SONG BO - SJW pawning Jack Neo ah girls go army

Medicated Oil

How you know she not okay? If she not okay why still take up the role?
She is still human.
Dun think any one is really ok with the typecast role.
But, if she dun do it, some one else will do it.
It is still a job and income for her.
I guess she is sore about it.
Just that she cannot really say it.

uselessbum

I think this movie is bad but I don't see this as an "issue" per se. It's an army comedy film. Army got so many stereotypes and such films are meant to poke fun at them. Just like the original army daze movie...it had one hokkien peng literally called Teo Ah Beng. Ah Beng's ah lian sister is called Teo Ah Huay. Heikel's scenes in the movie revolved around humour surrounding his rotound figure - eg measuring his waistline. Take those away and you might as well have mindef making the movie instead.

It's like complaining about rambo movie being violent.

:(

drkcynic

I think this movie is bad but I don't see this as an "issue" per se. It's an army comedy film. Army got so many stereotypes and such films are meant to poke fun at them. Just like the original army daze movie...it literally had one hokkien peng called Teo Ah Beng. Heikel's scenes in the movie revolved around humour surrounding his rotound figure - eg measuring his waistline. It's like complaining about rambo movie being violent.

:(
Exactly la. JN's movies very one dimensional one la.

See a fat character = fat jokes
See an ah beng character = ah beng jokes
See a fit zhai = fit zhai jokes
See army theme = those few army jokes lor

There are no surprises or any layers for character development de la. It is done stupid to cater for the stupid.

Get used to it or don't watch lor. You don't go to watch his army movies expecting a Saving Private Ryan.

SJWs always have a choice.

sickoflife

Never watch can give comments meh? Never hear a saying don't judge a book by its cover?

This type of people judging book by its cover don't deserve any respect
A lot of professional reviewers watched already also criticize. Like that how?

sickoflife

At the end of the day, i have no problem that SJWs feeling this way, it's just what they do. It's a difference in opinion.

I also have no issue with JN doing such jokes, he is what he is. He is not going to change his style of making movies now.

The issue I have is with him denying it. This character is meant to make people laugh, doing fat jokes is also his level of humour. There is nothing particularly wrong so just come out and admit it instead of twisting words.
Well said. Not like his intended audience are the high ses woke crowd anyways.

those low crass boomerz that watch his movie will still watch no matter what kind of stupid jokes he cracks about ah bui and ah kua

sickoflife

I have an issue that he thinks its ok to fats hame the actress.

You are the director, she is actress, she dare say she not ok with it?

What kind of message are you sending to the industry and peers? That's naming someone fat YUAN is ok?

Plus this actress should have voiced out her concern. No balls. Trying to tell people that if people fat shame you, it is ok.
She will be fat shamed nonetheless. This is the kind of society we live in. Even ppl as talented as Melissa McCartney and Aidy Bryant also kena. It’s not fair to ask jack neo and the talentless actress to change society on our behalf.

what I’m buay song with is the denial

Kumkuat

I hope the American 'Woke Culture' with all the hyper-sensitiveness and taking offense about everything doesn't come here.

Why so serious

I have an issue that he thinks its ok to fats hame the actress.

You are the director, she is actress, she dare say she not ok with it?

What kind of message are you sending to the industry and peers? That's naming someone fat YUAN is ok?

Plus this actress should have voiced out her concern. No balls. Trying to tell people that if people fat shame you, it is ok.
whats fat shaming? for men, its natural to call our fat friends ah bui and make fun of him.

so he has 2 options, either stay bui bui and low esteem or go workout, eat healthier

sounds like modern women are weak and lazy

Some-one

Seriously you all think Jack Neo bothers? He's just interested in your money. That's why he kept asking people to watch first before commenting.

I dare to bet that he would be in the CNY Eve show tomorrow with his AGTA casts and asked people to watch his movie, support local production. His jokes are already stale for a long time after MNE.

Vicodin

I hope the American 'Woke Culture' with all the hyper-sensitiveness and taking offense about everything doesn't come here.
It's already here. Our young brainwashed with woke culture through amdk elites control of all social media platforms, and their local lapdogs like WUSG.

Only edmw and sbf still can say politically incorrect things cos it's not owned by amdk.

demon0192

back in the days we can call bui boys bui gals bui...

now little bit buey sai alr... next gen strawberry good luck niaos :frown:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.