SERS HDB

Perisher

No HDB SERS chat in MoneyMind from my google search so here goes

Many are happy to home in on HDB's Sers now
http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/housing/many-are-happy-to-home-in-on-hdbs-sers-now

Twenty years ago, Madam Lee Gaik Hoon and her family were told by the Government that they had to move out of their four-storey flat in Boon Tiong Road.

She was worried about having to adjust to an unfamiliar environment. But her fears were allayed when she learnt that her replacement flat would be on the same road in Tiong Bahru.

"I remember feeling very excited. Our old place had no lifts and only one toilet, so the change was for the better," said the housewife, who moved into her new four-room unit in 1999. That was the very first instance of the Selective En bloc Redevelopment Scheme (Sers), where old Housing Board (HDB) estates are demolished and replacement units are offered to residents.

Madam Lee's family is among more than 39,000 households across 79 sites which have come under Sers since it began in 1995.

The scheme aims to improve residents' living environment and the use of land.

Ageing flats can be upgraded, or torn down and replaced. Blocks chosen for Sers are usually around 30 years old. But not every site is suitable for redevelopment, hence the name of the scheme.

"The word 'selective' is very important," said Mr Yap.

One key question, added Mr Yap, is: "What is the opportunity for intensifying the use of land?"

For instance, a site near an airbase which faces height restrictions has much less potential than a site that can house 40-storey blocks. Replacement sites must also be available nearby, since the scheme aims to keep residents together in a familiar neighbourhood.

Read full article in the link above.

starfish.starfish

Whoever's hdb flat kenna this is like striking toto loh.
Got 2 friends' places got selected for sers.
They got to choose brand new flats near their current location, price difference can still be used to Reno their new place. Super happy!

Cantstop

They got to choose brand new flats near their current location, price difference can still be used to Reno their new place. Super happy!

haha, then I will choose old flat bcoz chance to strike toto very high...:s13:

badsector

not for my case.. tio Boon Tiong SERS.
still need to pay HDB >100k plus my own renov for new unit.

starfish.starfish

Huh really ah ?
Can I check with you when you get your new flat is it considered 99 year ownership again or only 60 years when you apply loan to pay back hdb for the difference? Got mop?

wts2013

hahaha, tio SERS is huat lor, not really tio toto lah, only tio 4d lah, hahaha, if u choose a bigger unit lor, discounted price lah but in the future money will come lah, hahaha

henrylbh

May not huat, if one has paid a high price for a resale flat as the valuation may be lower, except that one gets to choose a new flat with new lease. I doubt I would have huat had I taken the 3rm flat at rochor at 460k just before the news on acquisition in 2008. Instead I bought an EA for 425k and sold it for 700k.

badsector

Huh really ah ?
Can I check with you when you get your new flat is it considered 99 year ownership again or only 60 years when you apply loan to pay back hdb for the difference? Got mop?

99yrs. got mop

hahaha, tio SERS is huat lor, not really tio toto lah, only tio 4d lah, hahaha, if u choose a bigger unit lor, discounted price lah but in the future money will come lah, hahaha

didnt pick bigger. 5rm to 5rm
future money come also not to me mah. :)

May not huat, if one has paid a high price for a resale flat as the valuation may be lower, except that one gets to choose a new flat with new lease. I doubt I would have huat had I taken the 3rm flat at rochor at 460k just before the news on acquisition in 2008. Instead I bought an EA for 425k and sold it for 700k.

valuation by HDB very low during my SERS.
i can't recall the amount liao. should be >250k then hdb sell me a 5 rm abt 360k...

Maybe current SERS all can make money.. but definately not during my time..

henrylbh

99yrs. got mop

didnt pick bigger. 5rm to 5rm
future money come also not to me mah. :)

valuation by HDB very low during my SERS.
i can't recall the amount liao. should be >250k then hdb sell me a 5 rm abt 360k...

Maybe current SERS all can make money.. but definately not during my time..

In the recent SERs, some willing to pay 30k or more above fixed valuation for certainty of getting area they like.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.