SIM UOL students lip lais! - Part 5

seanysp

Haha why so many people go and do variance? For me I had problems with variance since POA so once I saw variance I immediately siam-ed that question LOL. I feel that variance is the most difficult part in MA. Never managed to get it. :s22: Anyway I managed to finish the paper with 15 minutes to spare. Saw quite a number of people walk out after 2 hours though. Dunno how they do so fast sia...

variance is free marks leh just have to remember the formulas which actually remember a few can link the rest already

ZhouXingXing

james kwan students sure no problem with theory one
all his assignments :s22:

He dont teach in sim le.. i just study more on theory cos i knew cant rely on calculation..

I did the variance qns and felt it was ok... Completed in time, but threw the biggest smoke bomb for theory (did responsibility accting as the first qns). Did u guys include operating expenses for qns 1? I think FR was harder for me this year sigh!

qn 1 not transfer pricing ??:s22:

utorz-

Ya transfer pricing. I meant i did the theory question as the first quesition haha! The RI for the company is all the same. I commented (among other things) that the div shld negotiate. Dont know out of point not lol

Garlic & Butter

Do you all find MA tough or still managable?

personally, MA is relatively easy, but the awful thing is, questions are too long and not enough time. I dint finish. this year no decision qns very good alr

I did 1,3,4,5

question 3 was quite a "ambiguous" question to me.. found it hard to understand what is required in part b and c. think i kissed 20 marks goodbye

Q4 sales mix is tedious, but also do-able. just that the numbers are all rounded up/down so not sure how it will be marked

Q1 transfer price another one. i took 15mins to figgure out the transfer price in part a. then need to decide to use which market price ($4.50 or $9.50).

Q5 think most ppl did it also.. tikam can get about 10marks

Garlic & Butter

james kwan students sure no problem with theory one
all his assignments :s22:

really miss his teaching lo! thanks to him i got a good grade for FR. would had chose him for MA if he never left.
Joanna sigh... she lack the catalyst.
think thats the problem with some SIM lecturers. the really good ones are rare. some industry practitioners as lecturers also cmi, but he is really good, although very fierce.

most can teach, few can make us learn

MR.SAINT

For those who did qn 4 of ma, the breakeven units issit based on fixed costs only den after which find operating income for the remaining units to meet 20000 units?

Garlic & Butter

I took a brief look at 3, is it a balanced scorecard qns? 9.50 price?
qns 3 my fren say is customer profitability analysis qns..no specific format or topic i think

out of curiosity, i calculated. 9.50 is what Lumber sells to its own customers
and Forest was selling to its own at only $4.50

Garlic & Butter

For those who did qn 4 of ma, the breakeven units issit based on fixed costs only den after which find operating income for the remaining units to meet 20000 units?

for part A, my weighted contribution was $149. so fixed costs is 25million, so thats 167786 units (before 30-70 splitting) to breakeven

to find OI, me use 250,000 x 30% or 70% x respective cont, to get respective total contribution, then deduct the 25m to get profit.. duno tio anot :(

Denikeve

U guys who are bad mouthing Daniel tan, really very ungrateful. This yr's CF is tough but doesn't mean it's really like what u ppl say 2/10 taught are tested. I was aiming to do 3 calculation + 1 theory but ended up doing 3 theories + 1 calculation, the theories qn are all covered during his lecture, he also went thru NPV n that face value qn before, I have nothing to complain about him. Oh ya n btw I was in his POA class before n I got 2nd upper.

I don't think I will need a lecturer to go through theory questions? it's pure memory work.

Daniel tan, bad person? no of cos not. bad lecturer? yes most definitely.

and like what the other person said, getting second upper in poa is easy, irregardless of lecturer.

supersunshine

for part A, my weighted contribution was $149. so fixed costs is 25million, so thats 167786 units (before 30-70 splitting) to breakeven

to find OI, me use 250,000 x 30% or 70% x respective cont, to get respective total contribution, then deduct the 25m to get profit.. duno tio anot :(

ya I do like that also!

utorz-

thats what I did too.

For (b) I took,
25,000,000 - 75,000(100) + the operating income in (a) + 4,000,000 and divided it by only ASP-11's contribution to find the number of ASP-11 needed...

for (c) i applied price inflation x inflation to all variable costs and fixed cost and only applied the firm inflation to price. dont know correct anot... lol.
But I made sure to write explicitly that the inflation is on top of the price inflation...
even wanted for find the average costs and prices but what the heck, for 5marks i think i thinking too much, so I wrote explicitly that i will be apply costs and price at expected year end prices =\

ZhouXingXing

yup i also round up if not look very weird leh cos of the decimal thingy but sadly i only managed to 3/4 of part a den time up :eek:

anyone spotting for IS for the section B? lol

me.. going to aim the so called no right no wrong ans qn.. hope those familiar one will appear

Garlic & Butter

thats what I did too.

For (b) I took,
25,000,000 - 75,000(100) + the operating income in (a) + 4,000,000 and divided it by only ASP-11's contribution to find the number of ASP-11 needed...

for (c) i applied price inflation x inflation to all variable costs and fixed cost and only applied the firm inflation to price. dont know correct anot... lol.
But I made sure to write explicitly that the inflation is on top of the price inflation...
even wanted for find the average costs and prices but what the heck, for 5marks i think i thinking too much, so I wrote explicitly that i will be apply costs and price at expected year end prices =\
i cant rem wat i did for (b), but i think still must factor in weighted contribution?
i duno about the inflation leh sighh.. i add 6% to sales price, and 8% to all other costs, incld the 25m fixed cost.

utorz-

most calculations had decimals.. i rounded up all of them.. duno correct anot leh
cos technically if u round down u will get a loss :(

Since (b) ask to find the new operating income, i took the opportunity to show that the new amount has increase in 4million, got 3,999,970 and said it was because of rounding error..
damn kiasu.

but i remember the anthony cook guy mention before that some rounding error is acceptable? or maybe i remember wrong....hmm

utorz-

i cant rem wat i did for (b), but i think still must factor in weighted contribution?
i duno about the inflation leh sighh.. i add 6% to sales price, and 8% to all other costs, incld the 25m fixed cost.

I only used ASP-11 because,
if contribution is the amount contributed to FC and ASP-6 is fixed (as given in the question) it is like finding the amount of ASP-11 to meet targeted profit mah.
but dont know lah, just bopi next year i don't have to do all these again!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.