phones stolens and get resold?

Thoughts for me, anyone?

deep3lue

Sorry to hear that but the reality is, you have to pray and hope that the person is just interested in wiping the phone and use it personally.

There is nothing you can do at the moment other than to remote wipe the phone if possible.

Make a police report so that the IMEI is registered in their database in the meantime.

DarkBlue

Too much hassle to crack the code.

There are 10,000 combination.

Maybe the person just wipe & use.

Don't need to waste time report police for petty crime or losing the phone due to your own mistake. I got report before my phone kena snatch & run, hmm... like 13 years ago ?

konglai

Latest ios 6.1.3? No worries. Chances are its already wipe and restore. Hassle to crack even for expert. Not worth unless you are their primary target.

the-alchemist

IMEI don't match box is legit. Refurbished iPhones that were 1-to-1'ed with telcos are like that.

JoannaLydia

use find my iphone and click on erase phone.

- @xDarkJo Done that. Thanks..

Sorry to hear that but the reality is, you have to pray and hope that the person is just interested in wiping the phone and use it personally.

There is nothing you can do at the moment other than to remote wipe the phone if possible.

Make a police report so that the IMEI is registered in their database in the meantime.

- @deep3lue Thanks, I suppose I've no control over it.. it's something I will never know. Just worried and can't let the idea go. Sigh.

Too much hassle to crack the code.

There are 10,000 combination.

Maybe the person just wipe & use.

Don't need to waste time report police for petty crime or losing the phone due to your own mistake. I got report before my phone kena snatch & run, hmm... like 13 years ago ?

- @DarkBlue You're right.. it's my mistake. But thanks I can only pray he wiped it and use or sold. And I will never see that phone again.. sniff.. however I'm just so worried and upset, can't believe how much this is bothering me. Thanks for your words though. I would like to think no one so free to invade my privacy.

Latest ios 6.1.3? No worries. Chances are its already wipe and restore. Hassle to crack even for expert. Not worth unless you are their primary target.

- @konglai I don't know what iOS I had leh, but I've updated, uh until no more red exclamation mark at the settings there. Does it mean it's 6.1.3? So what if it is or it isn't huh?

Thanks for your comforting words, hope this thief not too boliao to wanna kaypoh my privacy.. I am just really sad that I am so bothered by it, it may seem a small matter I know, but the consequences can be big, or sorta..

How to say, I just feel like I lost a part of me cos I entrusted everything there. EMAILS, CHATS, PHOTOS, FB Logins, ETC! But I've changed my passwords in case.. Now for the next phone, I will not have so much on it.

sex beedio?

- @smoothtalker No lah, crazy! But doesn't mean I don't need to worry simply cos nothing obscene there. But well, you should delete yours! Ha.

IMEI don't match box is legit. Refurbished iPhones that were 1-to-1'ed with telcos are like that.

- @the-alchemist Oh I didn't know. But when you give the telco for 1-to-1, no need to give them the box? When they give you the phone is just the phone itself? Just curious.

makav31i

- @xDarkJo Done that. Thanks..

- @deep3lue Thanks, I suppose I've no control over it.. it's something I will never know. Just worried and can't let the idea go. Sigh.

- @DarkBlue You're right.. it's my mistake. But thanks I can only pray he wiped it and use or sold. And I will never see that phone again.. sniff.. however I'm just so worried and upset, can't believe how much this is bothering me. Thanks for your words though. I would like to think no one so free to invade my privacy.

- @konglai I don't know what iOS I had leh, but I've updated, uh until no more red exclamation mark at the settings there. Does it mean it's 6.1.3? So what if it is or it isn't huh?

Thanks for your comforting words, hope this thief not too boliao to wanna kaypoh my privacy.. I am just really sad that I am so bothered by it, it may seem a small matter I know, but the consequences can be big, or sorta..

How to say, I just feel like I lost a part of me cos I entrusted everything there. EMAILS, CHATS, PHOTOS, FB Logins, ETC! But I've changed my passwords in case.. Now for the next phone, I will not have so much on it.

- @smoothtalker No lah, crazy! But doesn't mean I don't need to worry simply cos nothing obscene there. But well, you should delete yours! Ha.

- @the-alchemist Oh I didn't know. But when you give the telco for 1-to-1, no need to give them the box? When they give you the phone is just the phone itself? Just curious.

When you 1 to 1 exchange with telco, you just need to bring phone down...no need to bring a box...so if you did 1 to 1 exchange,there is no way the imei will match with that on the box...

JoannaLydia

Very siannnnn siannnnnn still, about the lost phone. Can't get over it. Angry. Wanna buy second hand also the price so high.

Scared to own an iPhone 5s now, too flashy later kenna pick pocket again!

liquidy

just be more cautious especially in crowded areas. I have a friend who kana in the MRT before, at cityhall. People was rushing to exit the train, and so everyone was pushing and body contact here and there. The next thing he knew, hp gone.

muddle

it doesn't matter what phone flashy or not. if u leave a nokia 3210 i bet people will still take it.

konglai

Yes, its does matter what ios version you are in. Some older version does have exploit that's able to bypass lock screen to access your info.
Anyway if you updated till no prompt from setting, should be fine.

Btw, latest iOS 7 is able to bypass lockscreen to access photo too.

surfers_

Better remote wipeout if you have sensitive and personal data. I was lucky as I lost my iPhone twice and it was returned to me.

herzog21

A decrypting device attached to iphone can crack the password in under 20 min as there are only 10,000 over possible combinations.

Any tom, dick, harry can easily get it provided you know the exact name of that device. IMO its easy to crack.

JoannaLydia

just be more cautious especially in crowded areas. I have a friend who kana in the MRT before, at cityhall. People was rushing to exit the train, and so everyone was pushing and body contact here and there. The next thing he knew, hp gone.

I believe that I am darn frigging sway lor. But yeah, I very careful now.. so scared.

JoannaLydia

A decrypting device attached to iphone can crack the password in under 20 min as there are only 10,000 over possible combinations.

Any tom, dick, harry can easily get it provided you know the exact name of that device. IMO its easy to crack.

HUH crap. Where have you heard / seen such technology work? Easy to obtain? I'm just hoping that the person wanna wipe and use / sell it. What's the odd of someone so bloooddy kaypoh until wanna crack it?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.