[Software Update] iOS 11.0.1 Discussions

PetPet

Apple said:
iOS 11.0.1 includes bug fixes and improvements for your iPhone or iPad.

OTA for iPhone 7 Plus at 280 MB.
That's quite a bit of fixes.

PetPet

iOS 11 Upgrade guide
Backup your device before updating!

On iCloud

1. Settings
2. Tap on your Apple ID username
3. Tap on iCloud
4. Scroll down -> iCloud backup
5. Tap on Back Up Now

Locally (Not recommended)

1. Plug in your iPhone to iTunes
2. In iTunes, "Back up Now"

How to update your device?

Settings -> General -> Software Update.

If you prefer to use iTunes.

1. Plug in your iPhone to iTunes
2. In iTunes -> iPhone -> Software Update

Also remember to update your apps!

Protip — Update your iOS device and leave it plugged in overnight, in a well ventilated area :)

FAQ

What's new?
iOS 11 Features

In depth review https://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2017/09/ios-11-thoroughly-reviewed/

2FA?
With iOS 11, you'll be upgraded to make use of the newer iteration of 2FA. In this version of 2FA, you'll no longer be required to provide an additional password. To learn more click here

What's the difference between over-the-air (OTA) and iTunes update?
No difference

My phone is warm during/after update :(
This is normal, keep your iPhone plugged in overnight after the update.

My iPhone feels sluggish
Give it a few days!

Do I need to reset anything?
No.

My app doesn't launch!
It's most likely a 32-bits App. 32-bits App are no longer supported in iOS 11. Please contact your App developer to get the App updated.

I'm on iOS 10.1 can I jump straight to iOS 11?
Yes you can.

I already have iOS 11! I'm a beta user!
Well, you might want to remove the beta profile if you don't to continue testing iOS 11

thanks for the linking the vids TrueBeliever_jh

nexusRAGER

just updated.

the wifi turning off on the bar still not fixed or is it intended to work that way

EDIT: Just found out it is supposed to work that way

icyflame

Given the small file, the preparation took a very long time before installation. Wonder what bugs were fixed

arcturuz

seems like app store updates are automatically showing up

no need to manually pull down to check

icyflame

Do you get apps which are updated a few days back but didn't show until today? I have this issue since the beta versions of iOS 11 and was hoping they will get fixed in the final build

kopi22

Just updated. Seems ok so far. Will use more then see.

swgj86

Realised that on my iPad. The app updates appear automatically. If only they can switch back the toggles function back to the old way. If not my phone will always try to connect to wireless@sg which is shitty connection.

renfred89

If it's intentional, I really don't know the indication of putting it in control centre lor..

If they wanna activate Bluetooth or WiFi in the background, they can still do it even if the settings are set to off..

:D

This change is intentional.

Btw, small change but beats x now shows the correct colour when pairing :p

paul02

Wifi and Bluetooth toggle still no fixed ?

The toggle now disconnects connected networks/devices.

It does not turn them "off", you have to manually do that by going into the settings.

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
Wifi and Bluetooth toggle still no fixed ?

It's suppose to work this way liao, so that you are still connected. I think apple documented it?

I still prefer the previous one, off mean off, on mean on. :s13:

PumpkinX

I can confirm this update doesn’t fix the lag in the interface. I actually went to a istudio and played with the iPhone 8 plus. Same lag there. So I suppose it’s an ios 11 issue

(^@^)"

Does it fix the fast battery draining issue? That’s the main issue plaguing my phone now.

szeli

updated. UI animation improved. but that 3D Touch stutter is still there. everything else works ok on my 6s...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.