shinmin...54F doctor from Raffles Medical Group, suddenly died of pneumonia.....

kimsix

life is short, dont always think you can live into the 80s

the top 1% elites makes it even harder for us.

fug them and their propaganda :o

Cmonster

I tio pneumonia in year 1998. I was in the ICU for 9 days. At the normal ward before going to ICU, i remember 10 doctors surround my bed to give me treatment and i fainted a lot of times. basically fightning for my life. after i recovered, doctor told me i'm the third person in record to have infected with pneumonia. before me got 2 person, both up lorry.
Good that you recovered

But I am sure that is not what the doctors told you

Pneumonia has been around forever - It is impossible for you to be the 3rd person in Singapore to have Pneumonia

Pneumonia is inflammation and fluid in your lungs caused by a bacterial, viral or fungal infection.

they likely mean a specific type of infection

Checkyrmed

Don't just give such blanket advice.

People with hypercholesterolemia must take the meds.

And there are other non statin options.
Your kind of blanket statement ignores the nuance of cholesterol metabolism and individual variation. Not everyone with high cholesterol automatically needs medication. Many cases of elevated cholesterol occur in people with healthy insulin sensitivity, low triglycerides, and high HDL, which are not the same as those at risk of atherosclerosis. The root issue is often metabolic dysfunction, not cholesterol itself. While non statin options exist, focusing on improving diet quality, reducing omega 6 intake, and restoring metabolic health should come before lifelong medication.

Tsoukalos

....both her father and husband also doctors....the deceased thought it was a common flu....

a simple virus will kill u covid is only the beginning also but look at the ppl attitude now when govts all over announce covid is over but actually u still living with it & on off u hear ppl gena covid. when the next X virus come it be more jialat.

Moowoow

She looks quite thin in the pics, wonder how can tahan the overly cold air-conditionings in sg hospitals

Mecisteus

Your kind of blanket statement ignores the nuance of cholesterol metabolism and individual variation. Not everyone with high cholesterol automatically needs medication. Many cases of elevated cholesterol occur in people with healthy insulin sensitivity, low triglycerides, and high HDL, which are not the same as those at risk of atherosclerosis. The root issue is often metabolic dysfunction, not cholesterol itself. While non statin options exist, focusing on improving diet quality, reducing omega 6 intake, and restoring metabolic health should come before lifelong medication.
Don't be naive.

That's the problem with you. Every carb is equal. Every high cholesterol is insulin resistant.

There are people with hypercholesterolemia from young due to the genes.

Checkyrmed

Don't be naive.

That's the problem with you. Every carb is equal. Every high cholesterol is insulin resistant.

There are people with hypercholesterolemia from young due to the genes.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-ancestor-diet.7162503/page-20#post-157615973

That’s an oversimplification. Not every high cholesterol case is caused by insulin resistance, but genetic familial hypercholesterolemia affects less than 1 percent of the population, while insulin resistance affects more than 60 percent of adults today.

For most people, high cholesterol reflects poor metabolic health, inflammation, and excess omega 6 intake rather than genetics. Insulin resistance is far more likely to cause plaque buildup than high cholesterol alone. High cholesterol by itself, especially when HDL is good and triglycerides are low, does not necessarily lead to atherosclerosis.

But insulin resistance triggers inflammation, endothelial dysfunction, and oxidation of LDL particles, all of which directly promote plaque formation. In simple terms, cholesterol is the material, but insulin resistance is what makes the body misuse and deposit it in arteries.

Mecisteus

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-ancestor-diet.7162503/page-20#post-157615973

That’s an oversimplification. Not every high cholesterol case is caused by insulin resistance, but genetic familial hypercholesterolemia affects less than 1 percent of the population, while insulin resistance affects more than 60 percent of adults today.

For most people, high cholesterol reflects poor metabolic health, inflammation, and excess omega 6 intake rather than genetics. Insulin resistance is far more likely to cause plaque buildup than high cholesterol alone. High cholesterol by itself, especially when HDL is good and triglycerides are low, does not necessarily lead to atherosclerosis.

But insulin resistance triggers inflammation, endothelial dysfunction, and oxidation of LDL particles, all of which directly promote plaque formation. In simple terms, cholesterol is the material, but insulin resistance is what makes the body misuse and deposit it in arteries.
My point is there are people with FH who may need the meds.

Not everything is about insulin resistance.

Familial hypercholesterolemia (FH) is a genetic condition that causes high cholesterol.

It affects approximately 34 million people worldwide.

If left untreated, FH can lead to early heart disease and heart attacks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.