SMU Information Systems Interview

davsmiths

SMU ISM sibeh jialats meh? U say like that, NUS IS dept course must be considered paradise liao. :s13:

(P.S Greeting from a student currently in NUS IS dept)

Noticed that I'm only comparing within SMU. Yup, jialat within SMU.
Your IS mods had varying grading component to determine your competency.
Besides dealing with IS modes, you have Business modules which have varying projects as well.

Individual + Group proj + mid-terms + final exams. your 100% can be split into 10 (class part, note that SMU requires u to be actively contributing in class ,20 (mid terms) ,35 (final exam),15(individual project) ,20 (group proj) percent for grading.

Now, take 5 modules each sem. You'll definitely need to manage your time because all 5 groups will want to grab hold of you.

ShUtUp

May I know if there's anyone of gpa 3.3 got called up for interview? Thanks.

miobox123

sry to hear abt that mate. you definitely stand a high chance for ur appeal. my grades are worse than urs. no words yet. did you perform well during ur interview?

blurry101

oh so u went for the interview already? I didn't do well at all.. Ok i'll appeal and see the outcome but actually i'm not very interested in this course, it's my backup plan haha

miobox123

oh hahah.. kinda same.. they asked me why put IS third choice huh, MR ....! but real surprise, acc/b rejected.. no idea how their adm works.

blurry101

so your first 2 choices are? hmm actually my rank points is pretty low because my h1 is an E .. Btw can anyone share some tips on how to write an appeal letter?

miobox123

if u'r wondering. i got like a double E for my h1. haha. bbc. my first two are econs/social science haha. i think appeal letter just write abt why smu should take you in/what can you contribute to the sch bah.

blurry101

Oh thx for the tip =) Hmm but after looking thru the comments left by IS students I don't feel very interested already and am thinking of applying for socio instead, which is my 2nd choice actually =X should i appeal for socio instead?

miobox123

not very certain too. but i think ss emphasize on gp grade. i believe ntu eng shouldn;t be any prob to you

miobox123

At least you all went for the interview. I've not even been called up for interview. Care to share what they ask during the interview?

articles. estimation questions, strengths/talents, why IS, Q and A haha that;s abt it mate.

blurry101

Thx Miobox :) i hope u get into the course that you want :)

Btw that pretty much summed up the whole interview. Rmb to memorise well for the article!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.