[Serious] Should I Apply to Become English Teacher in Japan?

bluerhino

Moi FCH begree holder in engrish riterature, so definitely hab the qualifications to be classified as native level engrish speaker. Don't think need jippunese proficiency to become engrish teacher there? Am sure many of the amdks teaching engrish there don't possess jippunese proficiency?

Notch werking in their corporations there, so the overwerk culture shouldn't be that much of a problem ba :s13:
Why not try typing properly for a start. You are trying too hard to type like a dumba**. It comes across as very unnatural. Normal edmrer won’t type like that.
English lit first hon can. I have a friend also did English lit in NTU, taught English in the international schools here part time for a year or 2 then went Japan to be English teacher. Lifestyle is good, basically angmoh type of lifestyle since most of the other English teachers there are angmoh. This is in those private English learning schools. Pay was 3-4k. Enough to enjoy japan but don’t expect to save a lot. If you are not amdk you have a disadvantage since they prefer a white face to teach English. Try hard and try many many centres hope one will hire you.

6rz6rz

Please research very carefully if serious about this.
If i remember correctly, SG is not recognized as "Native english speaking country" by their system.
so need extra tests/certifications compared to amdk to even put a foot in the door.

Most likely will face discrimination in the industry for having asian look as well.

addypp

All the schools normally only want angmoh to teach English. They may bend the rules for Asians if you can speak with angmoh accent. But your pay will be less than angmoh's pay.

iamsinkie

They prefer amdk to be english teachers as there are lots of sales targets (teaching materials, course packages) and it is perceived that amdk would have more attractive and higher selling factor as compared to beta chinese sinkie

info_guy

Moi hab the qualifications to prove moi native speaker level of engrish :o
No use 1.

Most language school won't want to employ you.

There are only around 3-5 % of English teachers who are not white / blacks. They don't consider Asians / Hispanics as native speakers.

The better way is to work as an English language teacher for companies that wants Asian exposure. So u not only teach the English language needed in Asia but also the business culture of each country

tankgunner

Mentor
idi-amin-laugh.gif

needsomeadvice

No use 1.

Most language school won't want to employ you.

There are only around 3-5 % of English teachers who are not white / blacks. They don't consider Asians / Hispanics as native speakers.

The better way is to work as an English language teacher for companies that wants Asian exposure. So u not only teach the English language needed in Asia but also the business culture of each country
ts still yang... donch nose the world yet haha... but ish steel cans apply for fun who nose maybe he can get :o

ricohflex

PetKat

Why not try typing properly for a start. You are trying too hard to type like a dumba**. It comes across as very unnatural. Normal edmrer won’t type like that.
English lit first hon can. I have a friend also did English lit in NTU, taught English in the international schools here part time for a year or 2 then went Japan to be English teacher. Lifestyle is good, basically angmoh type of lifestyle since most of the other English teachers there are angmoh. This is in those private English learning schools. Pay was 3-4k. Enough to enjoy japan but don’t expect to save a lot. If you are not amdk you have a disadvantage since they prefer a white face to teach English. Try hard and try many many centres hope one will hire you.

Professional schools wont so racist one la. What they care is whether u can teach and ur results.

And frankly some gd schools u can earn 8-12k. That's not bad for a career right. Plus 2 months holiday.

But sad part is need to work 7am-4pm daily.

Won't earn 20-40k but still not that bad.

liplai2021

Moi FCH begree holder in engrish riterature, so definitely hab the qualifications to be classified as native level engrish speaker. Don't think need jippunese proficiency to become engrish teacher there? Am sure many of the amdks teaching engrish there don't possess jippunese proficiency?

Notch werking in their corporations there, so the overwerk culture shouldn't be that much of a problem ba :s13:
Wa boss ur edmw England so powderful u no scared meh?? Later teach Nipponese four legs good two legs gooder how?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.