Small Investment

spiritGate

I have applied for OCBC 360 account - first step for passive income

for investing abf bond fund, is it possible to do it through banks like OCBC? or need to go through stock brokers?

I am also aiming for long term investment, not like stock market. So I will be looking at dividends and etc. So I will probably invest in blue chips as well (Singtel or DBS).

VictorvonDoom

I have applied for OCBC 360 account - first step for passive income

for investing abf bond fund, is it possible to do it through banks like OCBC? or need to go through stock brokers?

I am also aiming for long term investment, not like stock market. So I will be looking at dividends and etc. So I will probably invest in blue chips as well (Singtel or DBS).

ABF bond fund needs a broker to buy.

Try Standard Chartered. Lowest commission but have to do your own orders.

simon_84

based on div yield, will only look at keppel corp, SPH and starhub.
while the others are either priced to ex or paying less div (to conserve cash for their operating expenses or future acquisition).

else an alternative is to look at defensive reits like the retail and healthcare sectors.
on average, div returns for reits is better than blue chips.

do note that both are equally volatile in a bearish market.

spiritGate

ABF bond fund needs a broker to buy.

Try Standard Chartered. Lowest commission but have to do your own orders.

Sorry, I havent done any investment before, but if ocbc have this capability, i dun mind using ocbc first since convenient for me. So the funds basically acts like shares where by I can get dividends and sell it off when the value increase?

based on div yield, will only look at keppel corp, SPH and starhub.
while the others are either priced to ex or paying less div (to conserve cash for their operating expenses or future acquisition).

else an alternative is to look at defensive reits like the retail and healthcare sectors.
on average, div returns for reits is better than blue chips.

do note that both are equally volatile in a bearish market.

I will be buying through ocbc since they have this option for small investors like me. I intent to purchase 200 units nia not one lot. (start small since i have limited capital now)

platopus

Hi TS,

These websites will be good for you

turtleinvestor.net
investmentmoats.com/stock-market-investing-resources

Also, u know that the ocbc bcip buying is a monthly thing, although you can buy once, hold your 200 units and then terminate the plan.

Don't rush in and regret it..
Do more research, go and open your account with standardchartered bank or poems or something.. then next year mid jan, you can buy in 100 lots. you can buy the small amount of bluechips you need or researched.

With your 10k, an impressive 10% gain/dividend is $1000 bucks (But do beware that stocks/reits offering you 10% returns are likely to have their share prices swing more or drop more) so if the shares u buy can also drop more than 10% and in the end you end up with no gains for the year.

More defensive stuff like ABF bond fund gives about 1-2% dividends a year but will not fluctuate that much also. But that means u get about $100-$200 only. something you can earn in a day or two in a normal average day job.

Another would be STI-etf with about 3-4% dividends, but is subject to fluctuation as it tracks the straits times index.

So do think through what you wanna do before you do it, go in with eyes wide open instead of hearsay, that means you have to crosscheck what you read here. including what I mentioned :)

spiritGate

Hi TS,

These websites will be good for you

turtleinvestor.net
investmentmoats.com/stock-market-investing-resources

Also, u know that the ocbc bcip buying is a monthly thing, although you can buy once, hold your 200 units and then terminate the plan.

Don't rush in and regret it..
Do more research, go and open your account with standardchartered bank or poems or something.. then next year mid jan, you can buy in 100 lots. you can buy the small amount of bluechips you need or researched.

With your 10k, an impressive 10% gain/dividend is $1000 bucks (But do beware that stocks/reits offering you 10% returns are likely to have their share prices swing more or drop more) so if the shares u buy can also drop more than 10% and in the end you end up with no gains for the year.

More defensive stuff like ABF bond fund gives about 1-2% dividends a year but will not fluctuate that much also. But that means u get about $100-$200 only. something you can earn in a day or two in a normal average day job.

Another would be STI-etf with about 3-4% dividends, but is subject to fluctuation as it tracks the straits times index.

So do think through what you wanna do before you do it, go in with eyes wide open instead of hearsay, that means you have to crosscheck what you read here. including what I mentioned :)

Thanks for the source and your advice, I will use this period to conduct some research on which shares to purchase. Next year mid of Jan will have the new scheme right? I will look forward to that :)

wahkao3

Thanks for the source and your advice, I will use this period to conduct some research on which shares to purchase. Next year mid of Jan will have the new scheme right? I will look forward to that :)
share your research findings also so we can all huat together!!!! \o/ \o/

simon_84

Next year mid of Jan will have the new scheme right? I will look forward to that :)

don't be too happy first, changing of lot size may has its consequences.
The requirement to post 5% collateral according to contract size still haven't confirm.

frenchbriefs

i think u should buy crude oil,its super cheap now.

i feel oil has a higher probability of huating than gold or MBS casino.

theres a thousand and one reasons why oil can go up especially in this expensive bubble world economy.

spiritGate

don't be too happy first, changing of lot size may has its consequences.
The requirement to post 5% collateral according to contract size still haven't confirm.

For me, I am not a huge investor, so I prefer the new lots system (100 units per lot).

share your research findings also so we can all huat together!!!! \o/ \o/

Let me try out my research first, if good then i share lol

i think u should buy crude oil,its super cheap now.

i feel oil has a higher probability of huating than gold or MBS casino.

theres a thousand and one reasons why oil can go up especially in this expensive bubble world economy.

crude oil, i not so sure leh, seems like very risky

spiritGate

Hi everyone,

Because I have ocbc account, would it be good to do trading via ocbc or sgx?

peterchan75

Hi everyone,

Because I have ocbc account, would it be good to do trading via ocbc or sgx?

You need both in order to buy and sell equities.
1. You trade through your OCBC securities account
2. You need a CDP account with SGX to hold your script

You can have several securities accounts that link to your one CDP account.

stoneblackdragon

to trade, you need to open an iocbc securities account along with a CDP account.

do not confuse with the ocbc blue chip investment plan which is like a regular saving plan

spiritGate

You need both in order to buy and sell equities.
1. You trade through your OCBC securities account
2. You need a CDP account with SGX to hold your script

You can have several securities accounts that link to your one CDP account.

Ok thanks!

to trade, you need to open an iocbc securities account along with a CDP account.

do not confuse with the ocbc blue chip investment plan which is like a regular saving plan

Yea I am confuse with those two lol. For me I am ok as long is a long term investment. But the blue chip plan for OCBC is like not very good right? Since it takes $5 fee for each transaction.

spiritGate

Ok one last question, for blue chips function like normal stocks right? Just that it is more "stable" in the view of the banks based on their dividends and performance. (correct me if I am wrong)

So when lets say Keppel is blue chips, I buy in at 8 dollar, then now raise to 8.22, if I sell, I can earn the 0.22 profit right?

spiritGate

Blue-Chip Stock Definition | Investopedia

If you want buy blue chip stock, then might as well just buy STI ETF.
What's an ETF ?
Exchange-Traded Fund - ETF (SPY)

It has all the STI component stocks. Er... all blue chips.:o

Your profit should be less than 0.22 because you need to pay your broker for buying and selling your stock.

Thanks for the information about ETF, but i will still stick with blue chips for now because of its low risk and I wanted to have a long term of collecting stable dividends :). Which means blue chips is the same as the normal stock, can buy and sell to earn profits. Thanks! ETF i will also consider as well during these period of time. Thanks!

antonpoh

Oil should be dropping some more till aro end of Feb.. or when it hit aro US$40+ per barrel. Don't think there is a need to rush in to buy these stocks.

****************************************************** oil $40usd . Lol..
Ts , those ppl who nv hold oil company share like keppel , ezion, will say oil falling to $40usd lo.. Want ppl to belive them then they buy in cheap cheap ..

Ps : vested in keppel corp .

Here is what i post in dec 2014. Have oil really bottom?

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/90383109-post12.html

guppy%20CNBC%2020150819%20oil.jpg

starlight318

ocbc 360: try to hit 3.05%.

abf A35bond fund, some fluctuation arnd 2% dividend.

depends on your investment horizon n current salary, e.g. if earn more than 40k. top up cpf sa or set up an srs account n put theoney in. save around 1k plus in taxes (a dollar saved is a dollar earned)

when market really crash e.g. sti around 2000 pt, then use the srs or cpf sa to buy the index.

okay, all these are low risk way liao

Bro, thought ocbc 360 no longer 3.05%?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.