soteyh's worklog

soteyh

After lurking around this forum for some time, finally got down to the gym to start 5x5. I'm a newbie to this forum (as you can see from my post count), but I've read the stickies, and hope to be able to stick to this program and learn something along the way too :)

Height : 1.72m
Weight : 77kg

29 Jun:

Squat - 50kg 5x5
Bench - 40kg 5x5
Rows - 30kg 5x5

The pendlay rows are new to me. I found myself trying to deadlift, mainly because I was staring in the mirror in front to check my form. After looking down a bit, it grew a bit more natural. Need to get used to this lift.

frostbyte88

All the best! Be consistent and willing and you'll find your results in due time :)

derrickgyn

Yay! 1cm short than me :p

All the best! Don't be afraid to ask if you have questions.

soteyh

2 Jul:

Squat - 53.8kg 5x5
OHP - 20kg 5x5
Deadlift - 1x5 - 30kg, 40kg, 50kg

Bloody knees after deadlifting ... any solution to this?

BeaRzwalken

2 Jul:

Squat - 53.8kg 5x5
OHP - 20kg 5x5

do till ur skin become harder?? i still get blue black when i deadlift,
so you can wear knee support, support + prevent abrasion ba

soteyh

do till ur skin become harder?? i still get blue black when i deadlift,
so you can wear knee support, support + prevent abrasion ba

:s13: Wah, I think if my skin get harder then siao liao !

I remember seeing one huge guy in the gym always deadlift until both knees scraped and bleeding. But walk around like everything is ok. Maybe its you! :eek:

Metalsubzero

Hmm, can you do it so that there's only minimal contact to your knees? I always have only slight contact and so far no problem leh.. If not, put some protection over the knees?

"Do until your skin becomes harder" sounds painful.. Lol..

mir_ror

how about using a shin guard?

(i bought one for deadlifts but it's still lying unused, u wanna buy? brand-new one from bodybuilding.com :))

jokerk

I know a friend who loves the sensation a bleeding shin from deadlifts gives.

I think you'll get used to it. proper form is more important than a mild bleeding shin

most if not all oly lifters I saw at swf has that mark. but they probably got it from snatch and cleans.

jokerk

but I guess you could wear socks, put baby powder on the shins to make it smooth

galapogos

TBH a scraped up shin sucks! Not just because of the pain during the scrape, but when you hit the showers. I try not to scrape my shin. A proper barbell will help since your shins should meet the smooth rather than the knurled part of an olympic bar in a proper clean/snatch foot stance. Of course, if you're using a non-standard bar or a a sumo stance then sucks to be you.

hiei02

bleeding knees/shins sounds... serious. i only have scraped shins from deadlifts. u can consider calf guards (compression wear).

lowjk

2 Jul:

Squat - 53.8kg 5x5
OHP - 20kg 5x5

Get someone to check your technique; you should be scrapping your shins, NOT the knees.

ps - wear soccer socks to protect the shin.

Also dont forget about callus care; a torn callus is really painful and messy.

soteyh

Thanks guys.

I think I will keep a closer watch on my form, and see if it improves. If not I might get a shin guard.

Get someone to check your technique; you should be scrapping your shins, NOT the knees.

Sorry - its actually my shins, stopping at just below the bottom of my knee cap.

I know a friend who loves the sensation a bleeding shin from deadlifts gives.

This is just creepy ...

derrickgyn

What I do to avoid bleeding shins:

1) shave the hair off the area that you usually scrape
2) tape leukoplast over the entire length
3) wear long socks (I use army socks) over the leukoplast.

This is the only method I've tried that works. Wearing socks alone do not help. Leukoplast alone doesn't work very well because it will fall off after a few sets. Shave the shins because taking off the leukoplast will hurt like a b1tch if you don't.

dj_flame

I wear over the knee socks. Like in my Deadlift vid. After using them never had scraping problems (muji sells @ $9 a pair)

frostbyte88

Wear sweat pants... I used to veet my legs but i got lazy. It's weird if you only shave the part that gets scraped, especially if you have hairy legs and wear shorts out.

soteyh

5 Jul:

Squat - 58.4 kg 5x5
OHP - 22.2 kg 5x5
Deadlift - 30 kg 1x5, 40 kg 1x5, 55 kg 1x5

Chin Ups wide grip - 4 BW

Am breaking with the protocol by doing two workouts in a row, as I can't do any workouts this weekend.

Did some foam rolling after workout - first time I am doing this seriously. The calves, quads, hamstrings and glutes were ok.

But the sideways ITB - si bei jia lat :s22:

soteyh

8 Jul:

Squat - 60.6 kg 5x5
Bench - 44.8 kg 5x5
Rows - 35 kg 5x5

Chin Ups wide grip - 2 BW

Over the weekend I was reading up a bit more about squatting. Originally, I wanted to figure out why my knees sometimes buckle slightly during the squat. This has been a long-time problem for me, irritating during heavy lifts. After a couple of links, I only now realise that there are so many squat variations!

So this is what I figured out, previously I have been a high bar squatter. Lots of knee activation at the start, and high quad emphasis. My quads always do alot more work that my glutes during squats.

Today I switched to low bar - putting the bar on my lower traps, almost to delts. Wider stance + toes pointing out, and consciously willing myself to push out the knees. And the buckling stopped! Also, I can feel my posterior working out more. Mentally, I try to picture this as taking a s*** in one of those squatting pan toilets.

I also "bounce" at bit at the bottom, just to "feel" the depth of the squat. I guess this is wrong, huh ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.