Seletar Camp ICT

bobibobioh

Advice needed from buddies who did their ICT there recently, as I have never been to seletar for many years liao, heard now is 面目全非 compared to a decade ago

If I drive to ICT, where can I park? Last time still can park inside, now I heard cannot liao? Is it still free parking?

Heard the bus stop shifted further down the road? Have to walk far mah? If I don't drive, carry barang barang still walkable anot?

Thanks!

Kiwi8

Advice needed from buddies who did their ICT there recently, as I have never been to seletar for many years liao, heard now is 面目全非 compared to a decade ago

If I drive to ICT, where can I park? Last time still can park inside, now I heard cannot liao? Is it still free parking?

Heard the bus stop shifted further down the road? Have to walk far mah? If I don't drive, carry barang barang still walkable anot?

Thanks!

Basically the camp size has been reduced, so the front gate has been shifted further in.

Dun worry about parking, they will tell u where to park. As usual, remember not to park anywhere other than where they tell u to park.

As for bus, even 103 doesn't really stop close to the gate liao, but it's the only bus closest to the gate. Will still need some walking even for 103 lor.

derrickgoh

The camp has undergone many changes so I don't know how long ago you mean. Which year did you last go? That might help us in providing more specific assistance to you.

I went last year. Don't drive so can't comment about parking. It was my last ICT so I did not bother making a map. You best make a map unless your memory is super good and you can remember 1 year from now. I ORD in 1998 and first ICT was in 2002. The place has slowly changed over the years (making it more confusing for us who go back annually) and now it is TOTALLY different from then. The camp has basically shrunk inwards.

There used to be a small bus interchange outside the main gate. The interchange is gone now and the main gate no longer in use. Physically still there but no more in use. The mini canteen there is gone too.

The new main gate is further in now and closer to 35 SCE's gate. 103 used to drop off at the bus stop which was very near the new main gate. Now no more. Guess they figured it was too near for security reasons (possible bomb on bus?).

If you take 103 you need to drop off at the 2nd (or is it 3rd?) bus stop after the old main gate. If you see it turning left, means overshot liao so get off at the next stop and walk back if not you will end up at West camp. 103 no longer goes into East camp. If you get off at the correct bus stop, it should be easy seeing the new main gate 'cos its damn big and sure to have other people booking in. Best is catch the free shuttle service but I can't remember the timing.

If you used to report at the auditorium above the cookhouse (same floor as ENC), that has now moved as well. The new auditorium is near the new parade square which has those seats like stadium seating. SADA parade square, CCO Seletar canteen and the reservist bunks near CCO canteen are all history.

ENC, enlistee mess, cook house, 35 SCE canteen, barber and eMart have moved too. Can't remember the block number but its all consolidated in the same block. First floor is cookhouse and the eMart is hidden at one corner. Second floor is 35 canteen, barber and enlistee mess. Have no idea where ENC is but I suspect its in another block.

Spec mess & occifer mess still same place. Ah hoh is gone but the catfish which behave like piranha are still around. :s13:

Oh BTW you no longer do in-pro at the auditorium. You in-pro at another block before you gather at auditorium. Can't remember the in-pro block number so best is ask.

No one told us about the changes either and when we went there we just asked. I was lucky enough to bump into a chio bu DXO so just asked her and followed her. :s13:

Your bunks (assuming you stay in) are also in new blocks with the new training sheds. Medical centre also moved liao. The old medical centre near the bus stop which was nearest to block 1183 (or was that 1184?) is now gone. In short, everything is new lah.

SOC field still there though. Can remember that well 'cos saw one guy crotch himself on the jacob ladder and then do a slow mo forward flip. Was like something out of a WWE show. :s22:

Kiwi8

The new main gate is further in now and closer to 35 SCE's gate. 103 used to drop off at the bus stop which was very near the new main gate. Now no more. Guess they figured it was too near for security reasons (possible bomb on bus?).

I dun think the reason is due to security. It's probably just a simple case of bus economics... ie bus company not willing to detour the route of 103 to the main gate.

Anyway I feel that this isn't in line with the gahmen's policy of encouraging people to take public transport. They should be making sure that all camps are within public transport access. That means at the very least there should be a bus service that stops within 500m of the main gate of the camp.

derrickgoh

I dun think the reason is due to security. It's probably just a simple case of bus economics... ie bus company not willing to detour the route of 103 to the main gate.

Anyway I feel that this isn't in line with the gahmen's policy of encouraging people to take public transport. They should be making sure that all camps are within public transport access. That means at the very least there should be a bus service that stops within 500m of the main gate of the camp.
Check out tanjong gul & sungei gedong. What bus? Lol

Kiwi8

Check out tanjong gul & sungei gedong. What bus? Lol

For Tanjong Gul camp there's still a bus close by, 257.

For Sungei Gedong camp there's still a bus close by, 957.

Just check the map for Seletar camp and u can see that neither the two closest stops for 103 for Seletar Camp are shorter than either the Tanjong Gul to 257 stop or the Sungei Gedong to 957 stop.

THFC78

Wah, reading the update here make me realise the camp has change so much since my active days...

WANGLAI

The camp has undergone many changes so I don't know how long ago you mean. Which year did you last go? That might help us in providing more specific assistance to you.

I went last year. Don't drive so can't comment about parking. It was my last ICT so I did not bother making a map. You best make a map unless your memory is super good and you can remember 1 year from now. I ORD in 1998 and first ICT was in 2002. The place has slowly changed over the years (making it more confusing for us who go back annually) and now it is TOTALLY different from then. The camp has basically shrunk inwards.

There used to be a small bus interchange outside the main gate. The interchange is gone now and the main gate no longer in use. Physically still there but no more in use. The mini canteen there is gone too.

If you take 103 you need to drop off at the 2nd (or is it 3rd?) bus stop after the old main gate. If you see it turning left, means overshot liao so get off at the next stop and walk back if not you will end up at West camp. 103 no longer goes into East camp. If you get off at the correct bus stop, it should be easy seeing the new main gate 'cos its damn big and sure to have other people booking in. Best is catch the free shuttle service but I can't remember the timing.

If you used to report at the auditorium above the cookhouse (same floor as ENC), that has now moved as well. The new auditorium is near the new parade square which has those seats like stadium seating. SADA parade square, CCO Seletar canteen and the reservist bunks near CCO canteen are all history.

ENC, enlistee mess, cook house, 35 SCE canteen, barber and eMart have moved too. Can't remember the block number but its all consolidated in the same block. First floor is cookhouse and the eMart is hidden at one corner. Second floor is 35 canteen, barber and enlistee mess. Have no idea where ENC is but I suspect its in another block.

Spec mess & occifer mess still same place. Ah hoh is gone but the catfish which behave like piranha are still around. :s13:

Oh BTW you no longer do in-pro at the auditorium. You in-pro at another block before you gather at auditorium. Can't remember the in-pro block number so best is ask.

No one told us about the changes either and when we went there we just asked. I was lucky enough to bump into a chio bu DXO so just asked her and followed her. :s13:

Your bunks (assuming you stay in) are also in new blocks with the new training sheds. Medical centre also moved liao. The old medical centre near the bus stop which was nearest to block 1183 (or was that 1184?) is now gone. In short, everything is new lah.

SOC field still there though. Can remember that well 'cos saw one guy crotch himself on the jacob ladder and then do a slow mo forward flip. Was like something out of a WWE show. :s22:

wah...never expect the camp to change so much.... think the old countryside feeling is gone liao... think last time that is the only camp in singapore where u can really enjoy the surrounding, the seaside, the environment, even through the training is tough...:s13:

THFC78

Guess this canteen outside the east camp gate is no longer around right?

Use to taobao my breakfast everyday from here before walking to camp last time :s13:

fRG9bvvl.jpg

cUprwsCl.jpg

Z6awKCwl.jpg

WANGLAI

Use to taobao my breakfast everyday from here before walking to camp last time :s13:

fRG9bvvl.jpg

cUprwsCl.jpg

Z6awKCwl.jpg

that is the canteen beside the main road leading into/outside camp right? Still remember last time still can buy illegal 4d/toto from the uncle there... hehehe ;)

derrickgoh

SADA canteen was the first to go. Second was 6 DSMB canteen. The guy who took over ah hoh was a disgrace. So ex and like crap. Now the only canteen is the so called 35 SCE canteen.

Dunno about now but last year it was just the drinks stall, western stall and one other chapalang stall. Nothing impressive.

Kiwi8

I missed the wanton mee, which used to sell at CCO canteen, then shifted to the canteen where there was the enlistees' mess and the barber/sewer, and after that shifted back to CCO canteen, then finally disappeared after the camp shrunk. :(

THFC78

Apart from these canteen, we use to have dinner buy out at Marine Castle zhi char stall or at the seletar golf course during guards duty.

WANGLAI

Apart from these canteen, we use to have dinner buy out at Marine Castle zhi char stall or at the seletar golf course during guards duty.

Yup... the beer garden at marine castle football club when night fall. Also the prata shop along jalan kayu. That time there still internal bus services that serve west camp and east camp. Still remember that time got one bus driver uncle who will allow us NSF to board the feeder bus without paying. Those were the days... :s8:

WANGLAI

I missed the wanton mee, which used to sell at CCO canteen, then shifted to the canteen where there was the enlistees' mess and the barber/sewer, and after that shifted back to CCO canteen, then finally disappeared after the camp shrunk. :(

U mean the CCO building not more? That is an heritage building leh. Think most of the buildings there exist before WWII. Not sure about others, for me I really like the seletar camp environment. It like countryside feeling.

THFC78

Yup... the beer garden at marine castle football club when night fall. Also the prata shop along jalan kayu. That time there still internal bus services that serve west camp and east camp. Still remember that time got one bus driver uncle who will allow us NSF to board the feeder bus without paying. Those were the days... :s8:

During my times, sometime we skip lunch at cookhouse and go eat at Marine Castle. There were even those gambling arcade machine in the 2nd floor and can play billard also, sibei shiok :s13:

THFC78

Not sure about others, for me I really like the seletar camp environment. It like countryside feeling.

Yeah, once you step into the camp, feel like you are being transported to a foreign land with those colonial building....i luv the greenery in the camp, especially those fruit tree which we can harvest the fruits :s13::s13:

The old main gate and the path we have to take everyday last time.....
yjWSteV.png

6339458473_311ff4abb0_z.jpg

ntucfairprice

fRG9bvvl.jpg

cUprwsCl.jpg

Z6awKCwl.jpg

the teh or coffee only 80cent nia......just visit 3weeks ago:D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.