SingPost *Official* (SGX: S08)

QNH1013

I have divest my Singpost just to lock down the profit first sticking to my investment strategy/principles. I think the price is a little overpriced at the moment due to the hype of AliBaba for the short term. Long term wise I believe i can scoop some again when prices stabilise or dip.

I have a healthy slug of SingPost in my portfolio, and as of today i'm sitting on a 30-plus percent paper gain due to alibaba and all. And like you, its extremely tempting for me to want to divest my stake too as I think it is overvalued currently.

However, my original investment plan was to hold my stocks unless I needed the cash or the company's fundamentals were deteriorating (trying to minimize transaction costs as much as possible). I never thought about selling when the stock is potentially overvalued until now though.

I think Singpost's fundamentals are still sound, and I am not in need of cash anytime soon. Furthermore, I don't think there's anyplace else to put the cash in the event that i sell as I think local stocks are mostly fully valued at the moment, hence I'm still holding on.

Any bros out here having similar thoughts?

iantay88

agree with u

I have a healthy slug of SingPost in my portfolio, and as of today i'm sitting on a 30-plus percent paper gain due to alibaba and all. And like you, its extremely tempting for me to want to divest my stake too as I think it is overvalued currently.

However, my original investment plan was to hold my stocks unless I needed the cash or the company's fundamentals were deteriorating (trying to minimize transaction costs as much as possible). I never thought about selling when the stock is potentially overvalued until now though.

I think Singpost's fundamentals are still sound, and I am not in need of cash anytime soon. Furthermore, I don't think there's anyplace else to put the cash in the event that i sell as I think local stocks are mostly fully valued at the moment, hence I'm still holding on.

athulican

I am seriously thinking about divesting part of my son's shares bought for him at 0.875. Read somewhere that when the profit hits 100%, better divest half. In that way, it can be treated as getting back the invested amount. The rest are "bonuses". :s13: (btw, haven't include the dividends received since 2009)

simon_84

I am seriously thinking about divesting part of my son's shares bought for him at 0.875. Read somewhere that when the profit hits 100%, better divest half. In that way, it can be treated as getting back the invested amount. The rest are "bonuses". :s13: (btw, haven't include the dividends received since 2009)

yup this is also 1 way, sell half and still remain vested.
but buying back at below 1 dollars will no longer be possible.

athulican

yup this is also 1 way, sell half and still remain vested.
but buying back at below 1 dollars will no longer be possible.

I wouldn't put a chop on that. In 2007, nobody would think that Singpost can drop to $0.60.

iantay88

but i dun see the price dropping by much in e near term, do u? if it really does drop i will just accumulate lor, just collecting the dividends alone oso better than rotting in the bank rite?

intra day lowest currently at 1.66, good luck man.
even if hold for long term, is not really feasible to buy at peak.

steven168z

but i dun see the price dropping by much in e near term, do u? if it really does drop i will just accumulate lor, just collecting the dividends alone oso better than rotting in the bank rite?

as long you don't use borrow money to buy and you know what you want can liao.... :s12::s12::s12:

Z070188

nobody knows what will happen in 2017, by 2016 i'm prepared to reduce my holdings.

Yea. We can stay vested in the STI for the next two years. I think it will stablize at around 3200 to 3400. Collect dividends rather than put in banks!!!

Anyway, Singpost fundamental is good la. Better than SMRT. LOL. I rather buy Singpost than SMRT. But I think some time due to all these "good" news, the stock price is push to an all time high etc. So when the company can't deliver good financial result, the share price will drop. So let's wait and see how the company perform in the months to come.

simon_84

actually there are other counters like sia engineering which is worth looking at also, just semi annual payout.

wahkao3

Yea. We can stay vested in the STI for the next two years. I think it will stablize at around 3200 to 3400. Collect dividends rather than put in banks!!!

Anyway, Singpost fundamental is good la. Better than SMRT. LOL. I rather buy Singpost than SMRT. But I think some time due to all these "good" news, the stock price is push to an all time high etc. So when the company can't deliver good financial result, the share price will drop. So let's wait and see how the company perform in the months to come.
in what way is singpost's fundamental better than SMRT?:o

satire85

Follow what Warren Buffet says - “Our favourite holding period is forever.”

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.