solo trip to Kaohsiung

rayban

cycle?? Got bicycle rental meh?

this tell me you new bird in taiwan, can use the you you card to rent bicycle..... you will see bicycle with a basket one all the same pattern, choose your bike tap the card and take the bike

I went tw thrice already, this is the fourth time. But still pretty noob to alot of stuffs =:p

btw you mean the U bike ah? Amazingly their this program turns out quite well liked leh... unlike us. I rmb last time sg got those public bike rental like ubike like that one, but the response dont seems good

rayban

I went tw thrice already, this is the fourth time. But still pretty noob to alot of stuffs =:p

btw you mean the U bike ah? Amazingly their this program turns out quite well liked leh... unlike us. I rmb last time sg got those public bike rental like ubike like that one, but the response dont seems good

taiwan you shan you shui, singapore got what .... some more cycle anywhere also see twmm haha

twosix

There are private bicycle rentals too. Got e_bike too if you are lazy to peddle. You can go pier 81 then go cijin island and evening see the sunset near cijin island. At night go xinjuejiang eat dinner and do some clothes shopping. There is also a 3 storey stationary shop there which I enjoyed.

therat

Can you all share with me.
Which area @ KS I should look at.. for hotel

therat

I prefer near to kaohsiung station.

Thanks calkel20.
First time to Kaoshsiung

If you are taking from kaohsiung station, best to take TRA to xinzuoying Station. Dun need to change here change there to take HSR.

I copy and paste your message from "data sim card" as it was thread for sim card. Don't want to OT.

This is my draft plan
SGP --> fly to Kaoshsiung --> stay few days --> go to Taizhong (few days) --> then return to Kaoshiung (few days) --> back SGP

I will re look into the HSR, TRA road again.
See how should I move..

calkel20

Thanks calkel20.
First time to Kaoshsiung
I copy and paste your message from "data sim card" as it was thread for sim card. Don't want to OT.
This is my draft plan
SGP --> fly to Kaoshsiung --> stay few days --> go to Taizhong (few days) --> then return to Kaoshiung (few days) --> back SGP

I will re look into the HSR, TRA road again.
See how should I move..
But since u are moving near south, go tainan or taitung. Or even pingtung.
Dun divert to taichung. No point.

Can you all share with me.
Which area @ KS I should look at.. for hotel

i book my stay at this three locations. All pretty near to mrt. Tiagong location not bad. Nvm try try :)

Giethoorn Guesthouse - My 1st hotel
IXMTOWs.jpg

Hwa Hong Hotel - My 2nd hotel
q6ajki6.jpg

yOUmttu.jpg

JinBao Hotel - My 3rd hotel
fLJy6P5.jpg

ZZiELM7.jpg

thunderation

Hi, i was in kaohsiung for the whole of last quarter of 2015, hopefully can give you some good advice:)

1. Public bikes in kaohsiung needs to use the ipass, it is a hassle for tourists to go register for it. Just use your Master/Visa instead. Otherwise, I would recommend u rent from the shops there. Rates can be as low as 50-100 twd per day if i rmb.

2. If you are not going to take the trains to travel to tainan, chiayi etc. then i will recommend u find a hotel near central park mrt station or yanchengpu mrt station. These venues are very accessible to the attractions!

3. Places to go: Shinkuchan (xinjuejiang), Cijin island, Dragon and tiger pagoda, pier 2 art centre, banana pier, sanduo shopping district, ruifeng night market, liu he night market (some places off the top of my mind), kenting (not in kaohsiung, take a cab there)

4. Airbnb is very safe in taiwan, just find those with good reviews! same goes for kenting

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.