Singapore shopping malls, boutique stores are overcrowded by window shoppers. They should designate a special entrance for serious shoppers

HomeMommy

Many window shoppers, family outings in Singapore. Not serious in buying. Mostly look-see.

In Paris, London, New York, they have "Private Entrance".

In a KL boutique @ Pavilion, there is an "Elite Entrance" for members, VIP.

In Singapore, I witnessed a young family utilised a boutique visit as an outing. The mother told her daughter to study hard so as to be able to buy the displayed items. Maybe she was hinting to her hubby to buy a gift?

Overcrowded. Singapore malls, stores should have seperate lanes, entrances for serious buyers.

Any other crowd control methods?

Got better suggestion for u. All shoppers entering the boutique need to place a deposit of minimum $1k arbo bky enter. This amt can be used to offset purchases. If never buy anything the $1k bky get back :o

btw i think i too peasant liow cos i dont recall paris boutiques got special entrance for serious shoppers. Or perhaps its so well hidden until we dont know ☹️

Lemonpeach

Got better suggestion for u. All shoppers entering the boutique need to place a deposit of minimum $1k arbo bky enter. This amt can be used to offset purchases. :o

btw i think i too peasant liow cos i dont recall paris boutiques for special entrance for serious shoppers. ☹️
Yah...one of the edmwer.in this thread also proposed same idea.

At Harrods in London, to use the toilet, a deposit is needed.

Lemonpeach

I am a serious window shopper, can use the serious entrance too?
They have the Private Entrance for Hermes, LV. Those shoppers who visit them sure depart with a purchased item. To show they are a serious buyer, few leave empty handed.

HomeMommy

Yah...one of the edmwer.in this thread also proposed same idea.

At Harrods in London, to use the toilet, a deposit is needed.

but hor can advise paris simi boutiques got special entrance for serious shoppers de? :s11: 🥴

keewee0415

For local branded boutiques they implement physical queues or Electronic Queue systems to deter curious window shoppers.

Then when they allow you into the shop, a sales person will be assigned to "mark" you, ask you questions about what you looking for, what your favourite color, what series you looking for to further filter out non-serious buyers.

Things will be slightly more casual in overseas premium outlets where they try to clear off-season stocks...

Lemonpeach

but hor can advise paris simi boutiques got special entrance for serious shoppers de? :s11: 🥴
LV, Hermes. Actually, few window shoppers.

I saw a Elite Entrance at Hermes store in KL. Outside very crowded. Inside super quiet.

Apparatus

It's basically working like Singapore casinos like that

Want to go in, whether gamble or not, you pay the entrance fee. In this case whether you go to VIP level to buy or window shop minimum charge is $100 per visit lor. $100 entrance fee will be waived if you spend more than that

HomeMommy

LV, Hermes. Actually, few window shoppers.

I saw a Elite Entrance at Hermes store in KL. Outside very crowded. Inside super quiet.

actually i went to hermes paris, lv, vca leh. No have special entrance de. Even those that went into hermes and bought a bag go by the same entrance except that they didnt have to queue as they have their regular sa. Vca same thing and same for LV. Or maybe moi too peasant they no show moi special entrance though i ish serious shopper. ☹️

diequick

For clothing, more like MK or Balenciaga for eg rather than Uniqlo. Or Tiffany, Bottega Veneta.
then its luxury type. like LV type, they would got someone to guard the door, let pple in batch by batch. Isnt that what the LV (or which store at Orchard). I see the pple queue, got someone wear suit at the door. I would assume the same, they display but one side, one style (different colors upon request), need them to bring you try.

I dont go, so dont know. Watch, i follow a friend, he wanted, but I didnt try nor buy.

But if me, I would do that. Once they entered, assign someone "how can i help u, any items in particular, from our online catalogue, do let me know, i get it for you."

Lchlch

Many window shoppers, family outings in Singapore. Not serious in buying. Mostly look-see.

In Singapore, I witnessed a young family utilised a boutique visit as an outing. The mother told her daughter to study hard so as to be able to buy the displayed items. Maybe she was hinting to her hubby to buy a gift?

Overcrowded. Singapore malls, stores should have seperate lanes, entrances for serious buyers.

Hdb coffee shop?

Quala98

the problem with singapore's design is that the malls are above a MRT station or beside a bus interchange and probably below a condo... so its always crowded.

then to maximise space (or rental), there will be a cart in the middle of a walkway, which makes it even crowded...

Apparatus

Got better suggestion for u. All shoppers entering the boutique need to place a deposit of minimum $1k arbo bky enter. This amt can be used to offset purchases. If never buy anything the $1k bky get back :o

btw i think i too peasant liow cos i dont recall paris boutiques got special entrance for serious shoppers. Or perhaps its so well hidden until we dont know ☹️

Cannot apply 1K for neighborhood shopping centres lah

TiedInsurer

I experienced before appointment-only shopping.
Make an appointment, show up at the stated time. Whole shop only have you. Entire staff focused on you and your needs. There's no requirement to actually buy anything, but the pressure to do so was absurd.

ExcuseRMJ

Singapore got nowhere else that is air conditioned liao.... where to go ?

coyote

It's tough for neighborhood shopping centres lah. Some shops like Venus, ABC Value shops etc sell cheap things you need VIP member to visit?

Or Lucky Plaza shops need VIP member to visit too?

It's ok. You all can implement whatever private entrances whatever... I only buy from JB or online...😅

Left Singapore late at 9am this morning. Went to Jalan Sutera area for shopping and lunch. Then more shoppings at Permas Jaya's Econsave 3 miles away and can still reach my home at 1.40pm. Many thanks to those QR scan passport clearance at Woodlands custom and RFID VEP payment at JB custom cutting short traveling time. When they implement QR scan/auto gate at car lanes at JB customs, will be even faster!

Lemonpeach

It's ok. You all can implement whatever private entrances whatever... I only buy from JB or online...😅

Leave Singapore late at 9am this morning. Went to Jalan Sutera area, lunch and more shoppings at Permas Jaya's Econsave and can still reach my home at 1.40pm. Many thanks to those QR scan at Woodlands custom and RFID VEP payment at JB custom cutting short traveling time.
Actually, I was hopping we can have Grab, Deliveroo, etc pick up from JB and deliver to our doorstep. Like that, we can shop online from SG or even have JB food send to us. .

Lemonpeach

I experienced before appointment-only shopping.
Make an appointment, show up at the stated time. Whole shop only have you. Entire staff focused on you and your needs. There's no requirement to actually buy anything, but the pressure to do so was absurd.
YES. Personalised shopping or concierge shopping. I like it. You are the King or Queen with full attention.

Lemonpeach

the problem with singapore's design is that the malls are above a MRT station or beside a bus interchange and probably below a condo... so its always crowded.

then to maximise space (or rental), there will be a cart in the middle of a walkway, which makes it even crowded...
I wonder if shopping mall in SG is to provide a venue for purchasing, or as a tool to enhance property value?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.