Singapore Savings Bonds

vsvs24

How u all calculate these projections de?
Is it accurate or info given by Mas?
MAS provided the formula they used and provide the data too. I use to have to use excel to do the projections.

@hwckhs did us all a great favour by automating it.

10 years projection ie 10 years average is quite accurate. For first 9 years especially the initial few years, they tend to adjust downwards a bit to smoothen the curve

Laneige

this mth seem high...
if i have $ in SRS? only 9k plus is buy SSB or Tbills, which one better?

not sure if this been covered before, saw first page didnt see...

SSB what if i want to sell before 10yrs r up? Selling price based on what?
Any penalty? TIA

Laneige

Stock ETF Tbill SSB in CDP quite safe and will not eat our dividends and redemption. I have verified them since 2000s. They quite stable and they are SGX subsidiary should be won't close shop
wa jialat i all along never check n liked now i see my SRS? acc have outstanding then i realised some $ r back from T bills.... shld be ok no need to check ba? I v slack n lazy ... :crazy:

reddevil0728

this mth seem high...
Since you so slack and lazy kind ssb best

Any penalty? TIA
Pay $2 to to redeem at face value
wa jialat i all along never check n liked now i see my SRS? acc have outstanding then i realised some $ r back from T bills.... shld be ok no need to check ba? I v slack n lazy ... :crazy:
if you slack and lazy then so long you ok with consequences then ok lor

lzydata

this mth seem high...

Any penalty? TIA

If you like something you can buy and forget, SSB is surely the better choice, since it will sit there for as long as 10 years if you just leave it there :LOL:

But seriously, although T-bills currently yield higher than the equivalent - the 1st year yield of SSB - SSB is still a good choice if you want a safe and zero volatility investment that you don't want to have to worry about. And you have the option to redeem it anytime, with a delay of about a month, like if you want to reinvest it in a higher yielding SSB.

TehSi99

If Fed makes another interest hike, what are the chances SSB interest to follow or already priced in ahead?

reddevil0728

If Fed makes another interest hike, what are the chances SSB interest to follow or already priced in ahead?
This one no formula to it.

but the fact that they said potentially one more hike means it’s a known fact means market might have priced in

BBCWatcher

Financial markets always price in consensus expectations. If the market consensus is that the Federal Reserve will surely raise interest rates by X then that’s already priced in.

Of necessity SSB rates slightly lag the market for Singapore Government Securities.

RedsYWNA

SSB will follow, if the market is convinced 'the higher for longer' is going to stay for a pretty long time.

reddevil0728

SSB will follow, if the market is convinced 'the higher for longer' is going to stay for a pretty long time.
I don’t think it’s a qns about whether it will follow.

more about how fast it will.

is it a case of it will continue to rise.

or it will do an almost immediate correction upwards and stay there without rising further.

because a lot of ppl think that it will continue to rise in future, but in fact it might have been priced in upfront and plateau. So in effect it will be same same and then start to drop in the longer term.

Laneige

I have a qn leh
Mine is aug22
Shld b 2%+++
so I tried to test out redeem but it’s hmm
The system never prompt me how much I will be getting for interest
Only eg 9k which is the amt I put in
No interest for 2022-2023?
Because I am thinking of terminating this 9k n put in current one but not sure if the buy n sell r same amt or diff

hope someone can help

btw the OCBC I think interest dropped to 2%+
——

Eh sala
I saw it’s issued on 01 aug22

redemption date
02/10

10yrs
Wa means I cannot redeem now rose lost my 12mths of interest

lzydata

I have a qn leh
Mine is aug22
Shld b 2%+++
Because I am thinking of terminating this 9k n put in current one but not sure if the buy n sell r same amt or diff

hope someone can help

——

Eh sala

redemption date
02/10

10yrs

You can redeem in any month you like and MAS will pay you the principal i.e. $9k plus accrued interest up to that month. A $2 fee will be deducted when applying to redeem.

Use the MAS SSB calculator and input the issue you have, such as SBAug22, and the month and year you want to redeem. Since your last interest payment should have been in Aug 2023, you will receive the principal plus 1 month's interest.

https://eservices.mas.gov.sg/ssb/calculator

reddevil0728

I have a qn leh
Mine is aug22
Shld b 2%+++
why need to prompt you how much you getting for interest?

hope someone can help
It will be credited together with the principal amount
——

Eh sala

redemption date
02/10

10yrs
no. can redeem. interest will be prorated.

Laneige

You can redeem in any month you like and MAS will pay you the principal i.e. $9k plus accrued interest up to that month, minus the $2 fee.

Use the MAS SSB calculator and input the issue you have, such as SBAug22, and the month and year you want to redeem. Since your last interest payment should have been in Aug 2023, you will receive the principal plus 1 month's interest.

Thanks a lot

they mentioned 2 biz days back to srs acc

27 seem to be the cut off date … oh they auto calculate cut off on Oct for me

… so last min then educate myself a bit on the redemption with a lot of help from this thread!

vsvs24

You can redeem in any month you like and MAS will pay you the principal i.e. $9k plus accrued interest up to that month, minus the $2 fee.

Wow. I did not pay attention that have SSB calculator for redemption.

Btw $2 charge deducted by the 3 banks when we request to redeem, not deducted from redeemed amount plus interest.

ZinY

I have a qn leh
Mine is aug22
Shld b 2%+++

hope someone can help

——

Eh sala

redemption date
02/10

10yrs
Today is the last day to redeem SSB!
When the system prompt you how much to redeem, just key in the principal 9K. They will calculate the prorated interest accordingly. You never loose your interest. :)
You must have been paid for 2 previous six-month's periods before Aug'23. Check your linked account.
If you redeem now, you will receive the principal 9K plus remaining 2-month's interest on 02 Oct'23.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.