Share your thoughts with a newbie

spiritGate

As there are many experience investor here, I hope you can shed some lights with me on some thoughts that I have.

Firstly, when you just started investment, how much capital do you invest? (5k, 10k, 50k or certain percentage?)

secondly, if let say there is a financial crisis, will you still hold your stock (wait till it recover for blue chips)? or sell it?

Thirdly, when do you sell your shares?

edwinttt1978

As there are many experience investor here, I hope you can shed some lights with me on some thoughts that I have.

Firstly, when you just started investment, how much capital do you invest? (5k, 10k, 50k or certain percentage?)

secondly, if let say there is a financial crisis, will you still hold your stock (wait till it recover for blue chips)? or sell it?

1. <$5k. The more the better.
2. Buy more of the bashed down stocks. Hold. Emergency funds are just for situations like these.
3. Sell when made enough.

alexchia01

1. There is no minimum to invest, but you should break your capital into smaller chunks and enter one chunck at a time. For example, if you have $100k, breaks your $100k into 10 chunck of $10k each and only buy $10k worth of stocks each time you enter a position. Likewise, if you have $10k capital, breaks into 10 chunks of $1k each. This will Lower the impact of your mistakes and give you a more favorable entry price.

2. If you are investing, then no, don't sell on crisis. If you are doing long-term trading, then yes, sell on crisis. The question is what do you plan on doing?

3. For investing, sell when company fundamental change for the worst. For long-term trading, sell when market trend change for the worst.

spiritGate

I just went down to apply for the CDP account and trading account which will be activate 10 days later. I saw the commission and it stated $25. I was wondering if the new scheme roll out (100 shares per lot), will it affect the commission rate? if not, it will be like super bo hua leh

neolaw

I'm also a newbie. Nice to see you :D Let's be friends.

1. I invest a certain percentage of my salary. Say I got $10K (no, not even half of it but this is an example so let me be rich in the example at least). I invest 30% = $3,000. But it's not like I put that money into stock. I put them in an account and when I need to buy stocks/bonds/UT etc, I buy from that account.

2. I will hold.

3. I have not sold. I'll sell when they reach to a point (% point) or when I really really really need that money (when emergency funds run out and have nothing to eat).

spiritGate

I'm also a newbie. Nice to see you :D Let's be friends.

1. I invest a certain percentage of my salary. Say I got $10K (no, not even half of it but this is an example so let me be rich in the example at least). I invest 30% = $3,000. But it's not like I put that money into stock. I put them in an account and when I need to buy stocks/bonds/UT etc, I buy from that account.

2. I will hold.

3. I have not sold. I'll sell when they reach to a point (% point) or when I really really really need that money (when emergency funds run out and have nothing to eat).

Hello! Did you start with those blue chips plan from OCBC or something similar (since as a starter, we are quite low in budget)

CookieMonsta88

1.) The lesser the better when u are starting off, make stupid mistakes on small amounts of money learn from them, stabalize ur p&l then up ur risk profile

2.) Depends on investing or trading, if trading, cut already, if investing, buy even more to average and sell covered calls on part of the position to lower net basis
3.) Sell when good news everyday on news but price not moving up

knightdreamer

I just went down to apply for the CDP account and trading account which will be activate 10 days later. I saw the commission and it stated $25. I was wondering if the new scheme roll out (100 shares per lot), will it affect the commission rate? if not, it will be like super bo hua leh

Spirtgate,

you just open! why you didnt ask about new scheme:( which trading account ocbc or vickers?

spiritGate

Spirtgate,

you just open! why you didnt ask about new scheme:( which trading account ocbc or vickers?

POEMS, I have asked them but they say the commission they don't know yet, I guess they are trying to push the present scheme to me as there are more commission. I have yet to start as my account has not been activated yet. I will go down on the 19th to ask them again to check for the updated price.

spiritGate

Thanks everyone for the input, cause I am looking for long term investment so I really appreciate for the input from you guys :)

limster

In 2008-09, I not only hold all my stock, I went all in and bought as much as possible, using FA as a guide (I did not buy any S-chips because so many other shares were good value).

The worst performer of the shares I bought in 08-09 was Comfort Delgro, average buying price about $1.45, yet price hardly moved during recovery. Still I never sold since can collect dividend. I also removed it from my watchlists as I can't bear to see the price. I only found out what Comfort Delgro shares are trading for last week. So I guess it was lucky that I didn't sell.

Shiny Things

Great questions mate, let's see if we can't give you some answers.

1) I only had a couple thousand bucks when I started, but the thing I didn't have was knowledge. This is the sort of thing that you only really learn the hard way. Put a few thousand dollars into an ETF; watch it go up a bit; and get comfortable with investing regularly.
2) I buy more. I've still got some SPY that I bought for seventy bucks a share in the depths of March 2009.
3) I sell when I need the money (so, when I retire), or when I do my yearly rebalancing.

(Before anyone asks "what's rebalancing?" - rebalancing is when you look at your portfolio each year, and sell or buy stocks to bring your portfolio's percentages back to where they originally were. This is a great idea, because it disciplines you to sell things that have done well; that methodical process of selling the winners and reinvesting them in less-well-performing asset classes adds 1-2% per year to your returns.)

know that the odds are against u
most ppl lose money

Rubbish. There's no particular trick to making money: the only thing you need to do is remember the "and hold" part of buy and hold. The one thing that will lose you money, guaranteed, is chopping and changing your investment plan just because you're not invested in whatever's hot at the moment.

If you just methodically buy and hold, and don't panic during the downturns (this is the hard part), you'll end up doing well.

A lot of people have been asking this, but the answer is "nobody's going to change their commissions". The lot sizes are set by SGX, but the commission amounts are set by the brokers; the two don't have any particular connection.

Also: try Stanchart! No minimum commissions is a hell of a big saving, especially when you only have a small amount to invest: if you're doing $5k into one stock, the Poems $25 minimum is 0.5% of your nut. That's a lot!

neolaw

Hello! Did you start with those blue chips plan from OCBC or something similar (since as a starter, we are quite low in budget)

Hi, I started with OCBC BCIP (2014 June). Until Sep, the commission has no minimum charge. Now, I'm thinking to shift somewhere else.

I did calculations, not optimum but here are what I'm going to do (for hassle-free also):

For stocks that isn't available in OCBC BCIP: Use CIMB securities (I haven't pass CAR yet, may be after that ... Standard Chartered Bank's one).

For STI ETF and ABF ETF, POSB Invest Saver (since 1% is much attractive).

For stocks available in OCBC BCIP, I'll buy 1 lot +/- or 2 lot every month. Their rate, combined with $10 per counter beats most securities firms' minimum commission.

dowzkeh

(1) i started with many 1 or 2 thousand bucks then.... and thinking back it was pretty fortunate, i was barely aware of what stocks and shares are.... to me it was a big gamble, so even when i lost money, to me it was money that i can lose, and the impact on my finances were minimal. So it was good that i risked those when i was an undergrad. And i couldn't diversify back then, it was only enough for 1 lot of mostly anything worth buying.

(2) I can't time the market, so if there is a financial crisis, i will see if the stock is getting more and more value for the price 'mr market' is selling to me, and i will accumulate more.

(3) I sell the share when the fundamentals of the company change. Ie, the business is no longer competitive, and there is no foreseeable future. [or if i need immediate cash for whatsoever reason, then i cash out to meet my needs- hopefully, this never happens]

peterchan75

First thing... patient. The market will always be there for you. In boom time and bust. If you miss it now, there will always be next.

1. Setup your trading account. Broker account and CDP account. Want to use CPF ordinary account(OA) to invest ? Then you need a CPF investment account with a local bank. Your broker can help you on this. I know this is silly. Shares that you own using CPF money will not appear in your CDF account but only in your CPF investment account.

2. Tool of the trade. The last thing you want is to come here and ask to analysis or tips. So where to get knowledge ? Knowledge is power. There are 3 main area of focus... Fundamental, technical and psychology. For a start, look for books like Fundamental Analysis for Dummies. Google is your friend. As you gain more knowledge, you can start to drill deep and wide.

3. Where to get information ? Free or paid information. For a start, please see what your broker can provide. Do you want to have your own charting system ? System can help you do screening and back testing.

There is no shortcut. It's all hard work. You have to steal money from the next guy.

Asphodeli

1) I started out in NS, so with my measly allowance I was playing high risk penny stocks. After I started working I also continued the streak, but after about 2 years I wised up, just in time for the subprime meltdown. Overall I lost quite a lot, but because I started early, the amount I lost can be averaged down to about $50 a month.

2) I will hold and DCA.

3) Depends. If a REIT or company is underperforming, I will sell off and rebalance. As I am still holding on to the penny stocks from my NS days, I wait till either the company delists, or when the price returns to the level at which I bought and sell off.

Sent from GAGT Android App

Asphodeli

POEMS, I have asked them but they say the commission they don't know yet, I guess they are trying to push the present scheme to me as there are more commission. I have yet to start as my account has not been activated yet. I will go down on the 19th to ask them again to check for the updated price.
Dude try Maybank they have a 3 free trades promo. Only if you sign up at Westgate, though...

archcherub

Standard Chartered brokerage account.. no minimum need.
really good to trade low amounts, every bits help!

spiritGate

Standard Chartered brokerage account.. no minimum need.
really good to trade low amounts, every bits help!

Yea, I going down to try to open scb trading account, see if I got any luck of getting accepted lol

Dude try Maybank they have a 3 free trades promo. Only if you sign up at Westgate, though...

hmmmm will try to see how is it cause I dun have any account with Maybank.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.