Seletar Camp ICT

Funerei86

Can we all petition for a bus stop near the camp?
It is seriously ridiculous planning to have to walk all the way in from the roundabout. The bus 103 doesn't even take us near the camp now that the route has changed to turn left and the camp pushed all the way in.

It is crazy impossible to come back for reservist & bring all the item required.
Booking out is another major headache. Day 1 and Last Day of ICT is usually by Calling Cab just to solve the logistical nightmare. NS Men don't deserve this.
More so, think of the active NSF who go through the distance just to get in & out of camp. Should really have a different route to serve the very people who serve 2 year + 10 years reservist cycle to protect our land. Jalan Kayu used to be walkable although it is quite far. Now i think it take about 25-30mins just to walk there.

Wonder who planned the new camp layout, really never use brains. You really think everyone own a vechicle to transport them in & out of camp?
The long distance is killing me

bball21

Can we all petition for a bus stop near the camp?
It is seriously ridiculous planning to have to walk all the way in from the roundabout. The bus 103 doesn't even take us near the camp now that the route has changed to turn left and the camp pushed all the way in.

It is crazy impossible to come back for reservist & bring all the item required.
Booking out is another major headache. Day 1 and Last Day of ICT is usually by Calling Cab just to solve the logistical nightmare. NS Men don't deserve this.
More so, think of the active NSF who go through the distance just to get in & out of camp. Should really have a different route to serve the very people who serve 2 year + 10 years reservist cycle to protect our land. Jalan Kayu used to be walkable although it is quite far. Now i think it take about 25-30mins just to walk there.

Wonder who planned the new camp layout, really never use brains. You really think everyone own a vechicle to transport them in & out of camp?
The long distance is killing me

i take cab everyday during reservist,really cannot tahan!:eek:

derrickgoh

There is a free shuttle bus. If interested, suggest you check with the active ppl for timing. Try asking the staff at ENC. You may need to book in earlier to catch it but hey, at least its free.

As mentioned, it was probably SBS's decision to change the route not that SAF forced them to do so. And SBS is no longer govt owned so its all about $$$$. Just as they refused to run bus service parallel to MRT/LRT 'cos they say its not PROFITABLE, all the petitioning was a waste of time. Likewise for this. You can petition but Tammy Tan will just fart at it. :D

I don't know about your reservist unit but mine never demanded we bring everything on day 1. Usually first day we always book in empty handed. When we get the training schedule then we will see if got exercise or not. No exercise, then everyday book in empty handed.

Got exercise, then book in and bring the barang bit by bit. My typical pattern is one day book in with helmet. Second day book in with SBO. Third day book in with field pack. Fourth day book in with any other rubbish I may have forgotten. By the time its exercise day, everything is in the bunk liao.

When going home, I used to do the same pattern i.e. one day bring one item. Then one day I thought **** it lah, ICT only once a year so I hailed cab and thew everything in the boot. :s13:

Alternatively, make friends with those who drive. Seriously helps a lot. Be it driving from main gate into camp. Or driving from auditorium to cookhouse. You get a free ride every where.

But seriously, check the training schedule online or book in empty handed on day 1 then see how it goes. Unless your unit super siao on, if not nobody will expect you to stay in from day 1. Even if so, I am sure can book out mah.

Have seen so many newbies in my unit (oops, former unit since I MR liao, LOL!) who book in with everything. Machiam going for war. Helmet on head. LBV on. Field pack on. Pulling the black trolley bag and a civvie bag in the other hand. Don't even have space for all the garbage.

Then after briefing, turns out no need to stay in and no exercise so must bring all the crap home. Best part is, since no stay in, there is no bunk so for the rest of the day no place to keep all the junk so must bring everything everywhere they go.

mgx-alander

wa so good ar no need stay in :(

knn sungei gedong even tho i most of the time zuo bo lan oso must stay in

nicsim

Honestly the reason why the camp shrunk is due to JTC redeveloping Seletar into an Aerospace park.

Seletar Aerospace Park

Hopefully once they complete the redeveloping there SBS will place a bus stop near the gate.

derrickgoh

It was fun feeding the giant catfish behind ah hoh. Those things eat everything from ice to carrot cake.

It was not so fun getting LS after eating ah hoh's food. ****i!

seowbin

just kanna ns callup

it states HQ SCE1 but ICT @ seletar? so is other SCE unit is it or what?

seowbin

no idea man, just kanna yesterday... maybe when date nearer will have more details :s13:

just got my unit yesterday also. Before that... i got no NS unit, no emart credit, etc :sad:

super sad case.. moi is signaler trained, now only can pray hard is really HQ SCE, not other SCE liao. :s13:

Kiwi8

just kanna ns callup

it states HQ SCE1 but ICT @ seletar? so is other SCE unit is it or what?

If it states Seletar Camp then u just have to report there lor. I doubt they will cock up the premises. :o

SyraLeo

why you all complaining about the walking?

its the same as before, it just seems longer because they moved the gate.

if the gate is at the same place, you will still be walking as much, just inside the camp.

bball21

now still park inside camp or park outside camp that carpark? going for reservist soon

seowbin

outside is where ah? can show map location bo, moi not CBE trained, never go that camp before :s34:

me next week ICT, who cuming together

derrickgoh

outside is where ah? can show map location bo, moi not CBE trained, never go that camp before :s34:

me next week ICT, who cuming together
Walau eh map is classified even if have who dares to post here?

The bus used to drop off at the bus stop and then make a right turn and U-turn back out to main road. Now the bus doesn't even go near there. You need to drop off at the right stop because once the bus turns left, good luck, its heading to West Camp liao. Its the 2nd stop (I think) after what used to be the CCO Seletar main gate.

Hate how every year when you go back, things are different. Its like the place is forever changing. Worse part is they don't even tell you anything.

I still remember when I went back for my last ICT. The place was totally different from my previous ICT. The bus did not drop off then turn right. I had to trek back after finding the bus heading towards West Camp.

After clearing guard house I realised even the camp itself had changed. Auditorium, parade square and everything had moved!! Lucky I saw the Chief Clerk going in so I just tagged along. In this day and age, is it that hard to upload a location map to NS.sg? Sheesh!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.