Sheng Siong bak zhang can buy anot?

mummynew

Another Kim Choo nonya chang as gift.

Told me $6.80/pc.

Rating: 6.6/10 (ingredients fresh, a bit more ingredients than Thye but a bit too sweet for my liking).

Conclusion: Not worth the price.

再也找不回儿时的味道。

ricohflex

TS

Cannot buy.

1) Ask where is it made.
Possible answer : Singapore (bluff you, one lah)
Malaysia (more credible answer)
China (they dare not tell you)

2) Ask when was this batch made.
Possible answer : Just this morning (bluff you, one lah)
3 weeks ago (maybe credible)
4 months ago since have to ship from China (most likely accurate answer)

Tetsuconek

I ate bak Zhang this morning... Why need to ask?

zBGzfSF.jpg
This look more like lor Mai gai than bak Zhang.. where the triangle shape??

coyote

This look more like lor Mai gai than bak Zhang.. where the triangle shape??

I don't know... I was served this and definitely taste like a bak Zhang. Lao Mai gai is smaller and have other ingredients like lupcheong.

N4E.SI

Bought ss bak zhang, nonya few days ago. Nonya had more meat filling than the bak zhang. Both dumplings the rice a bit of sourish and rice near the centre not fully cooked.

The reheated nonya dumplings after unwrapped from few meters away had bamboo and pandan aroma but taste was overpowered by the meat five spices and pepper flavoring. Felt thirsty after eating maybe a lot of salt and msg.

Thanks for the honest reviews. I will give it a skip then

Any other place where I can get nice decent taste BZ? Feel like eating next week

Caifan

Yesterday bought a few teochew bazhang from toast box because my mom like it. 6 for $42 i use my breadtalk card. 10% off became $37, about $6.10 each. Tasty but pricey

i remember sheng siong ones were good few years ago. Not sure about now.
I have also tried fragrances (香味)brand. Very big but very little fillings. It has more rice than filling. Cost $3+ feel like eating 饭团 instead of bazhang 🤣

desiresale

Another Kim Choo nonya chang as gift.

Told me $6.80/pc.

Rating: 6.6/10 (ingredients fresh, a bit more ingredients than Thye but a bit too sweet for my liking).

再也找不回儿时的味道。

This joo chiat kim choo isnt the authentic one. Taste is off. The kim choo kueh chang is the authentic. The taste is much better

Caifan

I got this Thye Moh Chan (under breaktalk I heard) bak chang as gift.

Per piece about $7.

Didn't even know what is a teochew chang. It tasted like nonya chang.

Rating 6.5/10 (only the rice is nice. Ingredients seem fresh but taste quite bland. The authentic taste of chang going extinct.)

Can use breadtalk card n get 10% off

i also buy red one is red bean n meat (sweet version) n blue is salty version with salted egg yolk.

mummynew

Now still can make in corridor like that and sell?

Think those who use this 'traditional method' of making chang either passed or very old oredi.

Those who are still alive making these chang out of love (so super hot with charcoal fire). Make a few tens of chang oredi face green green for their advanced ages.

Caifan

This year xiang ye hokkien and nonya bak zhang is good. Rice no sourish taste and smell, rice in the centre fully cooked. Not very salty, did not feel thirsty after eating. Decent amount of fatty meat in hokkien bak zhang.
Xiang ye from square 2 novena is nice but dunno how much is it this year.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.