Seng Kang Green Primary School Bullying Case - with timeline

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

C_boliao

Wle… MOE statements go and target the victim parents instead…. Not sure what MOE trying to do here…The death threats didn’t just occur leh… bullying already happened over a period of time… If the school had addressed this early on, u think any reasonable parents would publish these publicly? MOE better do an internal investigation
The victim is not simple too. Just that the bullies are a bigger bully n gone overboard.

Cyber_Ghost

maybe hit them on their small little hands

that was considered normal punishment by any teacher in the 80s.

only the VP and P are allowed to do public caning in front of the students...and there was public caning in Pri school in the 80s.
knn my teacher using ruler canned my right palm in front of the blackboard with the full view of all my classmate during my pri 4 class in yr 1994.

can me comprain to MOE now?

Potato_Wedges

So now then MOE cum out do damage control , if the parent dun go social media they will hush-hush abt the whole matter ?

:oops::oops:
Isn't it always the case.
Did MOE ever report suicide cases/bullying cases publicly? No.
All closed doors until some parents BLOW UP in social media.

Bet if this kid is some Minister child, ending is very very different.
Oopsss...their child usually in a 'better' elite school.

Dr Stephen Strange

Just like in the army, there will be white horses known to teachers. They will be well protected.

HeiHeiHei

The victim is not simple too. Just that the bullies are a bigger bully n gone overboard.
The not simple girl go and bully the 3 bullies? 1 against 3? Come on la… got not simple until give voice recordings of death threats to the parents?

I_m_limpeh

Minister's child usually better behaved. That's why so many PAP leaders' children step up to join politics like their father or mothers did.

focus1974

teachers now cannot hit students at all
even private caning rarely done and only by authorised teachers

western bs

that's why need MOE to come out with baseline punishments for bullying (they have to define the level of severity).

most severe, just send to police and boys home.

ST Optimist

the school tries to downplay death treat as prank call, frame the child who retaliate as engage in hurtful behavior, if the bullying is for 6 months then why only took action after the mother took if to social media.
Why the bully still gets to close to the girl and injure her after he made the death threat?

Everything shows that MOE and the school tries to downplay the issue before the incident is made public.
1st day in singapore is it? only Once made public to social media then the relevant department will take fast action.
Action taken everytime something happen lah....just that some student cannot be taught .....

C was cane on 12 August...(bf "victim mother go social media)..n bf that there has been constant engagement between sch n parents

.last arrangement bf the social media.......Sch arranged on 14 Aug to meet all parents on 18 Aug ....... victim mother go social media on 15,16 Aug before the 18 Aug meeting......

Globe

1st day in singapore is it? only Once made public to social media then the relevant department will take fast action.

isnt that how civil service works nowadays ... or all along .... ?

Itsthatguy

How come like never mentioned any other friends of the bully victim?:(

Normally girl got girl friends in school, why the girl like no other friends but only got bullies as acquaintances in school?:confused:

ST Optimist

Honestly, the bullying problem we see in schools today reflects a deeper issue — kids nowadays not enough discipline and moral grounding. Last time, our parents and teachers worked together to make sure children grow up with respect and proper values. If you misbehave, teacher scold or punish, parents also support. The focus was always on building character first, then academics.

Now it’s the opposite. Parents rush to protect their kid the moment a teacher corrects them, some even threaten to complain. Teachers also scared of parents and MOE rules, so discipline becomes very soft. End up children grow up not respecting authority, cannot handle frustration, and don’t think about consequences. That’s why we see more cases of bullying, selfishness, and lack of empathy.

If Singapore really wants to tackle bullying, cannot just keep doing campaigns or workshops. Must go back to basics — teach values and discipline from young, let teachers do their job without fear, and parents need to stop spoiling their kids. Academic results important, but without character and ethics, society will pay the price later.
Sch, sch textbook got teach characters n good value lah.........again....is the students problem......some students just cannot be taught....some learn from what they see....if what they see at home.....maybe parent fxxx......they might think that what the school teach is talking c ..o...c...k....

ST Optimist

The current culture is not the real. Path. Strongly suggest everyone don't be dumb enough to create. More. Children. The rules are laid to tell parents to not teach the child the own family way but to just cajole them along the way.
Completely no discipline. And more of this. Problem are already out there.

This is a sick society alot of selfcreated problems.
Nowadays the kids can't be managed as no family rules discipline, look like the family values, moral value in future generation also eroded.
Keep a pet is the way to go. :)

Fix this problem first then talk of boosting population.
Or jus continue to top up from. Other countries. It's all good.
Jus three cents worth info if u r not married or have children yet, the answer is, don't do it.

1. There is subsidy to help u and ur children defray ur cost: it's a joke. They want to give but the money can't be used. They subsidize u 300, the centre fee 1100. If u got three children, the subsidy taken away once ur first n second child went to highe level.
2. Can't discipline child.
3. The teruk society and poor governance out there, will give u more hair pulling stress. Totally not worth, not in sg least to say.

Jus piling more stress on parents.
Not the correct time. Don't be deceived.
Too ppl lost touch.
I disagree your point 1,2 n 3....
1. There is alot subsidy ....more so now then ever ....my parents time many children but zero subsidy...many parents end up stop their children education early to send their earlier children to work .....alot of them start work as early as 10 yrs old ......Tell me which children now work so young.....

2. U can still discipline your children.,..is how u discipline..... nobody tell u to use belt to whack until the child need to go hospital.....that is not discipline....that is mistreatment.

3. Society is better now......what teruk...u want to experience earlier Spore where there r more bloody fight....where the poor n old nobody care n notice.....where the disable can only stay at home because everywhere will gana scorned at n many places not accessible to them......

ST Optimist

bring back caning. tell parents to go take a hike if they wanna complain. school discipline went to the gutters after ah dou took over power trying to differentiate from his dad.......
C was cane on 12 August bf "Victim" mother go social media on 15/16 Aug prior to meeting all parents n sch on 18 Aug

Teyemittisi

I think what the school had failed and what the parents are unhappy about is the reactive nature of the school rather than preventive. Whatever the school had done prior to that was reactive and ineffective . There was no tough measure enough to guarantee the victim will be safe to go school. Why? Because the students already know the school is a place to study and not a place of discipline. MOE needs to toughen up and review the qualities of principals . Give back authority to principals to run the school according to their motto.

aceone10

Time for the P6 stand up to protect. Maybe 20 years down the road he had saved his love today.

MegatonNev

How come like never mentioned any other friends of the bully victim?:(

Normally girl got girl friends in school, why the girl like no other friends but only got bullies as acquaintances in school?:confused:
In every social environment, be it work, family or school environment, there's bound to have outcast in that group. And it's perfectly fine if the outcast doesn't fit into the general group or mix well with them.

What is not fine is to have the other kids engage in verbal disagreement or racial slurring between each other or physical attacks on the other.

Like what I told my kid, if the other person is a grade A ahole, just don't engage. It's legal to be ahole but it's illegal to hit someone cause they are one.

peterpater

I think what the school had failed and what the parents are unhappy about is the reactive nature of the school rather than preventive. Whatever the school had done prior to that was reactive and ineffective . There was no tough measure enough to guarantee the victim will be safe to go school. Why? Because the students already know the school is a place to study and not a place of discipline. MOE needs to toughen up and review the qualities of principals . Give back authority to principals to run the school according to their motto.
I read the response from the school, my personal opinion is that it sounds defensive.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.