SSD Disk cloning.

ricky1

Hi All,

I am getting a sandisk extreme 240 GB from amazon and will be reinstalling windows 8 when it arrives. I usually do a disk cloning after the installation is complete so that I can recover the system easily in case of any OS issues.

I usually use norton ghost 11.5 for cloning. Does it work on SSD as well? I dun wanna do a cloning which cannot be recovered.

There is this free Macrium Reflect also. Can it be use on SSD?

If Ghost 11.5 is ok then I will continue using that.

Thanks.

xkiller213

if you're buying 2x SSD then it is ok to clone, i used the free software Clonezilla last time to clone some SSDs... if not i would recommend you to install a fresh copy of windows...

afaik, clonezilla has a copy to disk image function so that you can create a back up image...

Gribber

Hi All,

I am getting a sandisk extreme 240 GB from amazon and will be reinstalling windows 8 when it arrives. I usually do a disk cloning after the installation is complete so that I can recover the system easily in case of any OS issues.

I usually use norton ghost 11.5 for cloning. Does it work on SSD as well? I dun wanna do a cloning which cannot be recovered.

There is this free Macrium Reflect also. Can it be use on SSD?

If Ghost 11.5 is ok then I will continue using that.

Thanks.

yes, ghost is fine.

ricky1

if you're buying 2x SSD then it is ok to clone, i used the free software Clonezilla last time to clone some SSDs... if not i would recommend you to install a fresh copy of windows...

afaik, clonezilla has a copy to disk image function so that you can create a back up image...

i mean i will install a fresh copy of windows 8 on the new ssd. then wanna clone an image out using ghost 11.5. ghost can do cloning on ssd?

ricky1

Wanna ask u guys ah. I got a current HDD image from my mechanical HDD. Can I clone it over to ssd drives? Thanks.

_dXter

Yes, did that from a WD velociraptor to an Intel SSD with Acronis True Image.

ricky1

installed and tested liao.

2rgjdsg.jpg

||||||||||

I got all sorts of problems after cloning to ssd, it seems like I cannot uninstall many programs

ricky1

I got all sorts of problems after cloning to ssd, it seems like I cannot uninstall many programs

i just spend some time reinstalling the os lor. 5 mins for os and alot more time to do up the programs

doki81

i do notice issue like this happen..some of the program i previous installed has been asking me to re-install :(

am using true image 2013 to do the cloning..

so far i havent try to uninstall anything yet. maybe will try tonight..

other than that..all seem to be fine..i am on win 8 pro..

ricky1

i do notice issue like this happen..some of the program i previous installed has been asking me to re-install :(

am using true image 2013 to do the cloning..

so far i havent try to uninstall anything yet. maybe will try tonight..

other than that..all seem to be fine..i am on win 8 pro..

to prevent such issues. isn't it better to just reformat the pc and then clone an image out? takes maybe a day but less trouble.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.