setting up home network

Mephist0pheLes

Noob here, would like to seek advice on setting up the networking for my 4rm hdb.

Typical usage include watching YouTube and occasional online gaming.
Want to connect to my PC with LAN
And of cos to have access to wifi in the entire hse.

Is a 2 pack TP-link deco x10 AX1500 good enough?
or i sld minimally go with a 3pack or even more powerful model or other kind of setups for a smooth surfing experience?

Also is the M1 1+1Gbps worth the additional $10? or jus some gimmick for the average home user?

xiaofan

Noob here, would like to seek advice on setting up the networking for my 4rm hdb.
Typical usage include watching YouTube and occasional online gaming.
Want to connect to my PC with LAN
And of cos to have access to wifi in the entire hse.
Is a 2 pack TP-link deco x10 AX1500 good enough?
or i sld minimally go with a 3pack or even more powerful model or other kind of setups for a smooth surfing experience?
Also is the M1 1+1Gbps worth the additional $10? or jus some gimmick for the average home user?

M1 1+1 plan may be worth it since you do not seem to have a good existing router. You can do your math to see if it is worth it or not.

But it is okay to go with 1Gbps plan. You may have to post your floor plan with details of the LAN ports and intended placement of the wireless routers. Usually you do not need to use three units.

As for router choice, it is probably not a good idea to choose a super low end WiFi 6 router like TP-Link Archer AX10 now in 2024. You can get much better ones at very reasonable cost. For example, TP-Link Archer AX72 is at about S$80 BNIB from Carousell.

Mephist0pheLes

M1 1+1 plan may be worth it since you do not seem to have a good existing router. You can do your math to see if it is worth it or not.

But it is okay to go with 1Gbps plan. You may have to post your floor plan with details of the LAN ports and intended placement of the wireless routers. Usually you do not need to use three units.

As for router choice, it is probably not a good idea to choose a super low end WiFi 6 router like TP-Link Archer AX10 now in 2024. You can get much better ones at very reasonable cost. For example, TP-Link Archer AX72 is at about S$80 BNIB from Carousell.

Thank you.

If let say i were to go with a 1+1 Gbps with mesh, how would the set up be?

At the DB box, it will be:

ONT port 1 -> datapoint gateway inlet to where my PC is -> datapoint outlet where my PC is -> my PC?
Then ONT port 2 -> mesh router 1 -> datapoint gateway inlet to where my other mesh unit is -> datapoint outlet where the other mesh unit is?

* sorry for the poor use of terminology, dun really know what all those things are called.

Mach3.2

ONT port 1 -> datapoint gateway inlet to where my PC is -> datapoint outlet where my PC is -> my PC?
Then ONT port 2 -> mesh router 1 -> datapoint gateway inlet to where my other mesh unit is -> datapoint outlet where the other mesh unit is?
Your PC and mesh system will be on different networks, and won't be able to communicate with each other. You're ok with this?

Also, your PC will be directly connected to the internet; it's not really an advisble to connect your PC directly to the ONT, especially if you don't really know what you're doing.

If you're dead set on 1+1 Gbps plan, what I'd do is connect both ONT port 1 and 2 into a dual WAN capable router, then load balance/aggregate the connections together.

Mephist0pheLes

Your PC and mesh system will be on different networks, and won't be able to communicate with each other. You're ok with this?

Also, your PC will be directly connected to the internet; it's not really an advisble to connect your PC directly to the ONT, especially if you don't really know what you're doing.

If you're dead set on 1+1 Gbps plan, what I'd do is connect both ONT port 1 and 2 into a dual WAN capable router, then load balance/aggregate the connections together.
So chim, think i jus stick to 1gbps, but thanks for explaining

Mephist0pheLes

What about this? Is my understanding correct?

Inside DB box
Termination point -> ONT -> Router (e.g. ASUS RT-AX3000P) -> Faceplate (D1, D2)

D1 (bedroom 1) -> ethernet cable to PC1
D2 (bedroom 2) -> ethernet cable to switch -> s1 connect to PC2, s2 connect to router (e.g. ASUS AX4200) to set up AI mesh.

xiaofan

What about this? Is my understanding correct?

Inside DB box
Termination point -> ONT -> Router (e.g. ASUS RT-AX3000P) -> Faceplate (D1, D2)

D1 (bedroom 1) -> ethernet cable to PC1
D2 (bedroom 2) -> ethernet cable to switch -> s1 connect to PC2, s2 connect to router (e.g. ASUS AX4200) to set up AI mesh.

The basic idea will work. But I would not recommend using RT-AX3000P as the main router since it has only 256MB RAM. I would recommend using Asus TUF-AX4200 as the main router and then RT-AX3000P as the AImesh node.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.