Seeking advice on engaging ID vs Direct Contractor

Dreambig

Background
I will be getting my resale HDB keys soon and have yet to decide on the use of IDs or direct contracting. Will be meeting some IDs that my friends has recommended, no lobang to meet Direct Contractor yet.

The scope of work will include full renovation of the house, including
  1. Cable laying, new power sockets and lighting points.
  2. Painting of the whole house. Install aircons for the rooms.
  3. Full renovation of the common and Master Bedroom (MBR) Toilets. Install water heater.
  4. Full renovation of kitchen.
  5. Hacking of wall between living room and kitchen. Removal of existing built in furnitures.
  6. Retain only
    • the flooring in living room, MBR and common room
    • the windows in kitchen and MBR
All the furnitures (Kitchen cabinets, room cupboards, TV Consoles etc) which i intended to use will not be built in (i.e no carpentry works) and all furnitures will be shiftable. I have a rough idea in mind on where the furnitures are to be placed.

I would like to liaise with one project manager for the whole renovation work instead of multiple contractors.

Questions
With these info in mind, as I think there are minimal interior design works,
  1. Will it be more worthwhile to go for ID or Direct Contractor?
  2. The cost difference in using ID instead of Direct Contractor should be about 10% to 15% range?

Thanks for your advice in advance! :D

natas

Background
I will be getting my resale HDB keys soon and have yet to decide on the use of IDs or direct contracting. Will be meeting some IDs that my friends has recommended, no lobang to meet Direct Contractor yet.

3. Full renovation of the common and Master Bedroom (MBR) Toilets. Install water heater.
  5. Hacking of wall between living room and kitchen. Removal of existing built in furnitures.
  6. Retain only
All the furnitures (Kitchen cabinets, room cupboards, TV Consoles etc) which i intended to use will not be built in (i.e no carpentry works) and all furnitures will be shiftable. I have a rough idea in mind on where the furnitures are to be placed.

I would like to liaise with one project manager for the whole renovation work instead of multiple contractors.

Questions
  2. The cost difference in using ID instead of Direct Contractor should be about 10% to 15% range?

I am currently renovating my house. I do not need much design but I need a Project Manager to manage everything......I am using a company, wife is the designer while husband is a handyman. :D Their cost is definitely lower than other IDs quotation. Guess most of the dirty stuffs will be done by the husband.

The wife manages and liaises with others, ie window grills installer and keep me update on the reno and what to do next. Another good about them, small small item, they will do it for free, example addition electrical switch.

Let them finish my reno. If they are good and if you are interested, I will connect u guys.

ZacharyA

Background

6. Retain only

Questions

1. It depends, ID doesn't necessarily means more expensive than direct contractor. For the avoidance of doubt, you are looking at a main contractor who will liaise with the sub contractors for you. There is no 1 contractor who can do all you mentioned.

2. The price quoted can be similar if an ID charge at 10-15% margin but main contractor charge at 25-30%. End up also not big diff. All things equal, chances are, main contractor will be cheaper. By how much I don't know, it really depends who you engage.

lousylah

The lines b/w ID and contractors have blurred over the yrs. There are contractors with “in-house designers”, there are IDs working/partnered with general contractor.

also your scope of work is not small by any means.

just go ahead to collect as many quotes as you can be it online, qanvast, referrals from friends/colleagues.

you will hear different (even conflicting) ideas and views from each company quoting. The tiring part is trying to sort out fact vs opinion (even outright falsehoods). Every reno is different because every homeowner has different expectations and requirements.

there will be extremes in the range of quotes as well. In the end its about who you feel you can trust as well as chemistry/dynamics - its a big project with many backs and forths, hours of consults, updates/hiccups/delays during actual work. If you are unable to communicate well with your PM/ID then it will be nightmare.

finally no reno will ever be PERFECT, there will always be hiccups, delays and regrets (buyers remorse). Have to be clear with yourself and your ID/PM what are your absolute MUST-HAVE (no compromise) during quotation and design phases. If that ID/PM do not agree on your MUST-HAVE during quotation then just drop them and move on. During reno focus on those MUST-HAVEs and empower your ID/PM to decide on-site/in-situ on other “smaller” decision/choices. Otherwise better be your own ID/PM. Lol.

obichacha

I compare from IDs and Contractor’s
The overall pricing just like ID more expensive for GST 8% while contractor cheaper than GST only.

For contractors , you can’t choose like kitchen , must be Blum system and all the hinge as well.
Contractor will advices you get the standard hinges and drawer tracks , also cut here and there’s.
After our final decision go with ID to make more sense, from starting coordination till final hand over.
Anything make wrong or issue just refer to the ID will works

I have photos, if you guys wish to have a looks for my current BTO

Mephist0pheLes

Jus completed my reno for a 4rm resale.

The prices i got from the IDs I enquired were around the range of 80k, while those from main contractors were about 60k.

I went with main contractor in the end bcos of the cheaper price, and also bcos i know what i wanted so i dun really need a 'designer'. but note that main contractors might not be able to provide u 3D drawings.

And i disagree with the above post that contractor means cannot choose ur parts. mine allowed, but u may have to buy them on ur own if the contractor dont supply them. but if say u wan blum system, check if their carpenter are qualified to install them (heard from my contractor that apparently there's some certification for installing blum or something).

Dreambig

I am currently renovating my house. I do not need much design but I need a Project Manager to manage everything......I am using a company, wife is the designer while husband is a handyman. :D Their cost is definitely lower than other IDs quotation. Guess most of the dirty stuffs will be done by the husband.

The wife manages and liaises with others, ie window grills installer and keep me update on the reno and what to do next. Another good about them, small small item, they will do it for free, example addition electrical switch.

Let them finish my reno. If they are good and if you are interested, I will connect u guys.
Thanks for your reply.

May I know when is your expected date of completion?

Dreambig

Jus completed my reno for a 4rm resale.

The prices i got from the IDs I enquired were around the range of 80k, while those from main contractors were about 60k.

I went with main contractor in the end bcos of the cheaper price, and also bcos i know what i wanted so i dun really need a 'designer'. but note that main contractors might not be able to provide u 3D drawings.

And i disagree with the above post that contractor means cannot choose ur parts. mine allowed, but u may have to buy them on ur own if the contractor dont supply them. but if say u wan blum system, check if their carpenter are qualified to install them (heard from my contractor that apparently there's some certification for installing blum or something).
Thanks for your reply.

Can PM me the contractor contact please?

sue86sue

If engage direct contractor instead of id company, any hacking is the contractor will apply permission from hdb or we need to apply ourselves?

elvintay07

Nowadays contractor can design and some designer worst than contractor. Must get reliable one. Best is to get those ID firm opened by architect. This kind confirm very safe

Earthisround

Background

6. Retain only

Questions

Can share your experience after work is done?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.