Should I tip off this cyberattack to the news?

SmokeBomb

You work for OG arh???

I think big or small, company got report one... Difference is, is it news worthy to get feature.

I think the PDPA rule requires all data breech to be reported. Unless you know your ex company didn't then, you may have some dirt on them... If not, wait you end up tio owned.

starry_starry_night

Hello Peepos!

I have left a particular company like almost 6 mths. Left cause of some small politics blah blah blah, and well also cause its time for me to go after a looong time in that co. So just nice i would say.

Now recently I received an email from them regarding a cyberattack on their IT system and there's breach of personal data and i was one of the victim. WTS.
Bank info, DOB, NRIC etc, even my previous remuneration also kena! Quite extensive.

Also, should i tip this off to the news and make a big hooha and then claim them for this leak?
You leak out to news ended up your get anything meh? Don't make the reporter life any easier liao la their life already jin song just lurk in edmw kope news and chut propoganda only liao.

But of course I wouldn't stop you from suing your ex company for the leak though.

mirukuboi

yes you should

shame all these companies with shiat IT security systems

znlee11

You work for OG arh???

I think big or small, company got report one... Difference is, is it news worthy to get feature.

I think the PDPA rule requires all data breech to be reported. Unless you know your ex company didn't then, you may have some dirt on them... If not, wait you end up tio owned.
Yeah the rules state that breaches has to be reported. Well. the letter i received stated that they have reported to relevant authorities and SPF.
Why will tio owned? I dont get it lei. They were the one who leaked my data. Hahaha.

znlee11

You leak out to news ended up your get anything meh? Don't make the reporter life any easier liao la their life already jin song just lurk in edmw kope news and chut propoganda only liao.

But of course I wouldn't stop you from suing your ex company for the leak though.
Can get some sort of compensation or not? My Bank info, DOB, NRIC etc, even my previous remuneration are leaked. Not serious enough ar?

SmokeBomb

Yeah the rules state that breaches has to be reported. Well. the letter i received stated that they have reported to relevant authorities and SPF.
Why will tio owned? I dont get it lei. They were the one who leaked my data. Hahaha.
As in you never know what the company may do to get back at you for trying to pull a cheap shot on them.

tfkmueh

Doesnt state its confidential or secretive. Just a very general letter of what info are leaked, and what they have done, and any questions to email them at xxx, and blah blah blah say they take it very seriously.
my honest suggestion is to make police report on the company failure to kept your data private and then mail to the media to see if they are interested in the story.

but this meant not anon anymore and like other state, not big enough of a news.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.