Should I opt for Optional Component Scheme (OCS)?

iphone88

Hi Brothers and Sisters,

I am going to select the flat soon.
Not sure to opt for OCS scheme?

Flooring is around $5500, Internal Doors & Sanitary Fittings around $3000

If I engage constructor based on OCS quality, would it be cheaper?

Can anyone please share the pros and cons to opt for OCS schemes.

Billion thanks.

Singolee

Hi Brothers and Sisters,

Billion thanks.

No.

Unless you have no cash or lazy

henrylbh

Hi Brothers and Sisters,

Billion thanks.

OCS payable by CPF.

Your own reno payable by Cash and you can have it done your way.

tingsters

no matter what think go out and look for id or contractor la.. since still need to do kitchen, ask them quote within your budget lor..

yes ocs is not really cost saving la, just convenient nah, just that price can be bundle to your flat price and paid thru cpf instead of hard cash..

Pollyannaism

Design:

Are you and your partner very particular with design of the house? Flooring will affect the overall feel of the house. Think twice if you were to buy from HDB coz I know of alot of people who opted the OCS ended up overlaying the tiles simply because it's hard to maintain or for aesthetics reason. Lets not get to the workmanship part since it really depends on luck :p

Price:
Flooring per sq foot is about $3 and up depending on material + cement screeding of about $3k and up. Do the calculation and you can roughly get the estimate if you were to buy from flooring companies. If you are on a tight budget, then opt in for OCS since it's paid using cpf.

I opted out the sanitary fittings and flooring coz it's simply not to my liking. You might want to visit HDB and see the actual sample of the flooring.

iphone88

Design:

Are you and your partner very particular with design of the house? Flooring will affect the overall feel of the house. Think twice if you were to buy from HDB coz I know of alot of people who opted the OCS ended up overlaying the tiles simply because it's hard to maintain or for aesthetics reason. Lets not get to the workmanship part since it really depends on luck :p

Price:
Flooring per sq foot is about $3 and up depending on material + cement screeding of about $3k and up. Do the calculation and you can roughly get the estimate if you were to buy from flooring companies. If you are on a tight budget, then opt in for OCS since it's paid using cpf.

I opted out the sanitary fittings and flooring coz it's simply not to my liking. You might want to visit HDB and see the actual sample of the flooring.

Then I better opt out.
Majority hdb owner choose OCS. hmm...

hotstuff4u

I think the flooring is cheap...I saw outside $5k alone for 3room HDB flat...

But sanitary fitting so ex leh...bifold doors n timber doors n wash basins need $3k meh??? I am thinking of opting out of sanitary ....still researching...

I also question myself the same thing yesterday...hope more people could share their thought

Lss

saw last bto flooring not tiles throughout. its tiles in living room and vinyl in the rooms.

not sure if can top up to make it tiles throughout.

if cant i wont recommend it if you dont like vinyl. end up have to retile the rooms will cost more.

Laura.luna

i guess different project will have different kinds of flooring.

i was thinking about this as well.

iphone88

just think to lock the flooring cost by OCS.
Worry the price go up after 4 years...

duckie_15

No... My relative hse pretty new, titles already scratched. So ugly with black lines.

iphone88

Because the majority of HDB owners don't renovate (or do only very minor renovations).

i maybe one of them. plan to fork out $40k for reno but feel waste money.
hmm...
cheapest plan is OCS. just buy furniture then can stay immediately.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.