Seng Kang Green Primary School Bullying Case - with timeline

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

KPO_SAHM

You see the social media cancel culture, I am not surprised, you know? Many people think they can use social media to control public response and use it like a weapon against people or organisations, then force things their way. The way I look at it, it seems like her daughter has no friends, so I think while bullying is an issue to tackle, the crux of her child's issue is her social skills. Cos from the timeline, it is not just the three boys she had trouble with. There was another one, who spray water at her? Then she got hit by C's bag and no one helped her tell teacher or she didn't tell any friends? And if she has no friends, then what does it say about her? There's a saying, when we point our finger at someone, four fingers point at us, means we always need to reflect whether we are the problem also.

Sometimes kids r super 夸张,。 touch them a bit they said push or beat. Bruise cause by bag or cause just cause by hitting other things . I believe mum post in FB should have been taken by her about the talk with MOE

addypp

Why do parents go to social media?

Because they feel that the school/MOE have not done enough.

Most bullying cases leave bad trauma and sometimes physical scars on the bullied. Parents have to witness their children withering into a shadow of their former self. But, what do the bullies get? Counselling, in-school suspension, home suspension and private caning. Very rarely do they get public caning. Of course parents feel aggrieved. The bullies get bolder.

Some parents will go one up. They will take it out on the bullies themselves. Especially if they tell the teacher once, nothing happens and the bullying escalates. (Think Spencer Tupani. That is the ultimate father-whacks-bully case.)

I cannot blame the parents. All parents want to protect their children. Education is compulsory in primary school. We send our children to school when they are at a young age. We expect the school to be a safe environment. If MOE cannot ensure a safe environment, do we go back to MOE or do we take our grievances elsewhere?

KPO_SAHM

Different types of bad. Last time no matter how much we fight and curse, i dont think anyone will prank call and send death threats to parents. Especially not at such a young age with such a si ginna voice.
True lah
Now ginna 不怕死

KPO_SAHM

Most bullying cases leave bad trauma and sometimes physical scars on the bullied. Parents have to witness their children withering into a shadow of their former self. But, what do the bullies get? Counselling, in-school suspension, home suspension and private caning. Very rarely do they get public caning. Of course parents feel aggrieved. The bullies get bolder.

Some parents will go one up. They will take it out on the bullies themselves. Especially if they tell the teacher once, nothing happens and the bullying escalates. (Think Spencer Tupani. That is the ultimate father-whacks-bully case.)

I cannot blame the parents. All parents want to protect their children. Education is compulsory in primary school. We send our children to school when they are at a young age. We expect the school to be a safe environment. If MOE cannot ensure a safe environment, do we go back to MOE or do we take our grievances elsewhere?

Now Many CCTVs in all schools. This would keep as a evidence when issue happens.

Yes parents may not get the things they wanted after nego with school. Some parents may thought that posting in social media would cause public to pressure the authority.

Itsthatguy

Because of the mum's wrong approach by posting in social media...MOE commented that. And today ST huge page of the case. Mum should be glad that mOE never asked her to apologise in the public for saying dau done nothing wrong and school never took actions.

It will be good if they can clarify and give accounts of what they mean by "dramatized one-sided" account, so that we the public can learn, be wiser, and avoid such behavior.

Good for children to learn also.

elloz123

Not saying the girl is all saint (could’ve done out of retaliation) and the mom should’ve given a more detailed account.
MOE should not be so defensive and should come up with more solutions.

Bweebweee

Go read the latest news on this. The mother outright lied that the school had not taken action during the 6 months .
And acted innocent, that as far as she knew, her daughter hadn't done anything wrong... but the school had , in the past, dealt with her for her offensive and racial slurs.
Well, they noted that squabbling happened early in the year, probably not documented, otherwise MOE would have given a date in a timeline clarification.

Only in april did the victim report it, and was "settled" by the teacher. In july, victim requested to switch seats, but teacher say want to monitor. Towards the end of july, the request to switch seats came up again, but the teacher "settled" it again. And the teacher would look into a specific incident with bully C. Not sure if that "look into" was successful, but the result was the parent getting spammed and death threats.

So yea, from early in the year until late july, multiple actions were taken, but they were more or less to play down the incident. And dont expect bullies to be blatant, its not like tv shows where someone can bully another person and the teachers can see but hide. It can be subtle and in an extended amount of time. Today the victim can be scared, but tmr the bullies act nice, jio her play nicely, she'll think its better, but once they go back to bullying, the past trauma all will come back.

esandwich

Thank you for the concern and support we have received.

Our family is now waiting for the results of the police investigation, and we are fully cooperating with the authorities.

This has been a very frightening time for us, especially for my daughter who just wants to go to school safely like every child deserves.

We truly hope for a fair and thorough outcome, and we will continue to do everything we can to protect her.

https://www.facebook.com/share/p/19iH41yZ3g/
wow our spf indeed devoting to getting to the bottom of things....incident 25 jul, today still investigating.
looking forward to their timely report that due to their dedication, an underground syndicate involving 100s of students was discovered and destroyed.

Nickypigu

Just make all problem child do home based learning to provide compulsory education and not to affect other students. If their home not safe cannot be the school’s fault. How their child turns out the parent also play a part.

addypp

Singapore should have schools like henry gurney schools in malaysia. All the recalcitrant ones, send there.

Agent_X

Actually the timeline MOE gave a bit don't tally. I remember when the Chinese newspaper interviewed the school, they said the 3 students are suspended and might face canning. But in the timeline, even before the mum posted on social media, the boy is already canned.

buzzlightyear852

You see the social media cancel culture, I am not surprised, you know? Many people think they can use social media to control public response and use it like a weapon against people or organisations, then force things their way. The way I look at it, it seems like her daughter has no friends, so I think while bullying is an issue to tackle, the crux of her child's issue is her social skills. Cos from the timeline, it is not just the three boys she had trouble with. There was another one, who spray water at her? Then she got hit by C's bag and no one helped her tell teacher or she didn't tell any friends? And if she has no friends, then what does it say about her? There's a saying, when we point our finger at someone, four fingers point at us, means we always need to reflect whether we are the problem also.

every kid has different personalities/social interpersonal skills
some just dont like to socialise or interact much but that doesnt warrant bullyings from other kids

u seem to be making personal attack on the victim now by highlighting these

they are still very young childrens and attitudes/social behaviours can still change so her personality shld not be judged this way

children these age - they also like to say i friend u today, tmr i dun friend u again
this is so common

anw 3 boys attacking 1 helpless girl. nuff said

buzzlightyear852

Actually the timeline MOE gave a bit don't tally. I remember when the Chinese newspaper interviewed the school, they said the 3 students are suspended and might face canning. But in the timeline, even before the mum posted on social media, the boy is already canned.

the thing is, the girl request to change seat twice but the teacher apparently did not help facilitate

whats so difficult to just change seats??

wongkc

You sounded as though "poor social skills" and having "no friends" is the reason for her bullying... Yes poor social skill is a handicap... but by no means it should be the reason for bullying her... or justified it as she is the problem instead... If she is bad at poor social skills... isn't it the responsibility of teachers and school leaders to help her instead...

Whenever I heard of such things from my kids that "who and who" got no friends... I will tell my kids to try to friend them instead... ask her to join you for recess etc... I even told my kid to be friends with the bully who bullied her but later apologized after teacher intervened... and now she was even invited to the bully birthday party...

Yes we should always reflect... but I dun think her lack of friends and social skills is to be blame here... It sounded more and more like bullying the "odd one out" or the weak...

xdivider

asked chatgpt to present it in a simpler and easier to read way

Timeline of Events

• End-April 2024
    • Girl reported Pupil A for using an offensive slur on her and another classmate.
    • Girl had also used a slur on Pupil A.
    • Both were asked to apologise to each other by the form teacher.
cane both. smlj say sorry.

• Mid-July 2024
    • Girl asked to change seat.
    • Teacher observed she was still talking/laughing with Pupils A & B, so decided to monitor first.
change her to solo seat
  • July 25, 2024
    • Girl repeated her request to change seat, citing Pupils A & B’s chatter and inappropriate language, and that Pupil C touched her face without consent.
    • As she admitted to using inappropriate language too, all three apologised and told to mend friendship.
    • Teacher informed her parent and arranged to change her seat the following Monday.
    • Teacher also said he would look into feedback about Pupil C.
cane all 4

• July 26, 2024
    • Girl’s mother reported prank calls and death threats.
    • July 28: School confirmed Pupils A, B, and C were responsible:
      • Pupil A got the phone number from his parent.
      • Trio made prank calls; Pupil C sent threatening audio messages.
    • All three reprimanded and suspended.
    • Vice-principal met parents, explained actions (seat change, suspension, bag checks after suspension).
    • VP later called parents, updated them on plans (peers assigned to accompany girl).
    • Police report lodged. School said further actions (including caning) may follow after police investigations.
see lau, let it fester til death threat. now expedite seat change.

• July 30, 2024
    • Girl reported being sprayed with water.
    • Investigation: she had used racial slur and told others not to befriend a classmate.
    • Classmate retaliated by spraying water.
    • Both were counselled.
    • Classmate’s parent informed; school planned to update girl’s parents face-to-face.
counsel **. cane both

• July 31, 2024
    • Safety plan sent to girl’s parents via e-mail.
  • August 7, 2024
    • Girl had a bruise — CCTV showed Pupil C swung his bag into her during dismissal.
    • Teacher present did not see it as he was managing other pupils; no one reported it immediately.
    • School engaged Pupil C’s parents.
  • August 12, 2024
    • Pupil C was caned.
  • August 14, 2024
    • School arranged meeting with girl’s parents for August 18 to update on actions and support measures.
  • August 15–16, 2024
    • Girl’s parent made allegations on social media.

long zhong cane will have resolve this long time ago.........

xdivider

You sounded as though "poor social skills" and having "no friends" is the reason for her bullying... Yes poor social skill is a handicap... but by no means it should be the reason for bullying her... or justified it as she is the problem instead... If she is bad at poor social skills... isn't it the responsibility of teachers and school leaders to help her instead...

Whenever I heard of such things from my kids that "who and who" got no friends... I will tell my kids to try to friend them instead... ask her to join you for recess etc... I even told my kid to be friends with the bully who bullied her but later apologized after teacher intervened... and now she was even invited to the bully birthday party...

Yes we should always reflect... but I dun think her lack of friends and social skills is to be blame here... It sounded more and more like bullying the "odd one out" or the weak...
death threat is a crime. ah gong era is go boy's home one.......

Bweebweee

wow our spf indeed devoting to getting to the bottom of things....incident 25 jul, today still investigating.
looking forward to their timely report that due to their dedication, an underground syndicate involving 100s of students was discovered and destroyed.
Hahahahahahhah. Until today still investigating means they havent started lor

Itsthatguy

Not saying the girl is all saint (could’ve done out of retaliation) and the mom should’ve given a more detailed account.
MOE should not be so defensive and should come up with more solutions.

See the newsprint in post #1496. MOE already buay song "parents publicized dramatized one-side account". I only hope MOE can enlighten the public and give example of "dramatized one-sided account" in this particular case which will make us wiser.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.