SIMBA Telecom discussion thread

gapboy

Anyway, folks.

After 3 weeks returning to SIMBA. I'm sad to say that the speed is really CMI in term of data loading (downloading) while using apps compared to other MVNOs! :sleep: Haiz! 🤦‍♂️

I'm going to port-out soon and going back to VIVIFI for its aweowne speed! :giggle:

Bye again soon!
haha~ omg again XD

sullycoin

Since the release, Apple decided to implement it firstly for that particular model by permanently removing the Physical SIM slot and needed to do registration through some code via your email / SMS, in order to use the telco services with an eSIM feature only.
This only applies to the iPhone 14 range for the US market. iPhone 14s sold in the rest of the world (including Singapore) retains the physical SIM slot. The Hong Kong/China models has dual physical SIM slot but no eSIM support.

So, unless you bought your iPhone 14 Pro Max in the US, you still have a physical SIM slot which you can insert the SIMBA SIM card into.

kelvinti

haha~ omg again XD
No choice! Cannot tahan sia! Feel likes I'm riding a 100cc mini scooter going up the hill bah! 🤭

VIVIFI Binge plan has auto roaming enabled by default and can subscribe to its data roaming too as and when I need to travel! So, ya....! I shall say no more here! Bye! :cool:

gapboy

No choice! Cannot tahan sia! Feel likes I'm riding a 100cc mini scooter going up the hill bah! 🤭

VIVIFI Binge plan has auto roaming enabled by default and can subscribe to its data roaming too as and when I need to travel! So, ya....! I say no more here! Bye! :cool:
it is a 80cc not 100cc XD

Hi1307

Anyway, folks.

After 3 weeks returning to SIMBA. I'm sad to say that the speed is really CMI in term of data loading (downloading) while using apps compared to other MVNOs! :sleep: Haiz! 🤦‍♂️

I'm going to port-out soon and going back to VIVIFI for its aweowne speed! :giggle:

Bye again soon!
GOT $30 CHARGE IF YOU PORT OUT WITHIN 1MTH

ekardo

In Perth now, tmd, whole day but tpg still no signal, despite powering down and up phone and even testing in both android and Apple phone.
Anyone knows how to resolve this? Still thot of switching to tpg $25 for 10gb roaming data. This makes me totally no confidence at all.

sullycoin

In Perth now, tmd, whole day but tpg still no signal, despite powering down and up phone and even testing in both android and Apple phone.
Anyone knows how to resolve this? Still thot of switching to tpg $25 for 10gb roaming data. This makes me totally no confidence at all.
Has been mentioned quite a few times in this forum that roaming in Australia is slow/problematic. I would not rely on SIMBA roaming in Australia.

Ulupandan

can share with us what is currently shown on the status of “support Intl (international) Roaming” after log in using browser (not SIMBA app) ? wonder if that “status” helps to tell user if the number is roaming ready ?

“ after log in using web browser, click on the Home icon, next to the Home icon, your mobile number will appear with hyperlink , then click on your mobile number, then it brings you to a page with the word Features , look below this Feature you see an arrow (or triangle) with the word Mobile Service, click on the arrow to expand the display, then scroll down through the lists (should be item number 11 or there about) and look for support Intl Roaming , look across this row to see if true is display ? or false display ?

Eost002

Simba 100gb plan good? I planning to use it as secondary sim for remote desktop.

The first 50 is untrottled? And next 50gb is throttled?

Jurong640

Simba 100gb plan good? I planning to use it as secondary sim for remote desktop.

It's good for secondary sim or as a data sim or router.

The plan is 100GB at full speed. Thereafter, your data service will stop. You will need to top-up funds into your account to resume data service, it will cost $1/GB.

lohsenglte

Remote desktop? As in the computer connected to SIMBA SIM is the client or the server?

Also, for the other side (assuming it's remote server), what ISP is it connected to?

This is a very important question, as afaik, if u directly connect between SingTel and SIMBA, the latency will be horrible. Something like 300ms excluding overheads.

StarHub/M1 and SIMBA is much more manageable, will be limited by LTE latency (I.e. 30ms or so).

Of course, for indirect connection, for example through OTT services like TeamViewer, the latency would be different. I'm saying direct connection through services like MS RDP.

Eost002

Remote desktop? As in the computer connected to SIMBA SIM is the client or the server?

Also, for the other side (assuming it's remote server), what ISP is it connected to?

This is a very important question, as afaik, if u directly connect between SingTel and SIMBA, the latency will be horrible. Something like 300ms excluding overheads.

StarHub/M1 and SIMBA is much more manageable, will be limited by LTE latency (I.e. 30ms or so).

Of course, for indirect connection, for example through OTT services like TeamViewer, the latency would be different. I'm saying direct connection through services like MS RDP.
Ms RDP, team viewer or any desk. I think if device is in Singapore, it should be fine.

ekardo

can share with us what is currently shown on the status of “support Intl (international) Roaming” after log in using browser (not SIMBA app) ? wonder if that “status” helps to tell user if the number is roaming ready ?

“ after log in using web browser, click on the Home icon, next to the Home icon, your mobile number will appear with hyperlink , then click on your mobile number, then it brings you to a page with the word Features , look below this Feature you see an arrow (or triangle) with the word Mobile Service, click on the arrow to expand the display, then scroll down through the lists (should be item number 11 or there about) and look for support Intl Roaming , look across this row to see if true is display ? or false display ?

Hi, my number have no issue with msia and Cebu just 1 week ago. Now in aust I am not getting registered to any network. Crap.

007Mi6

SIMBA a bit Cham.

out of sudden call cannot come in and need to airplane mode to get the calls in again

sullycoin

Hi, my number have no issue with msia and Cebu just 1 week ago. Now in aust I am not getting registered to any network. Crap.
Try manually searching & connecting to Vodafone. It sometimes work but super slow. According to SIMBA's documentation, Optus is also a partner network but I had no luck connecting to Optus, even manually.

Just bite the bullet and get a local prepaid card. They are dirt cheap & easy to get set up.

ekardo

Try manually searching & connecting to Vodafone. It sometimes work but super slow. According to SIMBA's documentation, Optus is also a partner network but I had no luck connecting to Optus, even manually.

Just bite the bullet and get a local prepaid card. They are dirt cheap & easy to get set up.
Ya. Didn't expect to rely on tpg since only 1gb free but thot can tahan for at least first few hour when arrive in airport till I get the simcard after getting my rented car done. But failed totally. Day 3 Liao still no connection. Contacted tpg but no solution except for standard like LTE, must be connected 48hrs before flying, etc. All general advise but nothing about how I can get my line working in aust.

Sorry, just going to stick to this $5 senior plan as spare line instead of switching my main line to the $25 10gb data roam plan.

lohsenglte

I think it got to do with Orange France peering with Australia.

Afterall, traffic from Europe to Australia is almost traversing through from one end of the globe to another. The latency ought to be high. It might be the cause of the handshake failures.

ranchfarm

Anyway, folks.

Bye again soon!
Wow, after convincing me to switch to Simba, you jump ship.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.