Semi AMD gaming rig - Pls advice

biopitcher

Hi guys, first of all this is my first time building a new pc for some gaming purpose. I've come to this after some research. I dun need a super computer. Just enough to perform can liao. Budget is around $1000 only.

Give me ur comments and if there's anything that dun work pls let me know..

MOBO : Asus F1A75-MLE
Processor : A6 3670
RAM : CORSAIR Vengeance 1600C9 (8GB=2x4GB)
HDD : WD Blue 1TB
Graphic : Powercolor HD 7770 PCS 1GB or Sapphire ATI HD 7770 OC Ghz Ed 1GB
DVD/RW : ASUS 24X SATA
Power : Seasonic 520W (is it enough?)
Chasis : Antec ONE or Sharkoon T28

Cost about - $825

-Will i be able to use back the same OS cd key i'm using now on the new pc?

-Should i get a FX 6100 over the A6?

Thanks in advance

Ferolare

imo - no point going for the amd apu since you're not going to use the integrated radeon

go for an intel core i3 and a beefier graphics card instead ;)

m3 th3 last

Hi guys, first of all this is my first time building a new pc for some gaming purpose. I've come to this after some research. I dun need a super computer. Just enough to perform can liao. Budget is around $1000 only.

Cost about - $825

Thanks in advance

Wait for nippon to give a his best recommendation. :s13:

biopitcher

u mean the integrated raedeon is good enough for gaming already? I've been a amd user for quite some time, moreover i3 is abit ex for me leh..

Ferolare

u mean the integrated raedeon is good enough for gaming already? I've been a amd user for quite some time, moreover i3 is abit ex for me leh..
depending on your target resolution, image quality and game title-- the integrated radeon may be enough

since you have a grand..

#copypaste
Intel Core i5 3470 & Asrock B75 PRO3 M ~ $345
G.Skill DDR3-1333MHz 8GB (2X4GB) ~ $60
Palit GTX 650Ti 1GB ~ $195 or Sapphire HD 7790 ~ $
HDD 500GB ~ $68
Samsung SATA 22X DVD Rewriter ~ $24
FSP Aurum AU-500W ~ $115
Ikonik EN2 ~ $55
Total ~ $8XX

(do some adjustments on the processor and graphics card parts depending on your needs - more computation or more graphical horsepower)

nippp0n

Cost about - $825

Thanks in advance

What os are you reusing? What games do you intend to play? What is your monitor resolution?

biopitcher

depending on your target resolution, image quality and game title-- the integrated radeon may be enough

since you have a grand..

#copypaste
Intel Core i5 3470 & Asrock B75 PRO3 M ~ $345
G.Skill DDR3-1333MHz 8GB (2X4GB) ~ $60
Palit GTX 650Ti 1GB ~ $195 or Sapphire HD 7790 ~ $
HDD 500GB ~ $68
Samsung SATA 22X DVD Rewriter ~ $24
FSP Aurum AU-500W ~ $115
Ikonik EN2 ~ $55
Total ~ $8XX

(do some adjustments on the processor and graphics card parts depending on your needs - more computation or more graphical horsepower)

Ahh.. think I feel u there. I would want a amd if possible. Suggestions?

Does the rig u suggest have significant better performance differences compared to the one I intended?

Maeda_Toshiie

Ahh.. think I feel u there. I would want a amd if possible. Suggestions?

Does the rig u suggest have significant better performance differences compared to the one I intended?

At your price point, you can afford to go for discrete graphic cards. In this case, an Intel CPU is preferred if you are gaming. If you get an AMD APU, you "waste" money on a semi-decent on-die GPU that you do not use (you can do a hybrid CrossfireX but this can give microstutter issues and is generally not preferred). If you get an AMD CPU, you get poorer single thread performance (while about breaking even on or slightly superior in multithread situations) compared to an Intel one at the same price point. Since many games are not heavily multithreaded, Intel is still preferred for gaming.

The only situations that make AMD preferred (cost effective) are workloads that are heavily multithreaded, such as video encoding, folding, etc, or when you need to run many instances of programs (such as VM) or multitasking, etc.

biopitcher

At your price point, you can afford to go for discrete graphic cards. In this case, an Intel CPU is preferred if you are gaming. If you get an AMD APU, you "waste" money on a semi-decent on-die GPU that you do not use (you can do a hybrid CrossfireX but this can give microstutter issues and is generally not preferred). If you get an AMD CPU, you get poorer single thread performance (while about breaking even on or slightly superior in multithread situations) compared to an Intel one at the same price point. Since many games are not heavily multithreaded, Intel is still preferred for gaming.

The only situations that make AMD preferred (cost effective) are workloads that are heavily multithreaded, such as video encoding, folding, etc, or when you need to run many instances of programs (such as VM) or multitasking, etc.

Ahh.. ok ok, understand more abit liao.. so wat abt the win 7 os? Is there possible that I can use back the same cd that im using now?

nippp0n

Win 7 ultimate
Guild wars 2 , HoN , mass effect dead space etc.
Cant remember the resolution liao

CPU & Mobo: i5-3450 & Asrock B75M-DGS @ $300
IMO, you should go for an Intel quad core cpu since it is within your budget. AMD APU is a better option if you are on a tight budget and not intending to get a discrete gpu for gaming.
Ram: Kingston 1600mhz value ram 8GB @ ~$72
Unless you intend to oc your ram, go for value ram instead of ram kit.
ODD: Samsung DVD RW @ $22
SSD: Plextor M5P 128GB @ $150*
Still have enough budget for a good performing SSD to store your important programs and OS for fast boot up and file access time.
HDD: Hitachi Deskstar 1TB @ ~$80
GPU: Powercolor 7850 1GB @ $221*
Able to max out your games settings at 1080p resolution.
Case: Sharkoon T28 @ $86
PSU: FSP Raider 450W @ $68*
7850 is quite power efficient. 450W will still leave you with ample headroom.

Total: $999
Buy and build at Tradepac. Those with * are bundle prices.

MacClipper

imo, main advantage of using AMD APU is that it allows a very compact flat casing, if using just the onboard video, as in portable ITX HTPC/gaming rigs or spatially constrained home/office.

biopitcher

CPU & Mobo: i5-3450 & Asrock B75M-DGS @ $300
IMO, you should go for an Intel quad core cpu since it is within your budget. AMD APU is a better option if you are on a tight budget and not intending to get a discrete gpu for gaming.
Ram: Kingston 1600mhz value ram 8GB @ ~$72
Unless you intend to oc your ram, go for value ram instead of ram kit.
ODD: Samsung DVD RW @ $22
SSD: Plextor M5P 128GB @ $150*
Still have enough budget for a good performing SSD to store your important programs and OS for fast boot up and file access time.
HDD: Hitachi Deskstar 1TB @ ~$80
GPU: Powercolor 7850 1GB @ $221*
Able to max out your games settings at 1080p resolution.
Case: Sharkoon T28 @ $86
PSU: FSP Raider 450W @ $68*
7850 is quite power efficient. 450W will still leave you with ample headroom.

Total: $999
Buy and build at Tradepac. Those with * are bundle prices.

Thanks for ur help.. I dun really need ssd and just 7770 would be enough for me.. hmmmm, wat credit cards that u guys dun accept?

biopitcher

I don't work for any shops in SLS. :o

Lol.. u put tradepac thought u worked there.. pai seh pai seh.. how abt the win 7 os im using now? Is it possible I use it for the new pc? I read other forums say cannot leh..

astray89

Win 7 ultimate
Guild wars 2 , HoN , mass effect dead space etc.
Cant remember the resolution liao

dont waste your time on AMD if u planning on playing gw2. i got 955be and 7950 still lag like sai. i3 can out perform a 955 alrdy. u tink apu can do better meh.

nippp0n

Lol.. u put tradepac thought u worked there.. pai seh pai seh.. how abt the win 7 os im using now? Is it possible I use it for the new pc? I read other forums say cannot leh..

If I'm not wrong, OEM license can only use once and is tag to your motherboard. If you are doing an upgrade, you cannot reuse the cd key. But I read around that, you can actually call Microsoft, "smoke" them and ask them to reactivate it for you.

biopitcher

If I'm not wrong, OEM license can only use once and is tag to your motherboard. If you are doing an upgrade, you cannot reuse the cd key. But I read around that, you can actually call Microsoft, "smoke" them and ask them to reactivate it for you.

Alright.. thanks a bunch!!

m3 th3 last

If i remember correct, say u changed a hard disk. Any suggestion of what excuse to use? :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.