汕头 Shantou

buzzmario

Hi, I am planning to bring my family including my mother who is in mid 70 for tour in 汕头 Shantou in year end holiday time on Free and easy.

i myself never been to china, so how should i start off with? any place of interest or hotel or even timing flight to recommended?

Thanks

macintosh

Jetstar is the only direct flight to Shantou (Jieyang airport) and only 1 flight to/back which operates 4 times a week.

You can check their website for the schedules/pricing (Mon/Wed/Fri/Sat)

chanzhf

Shantou is a city, though not as developed as other Guangdong provincial cities such as Zhuhai/Guangzhou/Shenzhen. Shantou is basically the turf of the teochew people, where quite a number of ancestors of Singaporeans once hailed from. You'll find traditional stuffs like small mountains and temples as well as modern shopping malls/dingy shopping street over there.

Generally speaking, I like the food in Shantou.

Plan ahead, if you are bringing your family, recommend staying in the city centre, where it will be more convenient to charter transport to explore around. Be forewarned that Shantou is not as well developed as other modern cities. Facilities that may be adequate to the locals, may appear quite appalling to you.

Watch out for touts and cheats. Costs are DIRT CHEAP in Shantou. Don't pay more than you should for anything.

Go to wikitravels and trip advisor for all your planning

suangern

10153264_10152433513177573_1228878113_n.jpg

jieyang airport

year end is quite cold... airport got airport bus to shantou, then in town please arrange own transport to travel around.. No MRT, BRT...

mngedo

Hi guys,

Anyone has any guide/driver to recomend in Shantou / Chaozhou ?

Thanks!!

DdrNigel

Hi guys,

Anyone has any guide/driver to recomend in Shantou / Chaozhou ?

Thanks!!

Hi i sent you a PM of a contact that i have used before. He's a friendly guy, you might want to send him a message for more details.

foreseer

hi i would like to know if any recommended tours to shan tou also?

have a few relatives there (tho greedyminded la)

parents old might want to go

beanstalk6

you will save more getting on a land tour at Shantou. Just get the tickets from here. since you have relations there, get them to do the booking of a land tour.

denumb

you will save more getting on a land tour at Shantou. Just get the tickets from here. since you have relations there, get them to do the booking of a land tour.

im also thinking of going, but seems like the tour is damn long at 8 days

and nothing much to do.

i also have relatives in China but nv keep in contact for like 50-60 yrs (only phone calls) as my mum came from there.

quite sian to go as i dont like that place and relatives are the greedy sort (if nv bring money give them also sian. give them not enough also sian, give them too much also sian)

s7460597

Planning a couple of days in January 2018 with friends, group of 6 pax.

How many days needed to cover the place?

Any hotel recommendation in city centre?

Food recommendations or can get decent food around the city?

How much would a driver and can rental cost?

juuzbe

Been wanting to try out Shantou also since am a teochew. Would like to know how many days will be enough for a look see :s22:
Do not have relatives there, even have also don't want to mafan them. :s13:

pacetone

I went in 2010 when Jetstar started to fly directly to Shantou. Personally, I do not like the place and won't go back.

Nakedtoes

Miss the place... Where I visited where mine ancestors lived.. Quite run down and the toilet can make u vomit.. So dun go toilet after meal.

patryn33

most if not all teochew will have distant relatives there.
there is nothing much to see on shantou/Chaozhou but more to makan.
Hotels and makan (esp seafood) are cheaper than Guangzhou naturally.

alot of factory making dishes.

on the very remote side of Chaozhou area, U don't have to go to the toilet to vomit. I have been on side street where the ENTIRE ALLEY is filled with poop

s7460597

Does it make sense to take free and easy package from HK or Shenzhen? Anyone tried?

s7460597

This makes sense if you fly in and out of the 2 cities. Jetstar flies Shantou direct.

Sorry didn't mention, flying in and out of HK. Spending a day in Shenzhen before shantou. After shantou have a few days in hk.

limchooc

Just to share my own experience here. I was in Shantou in 2009.

Yes, Jetstar is the only airline flying there but I didn't take the direct flight instead I fly to HK and from there took the MTR to the border to cross over to Shenzhen. Once you clear the custom, there is a bus terminal few meters away. You can buy the bus ticket there to Shantou.

The entire experience is like I am crossing over to JB during weekend and the bus terminal is also similar to JB. Many people are shouting for ticket to different destination. Just like buying bus ticket in JB to KL. Some bus are direct and fast but some make many stops in between and slow, my only worry is got cheated.

I took the same way back to Shenzhen and spent a couple day in Shenzhen to visit a few place of interest and do some shopping. The only different is when returning back to HK I book a 7 seaters toyota to cross the border, again the whole experience is just like book a taxi in JB to return back to Singapore.

s7460597

Just to share my own experience here. I was in Shantou in 2009.

Yes, Jetstar is the only airline flying there but I didn't take the direct flight instead I fly to HK and from there took the MTR to the border to cross over to Shenzhen. Once you clear the custom, there is a bus terminal few meters away. You can buy the bus ticket there to Shantou.

The entire experience is like I am crossing over to JB during weekend and the bus terminal is also similar to JB. Many people are shouting for ticket to different destination. Just like buying bus ticket in JB to KL. Some bus are direct and fast but some make many stops in between and slow, my only worry is got cheated.

I took the same way back to Shenzhen and spent a couple day in Shenzhen to visit a few place of interest and do some shopping. The only different is when returning back to HK I book a 7 seaters toyota to cross the border, again the whole experience is just like book a taxi in JB to return back to Singapore.

Which area did you stay in shantou?

Thanks for sharing. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.