Seeking opinion for midlife career advice

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

Joseph12

What else.complain low salary why do so much..but I told them they agree on their salary then now bcos of the coy low balled them then I should not be their victim .. really no improvement.. knowledge stagnant and attitude turn worse..
Then its company problem not them.
SMEs don't think of career progression for staff. Sadder if its MNC

Think of them in their shoes
The 2000 pay is good when they joined but as they get older, it's sad and they know other companies paying them better

You can't say they agreed to 2000 then 3 years later, they should be happy cos they agreed

titheszai

Hi, i admire that you seem to genuinely care about your subordinates. I have some people management experience, here's my 2 cents.

Better to have heart to heart talk about the subordinate , give specific examples and make it clear that if he continues with such trajectory, he will loose his job. With his age and recession coming, won't be good for him.

In the same discussion, share what are the specific & quantifiable success criteria/goals he need to deliver and by when (timeline is super important), in order for him to save himself. Ask, what help does he need. After such discussion, he may start looking for another job or try to improve. On regular basis, revisit the goals with him again so both of you know what's the progress. But be fair too, if he met expectations then should let him stay.

Personally, i have let go several people in the past due to performance issues and indeed it felt cruel. But if their skillset/passion really doesn't match the job requirements, it's a drag for all parties.

Look at it this way, if you let him go, that means giving work opportunity for other job seeker.

Regarding you thinking of resigning, i suspect there are other contributing factors beyond the subordinate? Need some self reflection de, what do you actually want in life.

Do you have a passion project you want to work on outside work? Do you want to travel? Do you want higher pay & different settings? (Ps: I personally took 3 years career hiatus cause i want to take care of my kids.)

If your current company is still okay, can still progress in the next 5 years, then stay lah. Or at least only resign once you secure another job offer (might not as easy cause recession is coming, many coy has hiring freeze).

But whether you stay or resign, it should not be because of the subordinate. It has to be part of a bigger life plan that you have.

Hope that somewhat he helps.
Thanks for the advise man.
The coy did treat me well as I really sacrifice alot in my 20+ and early 30+.

The problem now is I need to fulfil my kpi set by the company and at the same time babysit my subordinate on their task.

Everytime when I am around their mind will switch off even I did taught them..they can forget immediately..when ppl don't want to learn it's very hard to force them..

Some task they can handle but it's not good enough as they need to take up responsibility..

As for myself I did put up my resignation during mid year . I highlighted to my boss I am overwork and stress out.He told me to give him sometime to hire more ppl in. I didn't tell him the actual problem as my subordinate might be badly affected.

Till date still not much improvement..task assigned will come back to me eventually..customer will look the experienced ppl in the company as usual.

Thought of tendering again this coming January..Sian

titheszai

And please la… don’t be so naive… if roles are reversed this WP foreigner sure pok u without a 2nd thought
Bro it sounds naive but I know their financial situation is real bad..if they are well to do I already ask for replacement..this cruel part I really can't execute it.. That's y intend to take a career break..

Joseph12

The problem now is I need to fulfil my kpi set by the company and at the same time babysit my subordinate on their task.

Everytime when I am around their mind will switch off even I did taught them..they can forget immediately..when ppl don't want to learn it's very hard to force them..

Some task they can handle but it's not good enough as they need to take up responsibility..

As for myself I did put up my resignation during mid year . I highlighted to my boss I am overwork and stress out.He told me to give him sometime to hire more ppl in. I didn't tell him the actual problem as my subordinate might be badly affected.

Till date still not much improvement..task assigned will come back to me eventually..customer will look the experienced ppl in the company as usual.

In such cases the onus and initiative is on you to motivate them
Whether by buying them treats or treating them as friends

However this doesn't work long term cos you're simply covering for your company's inadequacies
And after a while your subordinates will know you can't actually solve their problems or being actual friends .you'll feel helpless you can't increase their pay

Its easy for workers to screw you by taking leave during busy periods but if they think you're a good guy, they won't take leave and hurt you and will endure till they leave

I don't know why your workers can work like that unless its civil service
Probably your company will issue warning letters to lazy workers if they generally don't fire.people unless they do really crazy things

titheszai

In such cases the onus and initiative is on you to motivate them
Whether by buying them treats or treating them as friends

However this doesn't work long term cos you're simply covering for your company's inadequacies
And after a while your subordinates will know you can't actually solve their problems or being actual friends .you'll feel helpless you can't increase their pay

Its easy for workers to screw you by taking leave during busy periods but if they think you're a good guy, they won't take leave and hurt you and will endure till they leave

I don't know why your workers can work like that unless its civil service
Probably your company will issue warning letters to lazy workers if they generally don't fire.people unless they do really crazy things
Bcos usually before the complain stage the customers make known to us...usually it is filter/resolve by me and other senior..none will reach to boss stage..so boss will assume everything is fine..

Boss/customer will only find the reliable parties..hire ppl are easy.. fire ppl otherwise

blue00

Bro. Not troll thread. I am really in this situation. Those ppl i referring are in the age of 40+might not be able to find job outside..Thats why up till today i still didnt badmouth about them infront of my boss. It is these few years they become from bad to worse. Projects coming in and i need quality ppl to help.
how old r u then?

Joseph12

Bcos usually before the complain stage the customers make known to us...usually it is filter/resolve by me and other senior..none will reach to boss stage..so boss will assume everything is fine..

Boss/customer will only find the reliable parties..hire ppl are easy.. fire ppl otherwise
Like I said you just have to personally motivate them

They may view company & your boss as shite but if you separate yourself from the former, they don't want to put a friend like you in a bad position
Well, some would. But the rest won't

Its just human nature not to treat someone you know or someone who's treated you with kindness badly unless of course there's extenuating circumstances

qhong61

Hi all. I am approaching mid life career. Currently pretty stress out with my job as i am holding huge responsibility. My subordinates has been working quite a number of years but refuse to learn and make progress for themselves. Recently getting more rude and negative toward their simple task which i assign.

Should i make known to my boss about the actual issue or should i just leave the job and pursue new role ?

If i make known to my boss about this issue then my subordinates will probably ask to leave. I am afraid they might go jobless as unlikely will find another employment. They have families to feed. As for myself i am single and have enough saving to tide through.

Anyone care to share some experience and advices?
Made known.

gracehsu

You are too soft hearted to take on this management role. Another option for you is to talk to your boss to consider taking on a non management role. Even if you quit for another new job, please choose the non managerial track… I think you’ll be much happier

Don’t have to feel guilty if your subordinate loses his job.. he is already demotivated cos salary is very low so losing this job is no big deal to him.

thisisnotme1212

chius shlds bes honests tos the boss ands thes employees
theses issues ish verys commons ands happens everywheres everytimes
always haves expectations mismatchs :(

ifs the employees donts wants tos upskills, thens sees ifs companys cans keeps thems to continues doings whatevers theys alreadys doings

ifs companys wans tos pays peanuts tos hires a unicorns thens goods lucks tryings to finds a replacements :s13:

theres shlds bes a verbals warnings, letters of warnings befores firings.
unless chius ish elongs musks cans pays millions to fires staffs and stills keeps thems heypis fors thats :(

runforyourlife

Hi all. I am approaching mid life career. Currently pretty stress out with my job as i am holding huge responsibility. My subordinates has been working quite a number of years but refuse to learn and make progress for themselves. Recently getting more rude and negative toward their simple task which i assign.

Should i make known to my boss about the actual issue or should i just leave the job and pursue new role ?

If i make known to my boss about this issue then my subordinates will probably ask to leave. I am afraid they might go jobless as unlikely will find another employment. They have families to feed. As for myself i am single and have enough saving to tide through.

This is a problem nowadays in most places.

these staff take advantage of the situation and threaten to leave any old how or even blame you for not communicating with them.

always ensure your boss is acutely aware and supports u in this. Else you’ll be the one leaving which should not be the case.

they should be leaving and work towards that since they are young and shouldn’t outlast you.

lastly they are not gonna be worthy to the company and should be pointed the way out with their half fug attitude.

have everything recorded in writing.

runforyourlife

chius shlds bes honests tos the boss ands thes employees
theses issues ish verys commons ands happens everywheres everytimes
always haves expectations mismatchs :(

ifs the employees donts wants tos upskills, thens sees ifs companys cans keeps thems to continues doings whatevers theys alreadys doings

ifs companys wans tos pays peanuts tos hires a unicorns thens goods lucks tryings to finds a replacements :s13:

theres shlds bes a verbals warnings, letters of warnings befores firings.
unless chius ish elongs musks cans pays millions to fires staffs and stills keeps thems heypis fors thats :(
Not easy.

some of them are protected - they can be from mgmt programmes, they can be strawberries but had once showed they can do it.

remmeber as e boss if ppl keep leaving you, fingers will point at you.

new age mgmt meant that the higher up you go the more ‘bosses’ you have to deal with downwards.

doctorwho

what industry and role you are in?

Feel like you are in SME and suspect your position in company is declining, is this correct?

Sometimes have to watch out for your own benefit. As for your subordinates, they have to do their part to earn their livings also, cannot anyhow play punk.

vangug

39 this year
take care of yourself first... associates come and go... some more this WP said won't stay long but keeps getting renewed means they have no ability to go anywhere else. They either bend to the requirements or get booted out, save your efforts for the grateful. At this age, not easy to keep similar level of employment.

mskate88

If resources kept forgetting, build a process with documentation leh. Older resources sometimes a bit slower.

Regarding have to fix the quality etc, well... You are the manager. You must've gotten promoted because you can do a good job, so just be mentally prepared to clean up. It's not unique to you, in general it's like that de.

If your mind is set on resigning, then just plan for it. There's no guarantee the new job will be less stressful though. If you don't like managing people, then for the next job try to find a job that doesn't (or require less of) people management...

Thanks for sharing, this is the first time i heard a boss wants to quit because of their team 😂. Usually it's the other way around, lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.