Show Me The Money

Shepherd Boy

This is the continuation of my previous thread on “Financial Planning 101”.
In my previous thread, i touched on the importance of having insurance. Somehow it was being under “review” and subsequently i was banned for the reason of having “Unsolicited Content (Commercial solicitation / Ads / Referrals / Spam)”. :s22:

As i mentioned right from the beginning, the reason for posting this thread is my way of “giving back” to the society (after having been in the industry for 20 years and counting).
So here it goes again, i would like to continue on the topic of Finanicial Planning 101.

Part 3- Investment Planning
Just like the previous thread when i talked about insurance, I zoomed in on the importance of having an Integrated Shield Plan (aka “IP”). Today i just want to focus on Stock Investing which is one of the wide range of products we can choose from in the process of Investment Planning. And out of so many styles of Stock Investing, i just want to talk about one that has benefited me greatly by using it’s concept called: “Value Investing”.
According to Investopedia, “Value Investing” is defined as “an investment strategy where stocks are selected that trade for less than their intrinsic values. Value investors actively seek stocks they believe the market has undervalued. Investors who use this strategy believe the market overreacts to good and bad news, resulting in stock price movements that do not correspond with a company's long-term fundamentals, giving an opportunity to profit when the price is deflated.”
In short, using the layman’s term, this is what you called “buy low, sell high!”
However, to fully understand how it really works; one must first understand the concept underlying it’s philosophy. This concept which was made popular by the late Benjamin Graham, who was dubbed “the Father Of Value Investing” as well as Warren Buffet’s mentor is commonly known as: “Margin Of Safety”.

Basically how it works is like this:
Say you have done your homework through research and study (by analyzing its fundamentals using “Discounted Cash Flow”, “Dividend Discount Model”, or basing estimates on P/E. PEG ratio and what have you) and have finally come up with a fair “intrinsic value” of a company. If the market price of the company falls below it’s intrinsic value by just a little, you should then just wait and see in hoping that it will drop some more, and more and more.. In other word, you will only buy it when the price is far below it’s intrinsic value. Hence, the difference between the intrinsic value of a stock and its market price is what you called “Margin of Safety”.

Warren Buffet best illustrates it like this:”You have to have the knowledge to enable you to make a very general estimate about the value of the underlying business. But you do not cut it close. That is what Ben Graham meant by having a margin of safety. You don’t try to buy businesses worth $83 million for $80 million. You leave yourself an enormous margin. When you build a bridge, you insist it can carry 30,000 pounds, but you only drive 10,000 pound trucks across it. And that same principle works in investing.”

By now if you still don’t understand what is Margin of Safety and the concept of it, then think of it like you are running a business. It tells you how much you can lose on your sales before your company starts losing money. Or in Engineering term, Margin of Safety is your Factor of safety (FoS). It’s measured by the amount of extra load beyond the structure of a system could actually carry. Simply put, Margin of Safety is your “buffer”. In other words, it helps you to be more “kiasu”. Just associate the word “Value Investing” with ”Kiasu Investing”, you will have better understanding of it i guess. :s12:
Happy Investing! :)

“It’s far better to buy a wonderful company at a fair price, than a fair company at a wonderful price.”
Warren Buffet

akwl88

because u tell pple to look for you ma, akin to soliciting liao

investing planning is good but separate insurance and investment ie, whole-life, endowments and ilps

these products are mostly crap

Shepherd Boy

because u tell pple to look for you ma, akin to soliciting liao

investing planning is good but separate insurance and investment ie, whole-life, endowments and ilps

these products are mostly crap

You are the only one who i "solicit" to take up my services, since you like to make sweeping statements like an empty vessel making most noises!
And truth be told, I won't take you in even if you are really keen to engage my services. After all, we are of a different league and i don't want to be seen as a bully to you.

akwl88

You are the only one who i "solicit" to take up my services, since you like to make sweeping statements like an empty vessel making most noises!
And truth be told, I won't take you in even if you are really keen to engage my services. After all, we are of a different league and i don't want to be seen as a bully to you.

sounds like a self proclaimed "grand master financial expert" :s13:

cont to dream and scam pple

karma will get you ;)

Shepherd Boy

sounds like a self proclaimed "grand master financial expert" :s13:

cont to dream and scam pple

karma will get you ;)

If a simple concept of Value Investing = "grand master financial expert" to you... i rest my case.

Long way to go, boy.

Peace :)

akwl88

If a simple concept of Value Investing = "grand master financial expert" to you... i rest my case.

Long way to go, boy.

Peace :)

''You are the only one who i "solicit" to take up my services, since you like to make sweeping statements like an empty vessel making most noises!
And truth be told, I won't take you in even if you are really keen to engage my services. After all, we are of a different league and i don't want to be seen as a bully to you.''

where did you mention value investing in your comment? :s22:

stop acting like some grandmaster :vijayadmin:

you act more like a wolf in sheep skin :eek:

TabascoSauce

Half of it is unnecessary crap. The other half are basic stuff that can be easily found online. The most u did is u added some Singaporean slants. That's all 20 years of industry exp can offer? How is this giving back?

Mecisteus

After 20 years, you must have scammed a lot of money from innocent people.

Why don't you Give Us Back The Money instead. Treat us a nice dinner or something.

Perisher

Previous threads by TS openly asked for business,/pm, solicit for clients. Contrary to being banned for 'i touched on the importance of having insurance.'

If TS isn't clear why he/she is banned, kindly approach the mod in feedback forum instead of making up a reason.

Shepherd Boy

Half of it is unnecessary crap. The other half are basic stuff that can be easily found online. The most u did is u added some Singaporean slants. That's all 20 years of industry exp can offer? How is this giving back?

Having been living on this earth for almost 50 years and counting, i can safely say i have seen almost all kind of people including people like you. Let me ask you this, “If you think my thread is full of crap to you, then do you really think your comment is gold to me?” My point is this: My thread, my story. Not happy to eat my crab here? Maybe you should just go somewhere else and mind your own business. Or best of all, maybe you should just go cook chilli crab yourself? :s12:
In today’s age and era, almost everything can be found online. The basic concept of Margin Of Safety is not a new concept at all.In fact, there is really “nothing new under the sun” as the saying goes. But it doesn’t mean it is not worth repeating here. Someone who is a novice investor may pick up something here today and is inspired to go deeper in his investment skills. And that to me, is my way of giving back. :)

Shepherd Boy

Previous threads by TS openly asked for business,/pm, solicit for clients. Contrary to being banned for 'i touched on the importance of having insurance.'

If TS isn't clear why he/she is banned, kindly approach the mod in feedback forum instead of making up a reason.

i hear you loud and clear. So clear that i even quoted it on my thread itself: "Somehow it was being under “review” and subsequently i was banned for the reason of having “Unsolicited Content (Commercial solicitation / Ads / Referrals / Spam)”.

I think i did not make up any reason, this was the reason you have given to me: "having “Unsolicited Content (Commercial solicitation / Ads / Referrals / Spam)”. :)

Perisher

i hear you loud and clear. So clear that i even quoted it on my thread itself: "Somehow it was being under “review” and subsequently i was banned for the reason of having “Unsolicited Content (Commercial solicitation / Ads / Referrals / Spam)”.

I think i did not make up any reason, this was the reason you have given to me: "having “Unsolicited Content (Commercial solicitation / Ads / Referrals / Spam)”. :)

Ok. Good to know. ;)

limster

the problem i have with this thread is that it doesn't seem very likely that he somehow made all this clients wealthy through 'value investing.'

Studies have shown overall, that you cannot outperform the market through stockpicking, which means that it is possible that some clients may have outperformed the market but the majority will not, especially when fees and expenses of 'advisors' are charged :D

TabascoSauce

Having been living on this earth for almost 50 years and counting, i can safely say i have seen almost all kind of people including people like you. Let me ask you this, “If you think my thread is full of crap to you, then do you really think your comment is gold to me?” My point is this: My thread, my story. Not happy to eat my crab here? Maybe you should just go somewhere else and mind your own business. Or best of all, maybe you should just go cook chilli crab yourself? :s12:
In today’s age and era, almost everything can be found online. The basic concept of Margin Of Safety is not a new concept at all.In fact, there is really “nothing new under the sun” as the saying goes. But it doesn’t mean it is not worth repeating here. Someone who is a novice investor may pick up something here today and is inspired to go deeper in his investment skills. And that to me, is my way of giving back. :)

U have your right to post ur crap on a public forum and i have my right to say it is crap. U don't need to take my comment as gold, it is jus my opinion of how I feel about the content of ur thread. How u wan to take other ppl criticism is entirely up to u and ur upbringing.

And if u know the things u say is easily found elsewhere, what's the point of repeating it here? Tell ppl things that Onli ppl with 20 years of experience can tell. For example, what are the common pitfalls made by Singaporeans? Wat investments styles would u recommend to ppl with different risk profiles and financial situation? How can one set up a fuss free investment arrangement in the context of singapore?

wahkao3

the problem i have with this thread is that it doesn't seem very likely that he somehow made all this clients wealthy through 'value investing.'

Studies have shown overall, that you cannot outperform the market through stockpicking, which means that it is possible that some clients may have outperformed the market but the majority will not, especially when fees and expenses of 'advisors' are charged :D

here's one study i conducted
40% ppl say can huat using value investing. 60% say cannot huat

Jy69Qsb.png

[Poll,GPGT]Value investing can give at least 15% return per year, true or false?

According to 8i investment, value investing can give 15%-25% return per year.
True or false?

EE9Z2YP.jpg

wahkao3

maybe some ppl dunno what is value investing leh?
u walk out on the street and ask them "do you know what is value investing?", they probably will shake head blur blur de

u expert but other ppl may not be expert

elnewbie

I'll probably make more money giving courses on Value Investing.

here's one study i conducted
40% ppl say can huat using value investing. 60% say cannot huat

Jy69Qsb.png

[Poll,GPGT]Value investing can give at least 15% return per year, true or false?

According to 8i investment, value investing can give 15%-25% return per year.
True or false?

EE9Z2YP.jpg

Shepherd Boy

U have your right to post ur crap on a public forum and i have my right to say it is crap. U don't need to take my comment as gold, it is jus my opinion of how I feel about the content of ur thread. How u wan to take other ppl criticism is entirely up to u and ur upbringing.

And if u know the things u say is easily found elsewhere, what's the point of repeating it here? Tell ppl things that Onli ppl with 20 years of experience can tell. For example, what are the common pitfalls made by Singaporeans? Wat investments styles would u recommend to ppl with different risk profiles and financial situation? How can one set up a fuss free investment arrangement in the context of singapore?

Yes, just as you have the right to post your golden comment on a public forum, i also have the right to say it is indeed golden. You don't need to take my comment as gold, it is just my opinion of how I feel about the content of your comment. How you want to take other people compliment is entirely up to you and your upbringing too.

And if you know the things you comment is easily found elsewhere, what's the point of repeating here? Comment things that only people with a right can comment. For example, what are the common commenting pitfalls made by Singaporeans? What commenting styles would you recommend to people with different age profiles and thread content? How can one set up a comment free public forum arrangement in the context of Singapore?

TabascoSauce

Yes, just as you have the right to post your golden comment on a public forum, i also have the right to say it is indeed golden. It is just my opinion of how I feel about the content of your comment. How you want to take other people compliment is entirely up to you and your upbringing too.

And if you know the things you comment is easily found elsewhere, what's the point of repeating here? Comment things that only people with a right can comment. For example, what are the common commenting pitfalls made by Singaporeans? What commenting styles would you recommend to people with different age profiles and thread content? How can one set up a comment free public forum arrangement in the context of Singapore?

guess that's the furthest u can go. now i understand it dosnt take much substance to be good in sales.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.