Singapore Savings Bonds

SiGendut

Meemoosaa

Come In see look…. Long time no hang around here but I usually check in when SSB is above 3% to see if there’s any buzz going on. Looks like everyone is more into T-bills these days ?

sglandscape

Come In see look…. Long time no hang around here but I usually check in when SSB is above 3% to see if there’s any buzz going on. Looks like everyone is more into T-bills these days ?
People's horizon here not so long it seems but the current month SSB at above 3% is worth it for sure.

abcde83

3+% was a godsend not long ago when money rushed into cpf oa at 2.5%....

3+% is decent enough. heck it's only 200k, what's the fuss anyway

havetheveryfun

$200k at 3% or 3.5% is a difference of $10,000 over ten years. It’s about $83 per month. Perhaps can get 15 simple lunches of $5-6 each. Can be quite significant to many people.
but ssb havent reach 3.5% yet so far?

or u mean like short term ppl prefer other instrument than ssb cos giving higher than 3%?

BBCWatcher

Fixed deposit for dbs only 12 month already 3.2 percent.
Max can put 20k only leh
HSBC is currently offering 3.45% p.a. on a 12 month fixed deposit for $30,000 or more. RHB is offering 3.40% p.a. on a 12 month fixed deposit for $20,000 or more. At $20,000 and below (down to $1,000 minimum) it looks like DBS has the best 12 month fixed deposit offer (or at least tied).

That's this month (August, 2023). Rates and offers change all the time, of course.

The SDIC coverage limit is $75,000 per depositor.

magicming

but ssb havent reach 3.5% yet so far?

or u mean like short term ppl prefer other instrument than ssb cos giving higher than 3%?
Just for example. But I did manage to get some 3.47% SSB. My main point is returns from $200k can create significant difference in life for quite a few people. So, I’m redeeming those below 2.5% SSBs. And going to buy new 3.xx% SSBs. I’ve already been a bit late. 😀 Because I also thot, never mind. Don’t need to bother. But I should bother. !!!

zeroX26

Just for example. But I did manage to get some 3.47% SSB. My main point is returns from $200k can create significant difference in life for quite a few people. So, I’m redeeming those below 2.5% SSBs. And going to buy new 3.xx% SSBs. I’ve already been a bit late. 😀 Because I also thot, never mind. Don’t need to bother. But I should bother. !!!
Pls lah, at this %, it was so oversub that everyone was allocated 14 or 14.5k max nia.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.