Sharing our 11D trip to Hokkaido/Tokyo

limweeli

We start the 4 hour drive down to Hakodate, stopping by Usuzan again hehe. After dropping the bags at Toyoko Inn Hakodate, we went to Goryokaku Tower.

Day 7 - Hakodate Goryokaku Tower by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

Weather is hot and humid so we decided not to venture into the park.

Day 7 - Hakodate Goryokaku Park View by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

Along the way, we saw the tram. If we are not driving or have a bit more time, we would have tried it.

Day 7 - Hakodate Tram by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

We visited the Kanemori Red Brick Warehouses.

Day 7 - Hakodate Kanemori Red Brick Warehouses by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

It's near the coast where the yacht are parked.

Day 7 - Hakodate Kanemori Red Brick Warehouses by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

For dinner, we tried Hakodate ramen at Shin-Hakodate Ramen Ryuho. According to an article online, the owner has been selling ramen for 4 decades! Source - Shin-Hakodate Ramen Ryuho | Ramen | Travel Hakodate.

Day 7 - Shin-Hakodate Ramen Ryuho by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

Since Mount Hakodate is off limits to cars in the evening, we bought bus tickets for the ride up. According to the hotel, it's cheaper than to take the ropeway. Thinking back, maybe we should have tried the ropeway for experience. We went up too late and sky is already dark - I am aiming for an evening shot. It's very very crowded up there.

Day 7 - Mount Hakodate Night View - Lots of people viewing by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

Wind is strong and cold and lots of people trampling around. It's hard to setup my travel tripod (which lacks height) for a shot. Nevertheless, I managed to squeezed in front through sheer persistence. Thanks to my wife for taking care of our daughter in this chaos so I can take this shot.
Day 7 - Mount Hakodate Night View by LWL27, on Flickr

limweeli

We reached the hotel very late that day. Thankfully, the bus stops just near Toyoko Inn so it's a short walk back. After putting our daughter to sleep, we enjoy the Snaffle's cheesecake. I am not a cheese person (my wife is) and I find it nice and smooth. Using fresh milk to make cheese is really makes the taste different.

Day 7 - Hakodate Snaffle's Pastery - Cheesecakes by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

-----
Day 8
-----

End of our Hokkaido trip is nearing ... sigh. We went the Morning Market for kaisen don breakfast. I highly recommend staying at Toyoko Inn Hakodate because it's just at the Morning Market streets and within walking distance to the JR/bus station.

Day 8 - Hakodate Morning Market by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

We chose this restaurant for breakfast. The sashimi is very fresh but we find the one in Otaru better.

Day 8 - Hakodate Morning Market - Breakfast restaurant by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

My wife loves scallops so this is hers.

Day 8 - Hakodate Morning Market - Wife's scallop, salmon, sea urchin kaisen don by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

I like crabs hehe.

Day 8 - Hakodate Morning Market - My kani, salmon roe, sea urchin kaisen don by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

We tried the live squid sashimi that is famous here. The tentacles are still moving when we drip shoyu on it. When I place it in my mouth, it does stick to my tongue so we have to bite thoroughly before swallowing. I prefer the sliced body part as it has a fresh squid taste.

Day 8 - Hakodate Morning Market - Squid sashimi by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

This is the tank that our squid came from.

Day 8 - Hakodate Morning Market - Live squid by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

And we bought 2 melons at this stall. We told the owner we are bringing back to SG (using sign language hehe) and she chose 2 raw ones for us.

Day 8 - Hakodate Morning Market - Got our melons here by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

Well, that's the end of our Hokkaido trip. We'll be back!!

limweeli

Nothing much to share for the Tokyo part. Here are some of the more interesting ones.

We saw this ang moh and Japanese wedding shoot at Meiji Shrine. They seems ok with letting the public take their pics. Machiam like celebrities!

Day 9 - Meiji Shrine - Another wedding taking couple by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

When we were at the big Tokyu Hands at Shibuya, we noticed they label the amount of calories burnt at the stairs. How encouraging!

Day 9 - Shibuya - Big Tokyu Hands store by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

After getting to the top (via lift hehe), we gotta reward ourselves with a sandwich at their Hand's Cafe.

Day 9 - Shibuya - Hands Cafe @ Tokyu Hands store by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

In the evening, we went Roppongi Hills and ate at this Cinnabon place (which claims to Seattle's best coffee).

Day 9 - Roppongi - Cinnabon Cafe by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

We had their cinnabon bun. It's sweet and got a strong cinnamon taste. We went back after visiting Mori Towers to tabao. They also got a chocolate coated and almond ones.

Day 9 - Roppongi - Cinnabon Cafe - Cinnabon by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

After the sweet bun, we proceed to the Mori Tower for the city view. At first I wondered why it's so popular because the queue started even before the lift area. Turns out these people are queuing for the Harry Potter Exhibition.

Day 9 - Roppongi Hills - Harry Potter Exhinition @ Mori Tower by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

We bought tickets for the observatory and Sky Deck. I like the view here as it has the iconic Tokyo Tower.
Day 9 - Roppongi Hills Mori Tower Sky Deck - Tokyo night screne by LWL27, on Flickr

limweeli

A few more pics from our last day in Tokyo.

We had a crowded morning at Asakusa before heading to Odaia. I like the general feel of Venus Fort - like the Roman theme interior, the ever changing roof and my fav spot has to be this fountain. However, we don't find anything nice to shop there so we just made our round, have a drink and left.

Day 10 - Odaiba Venus Fort by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

Next, we dropped by Odaiba Seaside Park for this shot. I would have loved to take this in the evening when the rainbow bridge is all lited. Well, maybe next time ...

Day 10 - Odaiba Park - Statue of Liberty on Rainbow bridge by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

After that, we went Ginza where the Chuo Dori is closed to traffic for Sun afternoon shopping. But alias, it was raining heavily and no one walked the street ... wasted ...

Day 10 - Ginza Chuo Dori on a wet Sunday afternoon by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

Lastly, I like to introduce my fav kopi drink while in Japan - Boss Cafe au Liat. It's kinda sweet but the coffee auroma is good. This "craze" started from my Osaka/Kyoto trip earlier this year and now, in Hokkaido/Tokyo too. At this time, the commercial for this Boss drink has Tommy Lee Jones (as the Boss) and SMAP (possibly as the kar-gia).

Day 11 - Last chance at my fav Japanese canned coffee by Wee-Lit, on Flickr

End of my sharing. Hope you guys/gals like it. Do share your trip photos and tips too as we'll be going again :D

chainer22

your pics are making all of us very gian! :s13: can't wait for my turn this december.

anw, mind sharing what camera are you using??

purpleberry

Agree on Boss coffee. Even the no sugar one is not bitter and has a nice lingering taste in the mouth.

ChinTuaKi

Wah bro....nice thread and photos! I went Hokkaido for 9 days self-drive with my wife and 1 1/2 year girl in 2011 too. Itching to go back ever since and now even more so after seeing ur photos.

My itinerary a bit different from yours. Many similar stuffs but some places or activities either we did not do or did not know even exist!

Shall exchange pointers or experiences with you later on with u dun mind.... :)

Great stuff!

limweeli

I went Hokkaido for 9 days self-drive with my wife and 1 1/2 year girl in 2011 too.

My daughter is about 14 months and she kept whining and wanting to roam around. Earlier in the year, I brought her to Osaka/Kyoto at around 9 months and it's must easier when she cannot walk lol.

Shall exchange pointers or experiences with you later on with u dun mind.... :)

Sure!

ChinTuaKi

My daughter is about 14 months and she kept whining and wanting to roam around. Earlier in the year, I brought her to Osaka/Kyoto at around 9 months and it's must easier when she cannot walk lol.

Sure!

Haa...understand man....

I brought her to hong kong on her 1 year bday...to 'test drive' for the trip to hokkaido.....see what we need to look into or bring or take note of.....pretty ok except for one or two meal times, she made a ruckus with her crying and screaming...embarassing and spoilt the fun....

Hokkaido when she was 15 mths aactually....she was actually ok....and enjoyed the trip...and most importantly behaved herself ...phew.

ChinTuaKi

Our trip went like this:

Day 0 flight to narita.

Day 1 flight to chitose.
Collect car from tocoo/nissan.
Drove to sapporo.
Explore odori park and tanukiji shopping and susukino.

Day 2
Drove to Cape Kamui. Absolutely love this.
Then to otaru.
Then bavk to sapporo for the summer beer fest.

Day 3
Went to shiroi kobito choco factory.
Historical park of hokkaido.
One of the museum, must go find the name.
And then the Sapooro tower.

Day 4
Drove to asahikawa.
Asahiyama zoo.
Checked in dormy inn too.

Day 5
Drove to Biei.
Patchwork road and panorama road...although i dunno which is which. Haha. It is too beautiful. We went to hunt for the famous trees by keying into our gps. This day was the highlight for for me.
Shikisai flower farm.
Drove to furano.
Went up the furano ropeway to top of the ski mountain.
Ningle terrace.
Furano marche.

Day 6
Farm tomita.
Anpanman Museum
Jam factory
Cheese factory...like u say...pretty boring.
Winery.

Day 7
Drove to lake toya.
Went to bear park at Showa Shinzan.
Went up the ropeway to top of Usuzan, the volcano. Amazing...still smoking
Checked in hotel at toya kanko hotel.
Had our kaiseki dinner in room.
Then watched the fireworks at lake toya.
Then family onsen! Booked the whole onsen, one outdoor and one indoor. My girl tot swimming pool. Haha

Day 8
Went to a few places around the lake like some ice cream shop at lake.hill.farm. i think....some landmarks along the way.
Then sobetsu for cherry picking.
Drove to chitose for salmon musuem.
Mitsui outlet...then return car.
Airport hotel

DAY 9
Flew to narita...
Asakusa
Shibuya
Shinjuku

Day 10
Disneyland

Day 11 flew home.

Tats the summary off my mind.
Quite a few places u went which i dunno...have to ask u.
And seems like u went more places per day...amazing!

Planning to go next year....this time with 2 baby girls!

limweeli

how much did u pay for car rental? per day, in total, and petrol? thanks!

I use Tocoo as the middle man to get a Toyota Prius 1.8 hybrid from Nippon rent-a-car. I think it's 50610yen for 5 days + ETC & child seat rental + a drop-off charge for returning in Hakodate. It's better that you get a quote from them. I find their rates cheaper than directly from Nippon.

Petrol-wise I only paid less than S$100 (estimate) for about less than 1 full tank throughout my 5 days. I went Sapporo -> Asahikawa -> Biei -> Furano -> Noboribetsu Toyako -> Hakodate so it's considered very efficient liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.