Small Physique Guys in NS

BarracudaBear

I'm enlisting in NS early next year but I'm pretty worried because I have a small physique. I'm slighly above 160cm tall and weight around 50kg. I've passed my napfa and is currently very close to getting a sliver for IPPT standard but I'm really worried my small physique will get in my way or drag my team down.

I'll wish to hear from guys who have already served ns if its tougher for smaller sized males in tekong (especially with all the SBO and rifle).

reddevil0728

I'm enlisting in NS early next year but I'm pretty worried because I have a small physique. I'm slighly above 160cm tall and weight around 50kg. I've passed my napfa and is currently very close to getting a sliver for IPPT standard but I'm really worried my small physique will get in my way or drag my team down.

I'll wish to hear from guys who have already served ns if its tougher for smaller sized males in tekong (especially with all the SBO and rifle).
you are not alone, period

Chalkycliffs

From what I've experienced in my unit, some small sized guys can perform even better than big sized guys.

In reality, big sized guys will have problems too - leopard crawl under barbed wire, they are closer to the wire! :s13:

Being small also means you can siam faster, let others get arrow first.

Afterall, look at some of the Asian long distance runners - 3/4 the size of the European runners but can still out pace them.

So don't feel that you are disadvantaged.

civic3106

You are ok lah. One of my ex-buddy 150cm plus was selected to go OCS after BMT.

mypillowtalks

No problem la. No need scared, your physical fitness there can liao.

What you need to know is that some of your commanders may taller and bigger size, so you may feel a little 'intimidated'. What can they do? Punch and kill you?

Tip for BMT: What ever tekan session you kena, always remember that it is just a show, all sergeant angry shout here tekan there waste every body time is like wayang session la. Just pretend u are part of the show and follow through.

Your platoon sergeant or PC tekan you, u should be even happier cos he need to do more reservist and RT. :s13:

BMT sergeant is just instructors who are there to instill discipline. You will not be their men forever.

shermangoh

it's not about the size, mental strength counts.

seen many small sized managed through ns, some even fair better than average sized ones.

Magica

i've mates who are shorter, like 153 to 155. they completed everything that was required during bmt. whatever they did was the same as their taller counterparts.

WadsUpDoc

Well, there are girls intake too. So if their height can make it, so can you! Tell yourself that ;)

imnuts-

Well, there are girls intake too. So if their height can make it, so can you! Tell yourself that ;)

last time my coy the girls damn power wan, dig shellscrape faster than us guys, route march like not tired wan :s22:

angel99999

Of course you would have a problem.

I'm skinnier than you when I entered. Got into Enhance Leadership batch.
Gotten silver beforehand due to lots of training because I wan shorten my NS.

Bad move... because I stopped training afterwards, when I entered my 2.4km was 18mins. Plus as enhanced batch there was no time to train up ur physical to the rest of your mates.

Especially carrying field packs, whether u 50kg or 70kg everyone carries the same, since ur 50km it would be harder/tougher for you.

Of course there will also be people who will do fine with that lightweight, just train urself up before you enter. If ur ptp, it should be fine since they give time for you to train ur physical before bmt starts.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.